Book Notification

Inspector Henry Tibbett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Henry Tibbett Mystery Books

Dead Men Don't Ski (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sunken Sailor / Down Among the Dead Men (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Agenda (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder à la Mode (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling Star (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Johnny Underground (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Fantastical / Murder By Threes (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Dutch Uncle (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Saw Her Die / Many Deadly Returns (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Season of Snows and Sins (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curious Affair of the Third Dog (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Widower (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a Coconut / The Coconut Killings (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Is Simon Warwick? (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel Death (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Six-Letter Word for Death (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night ferry to death (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Girl, White Girl (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice in a Blue Moon (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Patricia Moyes wrote the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 1959, when “Dead Men Don’t Ski”. The series features nineteen novels, with the last one, called “Twice in a Blue Moon”, being released in the year 1993.

“Who Saw Her Die”, the ninth book of the series, was nominated in the year 1971 for an Edgar Award.

Henry Tibbett works as an Inspector, later becoming the Chief Superintendent, with Scotland Yard. He is a modest self-effacing guy, and he possesses almost an uncanny “nose” for crime. The ones that know him rather well know that his gentlemanly demeanor masks a rather fearless spirit and a shrewd mind.

While teaming up with Emmy, his wife and a cheerful yet formidable woman, and there isn’t a criminal anywhere that is able to rest secure.

“Johnny Underground” is the sixth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1965. Emmy Tibbett was rather uneasy about attending her twentieth Royal Air Force reunion. She was just a native nineteen year old auxiliary officer at Dymfield Air Base at wartime when she fell for Beau Guest, the handsome hero pilot. Emmy found herself devastated when he killed himself by purposely crashing his plane into the North Sea.

At her reunion, she is the most stunned when she learns she was the last person to see him alive. Even more disturbing, was learning that everybody linked to this fatal flight had something they wanted to keep hidden.

Henry Tibbett discovered that Emmy had stumbled upon something quite sinister. He was unable to keep her from investigating this part of her past. Not even as the anonymous messages, and a suspicious suicide made it clear that someone meant to keep their sinister secret buried. Nor that they would not hesitate to murder again.

“Murder Fantastical” is the seventh novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1967. The Manciples have been known to their neighbors as the most eccentric of families in Cregwall, a charming little village.

Nothing has ever gotten the local tongues to wag nearly as much as when Raymond Mason’s body, who recently took on a mysterious interest in buying the Manciple estate, lies dead in the Manciple driveway. With a bullet in his forehead.

Local authorities rapidly call in Henry Tibbett, who finds he is charmed by the Manciples, almost in spite of himself. The Mancipes will go to just about any extreme, even murder, to save their ancestral home.

“Death and the Dutch Uncle” is the eighth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1968. No one suspects the savage killing of “Flutter” Byers, who was a small time gambler, in a seedy English pub has anything at all to do with a border dispute between two newly formed African nations. That is until Henry Tibbett figures out that Flutter worked for a short while in the hotel’s kitchen. Here a member of the commission given al9l the power to resolve the dispute was found dead.

From England, and then the Netherlands and right into the rural waterways of a gorgeous countryside, Henry and Emmy seek a killer that seems intent on making a potentially explosive international situation.

“The Coconut Killings” is the thirteenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1977. On an exclusive golf club’s grounds on a British Seaward Island, a US Senator is discovered having been murdered with a machete. John and Margaret Colville, who operate a modest hotel on the island, ask their friends, Henry and Emmy, to investigate the matter.

There was a friendly young islander who works tending bar for the Colvilles that got arrested for the crime. Henry soon finds, however, that the killing rests on complicated motives reaching far from the Caribbean.

“Who is Simon Warwick?” is the fourteenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1978. Millionaire Lord Charlton has changed his will in favor of Simon Warwick, his nephew who was adopted by American parents after his own got killed during World War II. Lord Charlton dies, and two guys claiming that they are Warwick arrive in London in order to claim the estate.

One is found dead and Henry is faced with a double mystery. Who is Simon Warwick? And who is the killer?

“Night Ferry to Death” is the seventeenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1985. While passengers are boarding the overnight ferry that will take them from the Netherlands to England, there is a desperate little man that is pleading frantically for a cabin as though his life depends on it. The ship is already overbooked, and his one chance is to just sleep in the lounge with the others, including Henry Tibbett and Emmy, who are coming back from a vacation in Amsterdam.

The guy is found dead the very next morning and was the victim of a killer that definitely had to be a sleeping companion of the Tibbetts in the lounge. The dead guy, it turns out, was carrying a fortune in stolen diamonds, which have vanished. Emmy makes a rather astonishing discovery about what is in her overnight bag. And her life winds up in grave danger while the Tibbetts get enmeshed in the sinister web of international intrigue that makes them take one final trip on the night ferry. It is a trip that proves even more stunning than the first.

“Black Girl, White Girl” is the eighteenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1989. An old friend from Tampica, the newly independent Caribbean nation, arrives in London afraid for her very life, with claims the island has turned into a haven for cocaine trafficking (known as “white girl” on the island). Henry and Emmy agree to help out and get the goods on the Mafia-corrupted local officials.

Amid the deceptive peaceful air of the lush tropic resort, they quickly find that they are able to trust nobody, since nothing is as it appears. And the only reality is that each one of them is in the gravest of dangers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Henry Tibbett

Leave a Reply