Book Notification

Inspector Lucas Rocco Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Lucas Rocco Books

Death on the Marais (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Rive Nord (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Pont Noir (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Clos Du Lac (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rocco and the Snow Angel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rocco and the Nightingale (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rocco and the Price of Lies (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Old Asylum (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

British writer Adrian Magson has been writing the ‘Lucas Rocco’ series for some time now. Crime writer and writer of spy novels, the series has been garnering attention for a number of years. Set around the exploits of the eponymous Rocco, this series goes alongside his other efforts, such as Harry Tate. Set in 1960’s France, this series features the Parisian policeman Lucas Rocco who has a strong aversion to authority. It’s because of this that he’s effectively transferred to work within the Picardie countryside, thus keeping him out the way. This isn’t to be though, as there’s more political intrigue than anybody could’ve expected, as he gets himself embroiled in a web of lies and deception.

With a great deal of critical acclaim behind it, this police series looks set to continue. As it garners popular appeal too, it’s also managed to become a commercial success as well. As an ongoing series, it seems there’s plenty to come yet, as it appears to be gaining more and more momentum.

Death on the Marais

Originally published on the 1st of January, 2011, this was to be the book that introduced Lucas Rocco to the literary world. Setting up the premise for the novels to come, it provides much of his back-story, as well as establishing what was to be the overall tone of the novels. With an overall arc created, it allowed the readers to get a good idea of what was to follow in the series that was to come.

Known for its well thought out, yet grounded characters, this is a novel that allows its personalities to flourish within its opening pages. People of their time, this story being set in 1963, it helps allow the characters to grow within their time, it being a period of great social upheaval. This is where Rocco really comes into his own though as he works alongside this as the perfect backdrop to his ever abrasive personality. Rocco himself isn’t a great admirer of authority and those in charge, choosing to go his own way for much of the time. Whilst this may appear as a somewhat typical convention of this particular genre, it’s the manner in which Magson employs it that really allows it to find its own feet. Lucas Rocco is a product of his time and this is what comes through on the page. Not only that, but his idiosyncratic voice played off against the shadowy powers that be really help to create an altogether different atmosphere here. Then there’s the supporting characters who provide even further space for Rocco to maneuver within. That and a dangerous enemy are what truly test him as a character, showing his readers what he’s truly made of. The story itself though provides a mystery that’s weaved well into the tapestry of this particular inspector.

Starting out within the Paris Metropolitan Rocco finds himself within a city on the precipice of change, it being the year of 1963. He’s soon transferred though to a seemingly more quiet rural area where he’s stationed within a small village. Not everything is as it seems though as he quickly finds himself embroiled within a vast conspiracy, as he works against the clock to uncover the truth behind a murder. Discovering a woman dead within a cemetery, she’s found wearing a Gestapo uniform and, if that wasn’t strange enough, the cemetery is a British military one. Then things start taking a turn for the worst as the body itself is removed from the police mortuary on the orders of magistrate. It soon transpires that there’s someone out there with a lot of power who wants to keep this particular mystery buried and they’ll go to any lengths to keep it that way.

Who is responsible for the murder and will they feel the need to strike again at any time? Why was the body wearing the uniform and what was the significance of that particular cemetery? Can Lucas Rocco figure it out in time as he learns who caused the death on the Marais?

Death on the River Nord

Published in 2011 on the 29th of August, this novel was originally set to follow on from the first one with another case for the eponymous inspector. With the character and tone already established, this jumps straight into the action with a mystery immediately set-up. Building on what came before, this broadens the world Rocco resides in, further enhancing who he is as a person.

Set within Picardie, 1963, again, this novel features Rocco this time investigating the death of an Algerian immigrant who’s turned up dead after a group of them were dropped off by the Poissons-les-Marais. This leads Lucas onto his next case as he seeks to uncover the suspicious circumstances surrounding this particular death. It appears he has his work cut out for him though, as illegal immigrants are apparently overlooked when concerning cheap underpaid labor, which means that there are many obstacles placed within Rocco’s path. Kept away from knowing there whereabouts, he’s held back from doing his duties which is hugely detrimental to the case overall. Not only that, but it also appears that a young immigrant mother is on the run with her child from her Algerian gangster husband who is threatening to kill the both of them. This gangster, Samir Farek, also wants to become a major gang-lord in Paris and it is his deadly ambition that will overwhelm everything and everyone else.

Will Rocco be able to uncover the grim set of circumstances surrounding the murder of this particular individual? Why the web of secrecy from those higher up and how will this impact the case? Can Lucas learn the truth in time as he learns the mystery behind the death on the Rive Nord?

The Inspector Lucas Rocco Series

Having built a reputable franchise, Magson has created a unique character that has the potential to continue for some time yet. With mysteries that are engrossing and in-depth, there’s a lot of room to maneuver within this territory. Stating that he has no plans to stop anytime soon, it appears that this is a series that shall carry on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Lucas Rocco

One Response to “Inspector Lucas Rocco”

  1. jim Gregory: 2 years ago

    Dear Sir Read all of the inspector Lucas Rocco novels and become involved with all of his cases in northern France. loved every moment hope they is another one coming soon.


Leave a Reply