Book Notification

Inspector Peach Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Peach Books

Who Saw Him Die? (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing, Presumed Dead (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a Wife (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Turbulent Priest (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lancashire Leopard (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little Learning (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Lodge (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wages of Sin (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dusty Death (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch's Sabbath (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Remains to Be Seen (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pastures New (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Justice (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only A Game (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merely Players (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Least of Evils (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brothers' Tears (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Necessary End (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backhand Smash (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Inspector Peach is a series with up to 19 publications. They are crime fiction novels focused on detective inspector Percy Peach. This series has been gaining respect and audience after every new publication. The genre of writing is mystery. Generally, books in this series follow a similar pattern; a mysterious murder occurs and Detective Inspector Peach has to do an investigation. The suspects involved have an opportunity and motive. As result, it becomes difficult for Percy Peach to establish who committed the crime. He is forced to further employ special tactics to solve the puzzle. Some of the books in Inspector Peach series are: Who Saw Him Die? Missing, Presumed Dead, To Kill a Wife, A Turbulent Priest, The Lancashire Leopard, Little Learning, Murder at the Lodge and Wages of sin among other publications. The series is captivating with mixed emotions of crime, entertainment and humor. It is a fiction that brings out outstanding detective abilities in a comic manner. Despite the fact that crime is involved, novels include fewer pages of bad language and violence. Inspector Peach books are more explicitly comic.

J.M Gregson portrays Inspector Percy Peach as an embodiment of courage, expertise and intuition. Although, there are many characters involved, Percy Peach is the most outstanding personality. He is strong, intelligent, witty and hard-working. In this series, Percy has numerous mysteries to unearth to readers. He finds himself in dilemma on several occasions, when he encounters suspects; all with motive to kill given opportunity. Gregson is a prolific writer with a unique style of writing. He has taught schools, colleges and universities before retiring to full time writing. Since his first novel, he has created ambiance for different publications which leave readers longing for more.

The first publication of Inspector peach series is titled Who Saw Him Die?’ In this story, Tom Harrison (a widower) and his son share his home with ex- convicts. His son helped the ex-convicts to restore their lives by allowing them to live in their mansion. His father was hesitant and unwilling about it. One night, Tom announced that he will be selling the house. This meant that occupants had to get elsewhere to live. Unfortunately, he was killed the same night mysteriously. At the time of Tom’s demise, the house had 4 ex-convicts, son and daughter-in-law.

Detective Inspector Percy Peach is employed to investigate the case. His prime suspects are the ex-prisoners. During interview with suspects, he realizes that all had an intention to kill and for a purpose. He seems to be rough on suspects but in a comic manner to reader. He is forced to be smarter to establish the killer. Hilarity comes out during these scenes which is unexpected in crime investigations. The character of Percy Peach is not dwelt on here; however he appears to enjoy bullying the suspects. It is a nice read which leaves one looking forward to next publication.

The author came up with a good heavy social plot which leaves all characters questionable. The plot is well blended with elegance and humor leaving reader thrilled ad entertained. Inspector Percy Peach is insightful and does great investigative work to expose the murderer. He is one of main and fictional character who appears in every publication of this series. He is often characterized as rough, bully, smart, witty and discerning in his work. The author blends these attributes with plot of story well to bring out an awesome piece of art. Humor is in abundance as executed by author.

The second publication in this series is Missing, Presumed Dead’. Just as the title reads, the plot is about a teenage girl who had disappeared from her home unexpectedly. However, the story begins on a quiet note and with less action. Detective Percy Peach is undergoing through changes in life. He gets a nomination of membership at North Lancashire Golf Club though naturally he is not a sports person. He is not in a good relationship with Tommy, his boss and delights in reminding his boss of the nomination. On contrary, Tommy is delighted about it which seems unusual to Peach. Percy Peach realizes that the new detective sergeant is a woman, Lucy Blake. He is not impressed at all. However, Peach is known to be a rough and person who adapts easily to changes.

Body of teenage girl who went missing 2 years ago is found in pond within the Gulf Course after it was drained. She was expectant and might have died of strangling. Her dead body might have been there for almost two years. Percy Peach is given the case to trail the murder. He is forced to cultivate a good relationship with his new detective sergeant (Lucy Blake) and Tommy for the sake of team work. Peach begins to investigate friends to the teenager. As he progresses, the number of suspects’ increase, only to realize the killer was within. It’s another Percy thriller loaded with humor.

In the second book of Inspector Peach series, the author maintains the set standard in the first book. It is another classic story blended with wit and modern entertainment to bring out a believable story. The writer maintained mysterious murder fiction as done previously. Inspector Percy Peach assisted by Lucy Blake does a commendable investigation work. He has ability to adapt quickly to situations in favor of his work. The relationship he has with the plot of story produces a mesmerizing story as author brings it out. Critics have come out to criticize such works as way of entertaining crime.

In conclusion, Inspector Peach series is a good read for persons who love reading crime novels. Its plot is well built and has humor thrown in which makes it worth seeking and reading. In addition, it has no obscene language and less violence. This series reveals is the unusual humor found in investigating murder cases. Percy Peach had a way of doing things regardless of prevailing circumstances. Inspector Peach series leave readers thrilled, amazed and entertained. It is worth investing your time and resources.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Peach

Leave a Reply