Book Notification

Inspector Rostnikov Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Porfiry Rostnikov Books

Death of a Dissident / Rostnikov's Corpse (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Knight in Red Square (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Chameleon (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Red Sunrise (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fine Red Rain (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man Who Walked Like a Bear (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rostnikov's Vacation (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Russian Priest (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hard Currency (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Rubles (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tarnished Icons (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dog Who Bit a Policeman (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fall of a Cosmonaut (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Trans-Siberian Express (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
People Who Walk in Darkness (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Whisper to the Living (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Stuart M. Kaminsky is a great American author, born on 29th September 1934. He was born and brought up in Chicago, Illinois. He was a novelist and a mystery writer. Stuart M. Kaminsky is popularly known for his three long- running fantastic mystery novel series that feature Toby Peters as the protagonist. Toby Peters is a private detective in Holywood during the 1940’s. Toby was also a police inspector in Moscow and veteran police officer in Chicago. Stuart M. Kaminsky was a talented author as his books got nominated and received awards as well. Inspector Rostnikov novel, ‘A Cold Red Sunrise’ was nominated by Edgar awards in the category of Best Novel. The amazing thing about this nomination is that the book definitely received the award in the year 1989. Apart from this one, Stuart M. Kaminsky’s books got other six Edgar nominations. The recent nomination was in 2005, for his non-fiction book, Behind the Mystery: Top Mystery Writers Interviewed. The same book got nominated for an Agatha Award, a Macavity Award and an Anthony Award. This can only indicate that Stuart M. Kaminsky wrote books and novels that were interesting and hat captivated his audience to read. To add to the list, Mystery Writers of America awarded Stuart M. Kaminsky the Grand Master Award in 2006.

Stuart M. Kaminsky loved academics and as a result, he worked for a B.S in journalism at the University of Ilonois as well as earning his M.A in English from the same university. After that, he received a Ph.D. in speech from Northwestern University. This explains why he was such a proficient author and did great writing work. Stuart M. Kaminsky was not only an author, but also a film professor for 16 years at Northwestern University. At Florida State, he taught film studies for six good years.

The first novel that Stuart M. Kaminsky wrote was the Toby Peters Mystery Bullet for a Star in the year 1977. Later on, he did more than 60 novels together with nonfiction works and story collections. Despite of being a writer, Stuart M. Kaminsky was also a leader, as he was a former Mystery Writers of America’s president. Apart from being among the most prolific American writers, Stuart M. Kaminsky was an inspiration to many authors in the genre, among them his fellow Sara Paretsky from Chicago. Sara her pioneer novel in V.I. Warshawski private-eye series to Stuart M. Kaminsky.

Stuart M. Kaminsky married his wife, Enid Perll, and later moved to St. Missouri with her in March 2009. The reason why they had to relocate to this place is because, in line of duty during the 1950s, Stuart M. Kaminsky was an army medic, who unfortunately contracted Hepatitis in France. They, therefore, moved to this place to await a liver transplant. However, they did not wait for long as he suffered from stroke two days after they arrived St. Louis. When this dreadful incident happened, Stuart M. Kaminsky became ineligible for a transplant. On 9th October 2009, Stuart M. Kaminsky passed away.

Inspector Rostnikov is a series by Stuart M. Kaminsky. Its first book was published in 1981 and has 17 editions. The last book in the series was published in the year 2009 and has 11 editions. In total the series has sixteen books with the last one being known as A Whisper to the Living. The first book in the series is known as Death of a Dissident while the second book in the series is known as the Black Knight in Red Square. The first two books of this series are briefly reviewed below.

Death of a Dissident

This is the first book in the Inspector Rostnikov series. It has 220 pages and was published on 1st October 2005. The book was published by Felony & Mayhem publishers. However, this is not the first publication as it was first published in 1981. The book has 17 editions and has been edited in English. The book features Inspector Porfiry Rostnikov, who has a great burden in his mind. Some of the issues that are burdening him are the suspicions of his Jewish wife by his superiors in Moscow, his beloved Ed McBain’s black market copies, there are some Precinct novels that are becoming hard to trace and above all, his great dream of being a second to none weight lifter are rapidly receding. On top of all these, there is a case about a popular dissident who has been forever silenced just before his trial. This is a trial that had a purpose to showcase the Soviet judicial system wonders. The assignment of finding the famous dissident’s murderer is assigned to Rostnikov. However, he is worried that the arrest should be acceptable, to the KGB and be politically convenient. In the process of investigating the murder case, it becomes even trickier when the assassinator strikes again, showing a number of weapons with a certain Russian resonance. With this something is being communicated. What might be the message? Will the inspector manage to stop another incident? Find out by buying this book from libraries as well as online stores.

Black Knight in Red Square

This is the second book in the Inspector Rostnikov series. It has 242 pages and published on 1st February 2007 by Felony & Mayhem. Its first publication was done in the year 1984. The book has 17 editions in English. The book features the Moscow film festivals, which to some is a representation of Moscow’s re-appearance as a world class city while to others, it is a target opportunity. The targeting group has been attacking the people in the film with efficiency that is frightening. Covering up the killings is the only thing that Kremlin can do to avoid embarrassment. To bring a halt to the killings, Inspector Rostnikov has been appointed in charge by the KGB. Having a suspect taste for American crime novels as well as having a Jewish wife, Inspector Rostnikov is far from being the favorite cop of the KGB. However, he is their best hope if they have to get the beautiful brunette who leads the attacking group. This is a completely interesting book with much suspense of the best sort. The book is admirable and moving as well. To complete the story, buy this book in the bookshops, local libraries and for anyone in any part of the world, you can obtain the content of this book by going through it in the online stores. Be sure to enjoy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Rostnikov

Leave a Reply