Book Notification

Inspector Singh Investigates Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Singh Investigates Books

A Most Peculiar Malaysian Murder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Singapore School of Villainy (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Curious Indian Cadaver (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Calamitous Chinese Killing (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Frightfully English Execution (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Inspector Singh Investigates series by Shamini Flint

Author Shamini Flint pens the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2009, when “A Most Peculiar Murder” was released. This book has been printed in numerous languages all over the world.

Inspector Singh, the star of the books is always being sent to different countries in Asia to solve murders. Singh does not fit in with the Singapore police force culture. This is due to his superior officers not liking him, nor his methods and just want him out of their hair. They consider him to be a disgrace to the force, and will regularly lecture him on this point. Their goal is to keep him far away from trouble, but it is always close by when Singh is involved. He is a fat man who smokes.

“A Most Peculiar Murder” was honored by The Telegraph, UK under their Recommended Weekly Special and confirmed both the quality of the writing as well as its successful launch.

“A Most Peculiar Murder” is the first novel in the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series, which was released in the year 2009. Singh is now in a bad mood. He was sent from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur to work on a murder case that currently has got him stumped.

A famous Singaporean model, named Chelsea Liew, is now on death row for murdering her ex-husband. Chelsea is swearing that she is innocent and he believes it. The problem is that no matter how much he tries to get to the bottom of it all, the more he keeps coming back to her husband was shot point blank. Chelsea also had the best motive to kill him. The guy was close to taking her kids away from her.

Singh has to do everything he can to solve this case that could free an innocent and gorgeous woman and bring a mother back with her kids. There is just one problem. The Malaysian cops will not play ball.

Singh is a unique character, not the typical detective character, and is highly skilled at his job.

“A Bail Conspiracy Most Foul” is the second novel in the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series, which was released in the year 2009. A bomb was set off in Bali’s most touristy part and Singh was tasked with helping out with security and anti-terrorist measures. The Bali police quickly see that Singh has little to offer in terms of real experience in the field.

Solving murders is his game. It is simple enough. There is a corpse found in the wreckage, killed with a bullet before the bomb was detonated. Singh should be the one to find all the answers. Simple killings are never as simple as they first appear. This one looks to have far more reaching political consequences.

The novel does a superb job of taking to Bali, and it has you feel the heat, the Hindu temples, the crazy drivers, and devout citizens that live there. Singh is a clever and interesting detective, all while he expresses his wish to go back home, talking about his difficult wife and his growing belly.

“Singapore School of Villainy” is the third novel in the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series, which was released in the year 2010. Singh is at home, and now, he wishes he wasn’t. His wife nags him during breakfast and his superiors are giving him that “you’re a disgrace to the force” lecture they love so much. No rest for the wicked, it’s true, which is good news for Singh, as he is called out to a killing that involves an international law firm’s senior partner who was clubbed to death at his desk.

Bad news for Singh, it appears that there are many suspects in the case. There is his ex-wife, his fellow partners, and his current wife. Many motives, too because a bunch of the lawyers are hanging onto secrets they are willing to kill in order to keep. Pretty soon, Singh finds that he is leading up an investigation that rips Singapore’s society to shreds. It leaves the rotten core underneath exposed. Possibly coming back home was not the good idea he thought it was.

Flint does a stellar job of capturing the atmosphere in Singapore, allowing folks who have never been there to see it all and bring it to life for them. She takes the reader through every piece of the evidence. You jump to conclusions and try to figure out just who the killer is.

“A Deadly Cambodian Crime Spree” is the fourth novel in the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series, which was released in the year 2011. Singh is now Cambodia, and wishes he weren’t. He has been sent, tasked with being an observer to the international war crimes tribunal taking place in Phnom Penh in the newest attempt by his superiors to ensure he is anywhere but in Singapore.

This fat Sikh cop is about to lose his appetite, for the first time, when an important member of the tribunal is killed in cold blood. The authorities are willing to chalk it up to another act of random violence, but Singh thinks otherwise. Quickly, he sees that he is caught in one of the most terrible murder cases he has ever worked. The roots of the case are in the dark depths of the Cambodian killing fields.

“A Curious Indian Cadaver” is the fifth novel in the “Inspector Singh Investigates” series, which was released in the year 2012. Singh has gotten sick of his sick leave, so Mrs. Singh suggests they should go to a family wedding in Mumbai. He agrees, hoping that the spicy Indian curries are enough to make up for extended exposure to the relatives of his wife.

The gorgeous bride to be goes missing the night before her wedding. Did she really run away to avoid this arranged marriage, or is something a lot more sinister at play here? There is a corpse found, the fat inspector is quickly pulled into a murder case with Mrs. Singh giving him firm instructions to exonerate her family. He realizes this will not be easy when he finds layer after layer of deceit.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Singh Investigates

Leave a Reply