Book Notification

Inspector Thanet Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Thanet Books

The Night She Died (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Six Feet Under (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Puppet For A Corpse (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Close Her Eyes (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Seen Alive (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead on Arrival (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Element of Doubt (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicious Death (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead By Morning (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doomed To Die (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wake the Dead (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Laughing Matter (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Day for Dying (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Too Often (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead and Gone (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dorothy Simpson is a British author of fiction. She was born in the U.K. on January 1, 1933. She was born in South Wales, where she also was raised and grew up. She has also had the honor of receiving the esteemed Silver Dagger Award for her writing.

Simpson went to a local grammar school for her primary education and followed it up with an education as a student at Bristol University. where she studied modern languages. After graduating from school, she went to Kent and moved there in order to teach French.

Before she was a writer, she worked for many years teaching French at two different grammar schools over a period of seven years. Before that, she worked as a counselor working in marriage guidance with couples for around thirteen years. She has since decided to turn to writing on a more full time basis.

In addition to being a published author, she is a wife. She is married and has three children along with her partner. The family lives together in the town of Maidstone, located in Kent. She was married in 1961.

Dorothy first became a published author in the print world in 1977, when her first novel was finally published. It is titled the Harbingers of Fear. Even though she had this first initial experience of success, she found disappointment when the next three of her manuscripts were turned down in a row.

As a result of all of this rejection, Simpson vowed that she would put her efforts next into making a murder mystery that was ‘intriguing’ and would be centered around a detective that was engaging. As a result, she was able to create the character of Luke Thanet, an inspector, and Sergeant Michael Lineham. Both of the characters are featured in the first novel in the Thanet series.

Even though she has greatly enjoyed writing, Simpson was forced to take a break. In 2000, she was forced to stop writing for some time thanks to a repetitive stress injury she sustained. She still has several novels left behind to sustain her legacy as an author of fiction and hopefully readers will take some time to become more familiar with her many works!

Dorothy Simpson is the creator and the writer of the Inspector Thanet stories. The first story was published in 1981 and falls into the genre of murder mystery. It is titled The Night She Died. The sequel was published just a year later and is ominously titled Six Feet Under. The third novel came out a short while after, and so on and so forth, until Simpson had well over a dozen novels in the series. In 1999, the fifteenth novel was published. It is titled Dead and Gone.

The series features the intriguing Inspector Thanet. He of course has a good memory and an eye for mysteries, so it should come as no surprise that he works in that field for a living.

The Night She Died is the debut novel in Dorothy Simpson’s Inspector Thanet series. The good inspector shows up to meet readers in this interesting first story of this thrilling fictional murder mystery series.

Six Feet Under is the second novel in the Inspector Thanet stories by author Dorothy Simpson. If you love murder mysteries by other writers, then why not give this one a shot if you have not already?

The main character of Julie Holmes was a woman that had always had a certain appeal. She was so beautiful that she had never had any problems being able to catch the eye as well as the interest of various men. It seemed that any man could walk by her and instantly fall under her spell.

Julie had been able to entice men from all walks of life. It was able to work on anyone that walked her way. It had worked on a somewhat famous celebrity broadcaster stationed in London. It had also worked for her husband. Now that same indefinable female charm is being worked on the new boss she has at her job in Kent.

It just seems that her charisma and power over men has no end. That is, until Julie winds up dead. That’s one way to put a stop to all of that feminine charm. Holmes has been discovered dead in the main hall of her home. She was stabbed and the knife apparently was driven through hard enough to cut all the way to her heart through the thick fabric of an overcoat rather solidly constructed of tweed.

Still, thicker fabric than usual would not have been enough to prevent Julie from being stabbed to death, and the proof is there– or at least appears to be. The event supposedly happened right before her husband came back from his evening class and found her lying there, dead. That was his official story, anyway. Who knows if it is even true?

They have no choice but to call in Luke Thanet to check out the case. He is drawn to the case and thinks that there may have been a time where Julie actually witnessed a crime in her past at a very young age, one November evening two decades ago.

It’s his theory that her past could have given her not just nightmares but may be the clue to this entire mystery. Can the Inspector ultimately figure something out that will be able to help him solve the case? You’re going to have to read the exciting first book in Dorothy Simpson’s murder mystery series to find out for yourself!

Six Feet Under is the engaging sequel to the first novel in Simpson’s Inspector Thanet series. They say that curiosity is not a good thing to pursue as you never know what it will lead to. When it comes to the topic of curiosity, it may not only have gotten to the cat– it might have killed a woman named Carrie, too.

Thanet is once more in demand as he’s charged with finding the killer of an older woman in her garden. Can the inspector pull it off again? Read this sequel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Thanet

Leave a Reply