Book Notification

Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Tom Reynolds Books

With Our Blessing (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Surface (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleeping Beauties (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Place (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Who Fell (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
After the Fire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Jo Spain writes the “Inspector Tom Reynolds” series of mystery and police procedural novels. The series began publication in the year 2015, when “With Our Blessing” was released, which is also Jo’s debut novel. The month “With Our Blessing” was released in Ireland, it became a top ten bestseller.

Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds stars in the series that is set in the Irish countryside. Tom is a happily married man, and all around just a happy guy. He is also a nice guy, and a family man who enjoys being around his granddaughter.

“With Our Blessing” was one of seven books that was shortlisted by Richard and Judy search for a bestseller competition in the year 2014.

“With Our Blessing” is the first novel in the “Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2015. In the year 1975, a minutes old baby is taken by force by its devastated mom. In the year 2010, some thirty-five years later, an elderly woman is found dead during winter in a Dublin public park.

Tom Reynolds is on the case, and he is convinced that the killing is linked to some historical events that took place in the infamous Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the clues off to an isolated convent out in the Irish countryside. Once they are inside, it is worryingly clear that the killer is among them. They are determined to get further vengeance for the sins from the past.

This is a well written novel that keeps your attention as you continue to flip pages, as you see what happens next in the story. Jo Spain filled this with tons of suspense and tension, and she does a great job of conjuring up an atmosphere and compels you to keep reading the book. She even does a great job of making you wonder who the killer truly is with all of the unexpected as well as clever turns and twists.

“Beneath the Surface” is the second novel in the “Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2016. Ryan Finnegan (who is a high-ranking government official) is killed brutally in Leinster House, which is the seat of the Irish parliament. Tom Reynolds and his team are called to investigate the killing. While the suspects start to stack up, Tom has to untangle a web of sordid secrets, sinister lies, and a web of corruption.

Initially, the evidence hints at a crime that was politically motivated, but then a surprise discovery pushes the investigation into a dramatically different direction. The motive for killing has just become much more personal, but who would benefit the most from Ryan’s dying?

This is another great novel written by Jo Spain, and is a great thriller with some unexpected moments to keep you guessing the entire way. She put a lot of red herrings and some interesting character back story, making this an even better book than the first one. These are characters that you end up totally care about and hope to continue read about.

“Sleeping Beauties” is the third novel in the “Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2017. The inspector frowned and looked at the earth under the trees. His stomach lurched while he scanned the glade. Five, if you count the mound of earth that is disturbed underneath the tent. Someone cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowers in. In five different places. Five graves, in total.

Fiona Holland, a young woman, has just vanished from a tiny Irish village. A search has begun to find her, but the whispering has already started up. It seems Fiona had gained a wild reputation for herself. Has she just run away or was she actually abducted? A gruesome discovery is made a week later in the woods at the most scenic beauty spot in all of Ireland, the valley of Glendalough.

The bodies all belong to young women who went missing in recent years. Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds and his team face their toughest case. A killer that hunts vulnerable women and holds them prisoner before he kills them. Quickly, the race is on to locate Fiona Holland before it is too late.

This book has it all: mystery, murder, wonderful characters, and suspense, with just a dash of romance. The book does a great job of hooking you right from the very start and never lets go. It is great to see the different perspectives going on here in the book. Either its the accounts of the women who were killed or Tom and the rest of his team. It is just great to catch up with these familiar faces, which is just as riveting as the story.

“The Darkest Place” is the fourth novel in the “Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery” series, which was released in the year 2018. On Christmas Day, Tom gets an alarming call. There is a mass grave that’s been discovered on Oilean na Cailte, which is the island that housed St. Christina’s, the controversial psychiatric institution. The hospital closed down decades ago and on-site graves were heartbreakingly common. Reynolds believes his adversarial boss is tossing him a cold case to keep him on the sidelines.

Then it so happens that another body is found among all of the dead. It is one of the doctors who vanished forty years ago from the hospital under some mysterious circumstances. It looks like he was brutally killed.

While events take a sudden turn, there is nothing that can prepare Reynolds and his team for what they are going to discover once they get to the island.

The book is a well written book that is worth your time to check out, as it captivates you entirely and you just have to know what will happen next. Both the plot and the setting are excellent and Jo keeps you guessing the entire way through. This is one chilling novel and in parts, it is disturbing and even tough to read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery

Leave a Reply