Book Notification

Inspector Troy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Troy Books

Black Out (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Flames (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little White Death (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riptide / Bluffing Mr. Churchill (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh Wounds / Blue Rondo (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Violin (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lily of the Field (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends and Traitors (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Inspector Troy Books

Second Violin(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Riptide / Bluffing Mr. Churchill(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Out(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lily of the Field(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Flames(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends and Traitors(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh Wounds / Blue Rondo(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little White Death(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
In regard to the chronological, please note that A Lily of the Field has two separate timelines within it. The story "Audacity" in it takes place from 1934 to 1946 then the rest is 1948.Approximation of years ignoring any big timeline jumps:
  • Second Violin (1938)
  • Riptide (1939)
  • Black Out (1944-1948)
  • A Lily of the Field (first part 1934-1946, then 1948)
  • Old Flames (1956)
  • Friends and Traitors (1958)
  • Blue Rondo (1959)
  • A Little White Death (1960)

British author John Lawton has been writing the ‘Inspector Troy’ series for some time now, originally beginning it in 1995. Focusing on the exploits of one Frederick Troy, these novels look into his various adventures, as he seeks to solve cases whilst working as an investigator for Scotland Yard. The series itself starts in 1944 during the end of the London Blitz and goes on from there. With the books growing in popularity over the years, it has come to the point that Columbia Pictures have now brought the cinematic rights to the franchise.

Working as part of the divisions ‘murder squad’ unit, Troy himself comes from wealthier stock, having a rich newspaper magnate for a father, who himself was a Russian immigrant. Going against his heritage, Troy seeks to defy the expectations of his class and pursue his career as an inspector. This being a popular series, it appears that Lawton isn’t stopping anytime soon, with approximately seven books so far in the franchise.

Inspector Troy: Black Out

Published originally in 1995, this was the first book in the series that John Lawton was to introduce the character of Inspector Troy. Creating the London that he lives and operates in, Lawton builds the supporting cast along with the atmosphere that his readers have come to appreciate over time. Giving him his first mystery to contend with, he’s set-up the character for a way of first introduction.

With an eye for old-fashioned thrillers, this book sets itself up in the London of 1944 as it begins during the end of the London Blitz as it begins to draw to a close. As the Luftwaffe aims to make its last ditch attempt at an all out assault upon the city, the streets are thrown into a black out as hordes of Londoners submerge themselves underground for the final push of the war. Above ground the city is getting battered and bruised by the ongoing effort to besiege the city and bring it down around them all. That’s when dismembered corpse is found ever so neatly arranged in a meticulous fashion, leading the protagonist Detective-Sergeant Troy on a case that will lead him through a myriad of twists and turns. Taking him all the way to the top and back again, he will need investigate a whole variety of different areas if he ever hopes of solving the case given to him.

This being the first case that the readers are taken through, it works to introduce Lawton’s audience into the world of Blitz era London, in what is essentially a wartime thriller. Leading him through an ever developing maze that grows more and more intricate by the second, he’s taken through military intelligence, whilst also visiting stateless refugees for his next lead. Dealing with the corruption that goes all the way up to the top too, he works his way up Allied High Command to deal with those who are supposed to be in charge protecting the people. Traversing the dangers of wartime London as well, Inspector Troy must keep out of harm’s way as he conducts the case in an orderly fashion, or at least attempts to. Not making many friends in the process, it appears that the government themselves are soon watching his every move in attempt to prevent him from reaching the truth and breaking the case. Will he be able to crack the case in time, or will the powers that be stop in the process preventing him from going any further with it? Can he keep himself safe during it all as he faces the many dangers presented to him through wartime London? What will become of him as he discovers who committed the murder during the black out?

Inspector Troy: Old Flames

Heading into the Cold War era, this book follows on from the events of the last as Inspector Troy looks to take his next case. Initially published by John Lawton in 1996 on the 22nd of July, this was to evoke the subdued intrigue of the 1950’s. Building further on the character of Troy as well, it enabled the reader to gain a far clearer idea of him as a person.

Moving onto the Cold War as this book now takes place in 1950’s London, the readers are now taken with Inspector Troy as he this time must deal threat permeating the rotting heart of the MI6, with all its shadowy figures buried deep within there. He almost must contend with his childhood as he needs to go back into his past if he ever hopes to move on and move forwards with the case in hand. Faced with an old flame from his past he has to deal with Larissa Tosca, a late member of the U.S. Army, who now may have ties to the Russian K.G.B, which is something he must overcome as he deals with his feelings for her. During the April of 1956, there is a visit by the state department of the Soviet regime, as the leaders Bulganin and Khrushchev are to pay a visit to the British government. This is disturbed though after the mutilated corpse of a stranger is discovered beneath their ship, as it is up to Inspector Troy to investigate who it is and who committed the crime.

Not wanting to cause an international incident, Troy must deal with his case quickly and quietly before too many people are alerted. This may be harder than it sounds when dealing with the trouble from his past. Then the murders start to continue putting Troy in a desperate race against the clock to discover who is causing them. Will he find out before it is too late, or will the murderer get away? Can he keep out of the radar of the killer himself, and can he stop this from causing a major international incident? What do the murders mean and who’s doing them as Inspector Troy must deal with old flames?

The Inspector Troy Series

As the the series looks set to continue the books will hopefully continue. Lawton himself has stated that he has no intentions of stopping anytime soon. With their well-researched and evocative take on London, it appears this series will carry on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Troy

Leave a Reply