Book Notification

Inspector Van Veeteren Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Van Veeteren Books

Münsters Fall [German] (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Borkmann's Point (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mind's Eye (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Woman with Birthmark (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inspector and Silence (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlucky Lottery / Munster's Case (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hour of the Wolf (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The G File (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weeping Girl (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strangler's Honeymoon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Inspector Van Veeteren Books

The Mind's Eye(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Borkmann's Point(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Woman with Birthmark(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inspector and Silence(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlucky Lottery / Munster's Case(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hour of the Wolf(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The G File(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weeping Girl(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strangler's Honeymoon(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Münsters Fall [German](1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hakan Nesser is one of the world’s renounced authors ever lived. He was born on 21st, February, 1950. Hakan is one of the most celebrated and successful authors in Sweden. He has written quite a good number of successful novels, which are mostly based on crime fiction. He has won several awards in Sweden, some of the awards that he has won include; Best Swedish Crime Novel Award (three times), and one of his novels known as Carambole scooped the Glass Key award in 2000. Due to his determination to reach as many people as possible worldwide, his books have been translated from Swedish into nine other languages.

Hakan Nesser was born and brought up in Kumla, and he has spent most of his adult life in Uppsala. Hakan’s first novel was published in 1988, but he continued working as a teacher up to 1998, when he finally decided to dedicate his life fully into writing. He was motivated to become a full time author after he had become very successful as an outstanding crime author with his famous Van Veeteren series. In 2006, august, Nesser and his wife Elke relocated to Greenwich Village in New York. They did not live in New York for a long time before they packed their luggage and moved to London.

In Hakan’s entire life working as an author, he has been able to successfully publish up to twenty books in Swedish. Out of those twenty books, four of them have been translated into English. Those books that have been translated into English include; BORKMANN’S POINT (2006), THE RETURN (2007), THE MIND’S EYE (2008), and WOMAN WITH BIRTHMARK (2009). All the books mentioned are found in his popular series Van Veeteren. But the total books in the series are about ten books published in Swedish.

The famous Van Veteeren series is set in Maardam, which is a fictitious city in a non-existing country which might be somewhere around northern Europe. It is all about a murder cases of Chief inspector Van Veeteren. Chief inspector Van Veeteren is depicted as a philosophical detective with ability to do the unimaginable. Chief inspector Van is very much confident that he can unearth the cause of any murder case and bring the victims into justice. Veteeren is depicted in this series as someone who is very much unpredictable, some people are describing chief inspector Van as an enigmatic and in some cases very difficult to deal with. Chief inspector Van Veeteren as brought out in this series is someone who is temperamental, a bit eccentric, vaguely gruff, but in general, MR. Van is someone who is very warm, funny, and very much outgoing person. Van Veeteren is currently one of the most famous fictitious characters. The popularity of Van Veteeren is almost matching that of Kurt Wallander and Martin Beck.

In this series there are about ten books which cannot all be discussed in this article, but you will be provided with a brief description of the first two books in the series. The description of these books is not to give the full details but to show you what you have been missing or what you are just about to enjoy if you newly acquired any of them. Only the Return and the Mind’s Eye will be discussed.

Mind’s Eye

This is the first book that was authored by Hakan Nesser in this series. The story line within this book is mostly based on crime act. To start it off, murder cases have never been as open and closed as the one happing in the Mind’s Eye. Janek Mitter woke up one day with a fatal hangover. He is unable to recall anything that took place last night, for a minute, he finds himself unable to remember even his own name. Then suddenly he discovers, behind the closed door of the bathroom, there lying Evar Ringmar while facing down in the bathtub his wife for 3 months. Evar Ringmar is dead. But who might have killed Evar? This is the mystery inspector Van Veeteran is determined to unravel.

Inspector Van Veeteren is not fully convinced about the case and is forced to look for more evidence. Nevertheless, with just the weakest excuse as his defense, Mitter was found guilty of a drunken crime of passion and was locked in a mental institution.

Chief inspector Van was a little bit skeptical about the identity of the murderer. His suspicion is confirmed when MR. Mitter later became murder victim. This prompted the chief inspector to launch a full investigation about the two assassinations. Mr. Van is mostly interested in finding the secrets of the dead mostly that of Eva Ringmar. But this turned out to be an uphill task for chief inspector, and the mysterious letter that Mitter wrote before he joined his wife in the graveyard will form the crucial part in the investigation. Who murdered Mitter and his wife? Why were they killed? What was it in the letter? For you to get answers to those questions, get the book and enjoy the full story.

The Return

The story line in the Return is based around an inquiry that was carried out by Chief inspector Van Veeteren and his team of detectives serving in the Maardam police department. Along the line, another beheaded corpse all missing feet and hands was found wrapped in a carpet by a nursery school child in a wooded area during a class outing. Now the inquest is based on two mysteries, that is who was the person and who might have murdered the person?

The detectives led by Van, later discovered that the person who was killed is called Leopold Verhaven. Leopold used to be notorious and he was once a world class short distance runner and had also been imprisoned for twelve good years in each two separate cases for the killing of two young ladies he was in love with. As Van Veeteren trying to flashback on the past murder cases that he had dealt with, Leopold could be innocent. The story in the Return novel is just very captivating, the more you read the more you are eager to know what happened next.

In conclusion, Hakan Nesser’s crime stories are just fascinating. For instance, the Return is an outstanding crime novel and extremely psychological. The general plot is great, the action is interesting and absorbing, and the characters are outlandish and attractive.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Van Veeteren

Leave a Reply