Book Notification

Iris Yamashita Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cara Kennedy Books

Village in the Dark (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

City Under One Roof (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Iris Yamashita

Japanese-American screenwriter and novelist Iris Yamashita is acclaimed for her exceptional storytelling skills. She is renowned for her ability to craft captivating characters and protagonists that truly come alive on the page. Iris has a special talent for writing engaging narratives that keep readers hooked from start to finish. Her stories are not only entertaining but also carry a depth that resonates with audiences on a profound level.

Through her work, Iris Yamashita displays a deep understanding of human emotions and experiences. Her characters are multi-dimensional, allowing readers to connect with them on a personal level. Iris’ gift for creating compelling stories that explore a wide range of themes sets her apart as a masterful storyteller. Readers are drawn into her narratives, eager to follow the journeys of her characters and explore the worlds she creates.

Additionally, Yamashita’s work carries important themes that resonate with readers, adding depth to the gripping narratives. She really has something to say, all while keeping her audience on the edge of their seat, constantly turning the page for what comes next.

With a keen eye for detail and a profound understanding of storytelling craft, Iris Yamashita consistently delivers works that captivate and inspire. Her stories are rich in nuance and complexity, offering readers a glimpse into different lives and perspectives. Iris’ ability to weave intricate plots and create unforgettable moments ensures that her work leaves a lasting impact on those who experience it. As a Japanese-American screenwriter and novelist, Iris Yamashita continues to enchant readers with her storytelling prowess and gift for crafting memorable tales.

Early and Personal Life

Born on April 1, 1965, in Missouri, Iris Yamashita discovered her love for reading and writing at a young age. Growing up, she honed her storytelling skills while pursuing studies in engineering at UC Berkeley and UC San Diego. Despite her technical background, Iris found solace in crafting fiction as a hobby, which eventually led her to explore her passion for storytelling.

Inspired by her diverse educational experiences and personal journey, Iris Yamashita gradually transitioned from engineering to pursue her writing dreams. Delving into the world of virtual reality at the University of Tokyo, she continued to nurture her creativity and develop a unique perspective as an author. Through her dedication and hard work, Iris found her inspiration in the intersection of technology, culture, and human connections, fueling her growth as a writer.

Embracing her multicultural background and unwavering passion for storytelling, Iris Yamashita’s journey as a Japanese-American screenwriter and novelist is a testament to her resilience and creativity. Drawing from a wealth of life experiences and academic pursuits, she has crafted a distinctive voice that resonates with readers worldwide.

With each new project, Iris continues to evolve as an author, enriching her narratives with depth, emotion, and a profound understanding of the human experience.

Writing Career

Iris Yamashita’s writing career includes the creation of the Detective Cara Kennedy series, with titles like ‘City Under One Roof’ in 2023 and ‘Village in the Dark’ in 2024. However, she is perhaps best known for her work on the screenplay for Clint Eastwood’s companion film to ‘Flags of Our Fathers,’ which provided a perspective on the Japanese side of the Battle of Iwo Jima. Released as ‘Letters from Iwo Jima’ in 2006, the film earned her a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay alongside Paul Haggis.

Through her various writing projects, Iris has showcased her storytelling prowess and ability to delve into complex narratives with depth and sensitivity. Her work on “Letters from Iwo Jima” not only garnered critical acclaim but also solidified her reputation as a talented screenwriter and novelist.

As she continues to explore new avenues in writing, Iris Yamashita’s career remains a testament to her dedication to the craft and her gift for weaving compelling tales that resonate with audiences worldwide.

City Under One Roof

Iris Yamashita’s mystery thriller ‘City Under One Roof,’ the inaugural installment in the ‘Cara Kennedy’ series, was published by Berkley Books on January 10, 2023. This novel serves as an introduction to the series, establishing the character of Cara Kennedy and the immersive world in which the mysteries unfold.

A stranded detective confronts a murder in a small Alaskan town housed in a single high-rise building. When a grisly discovery is made on the town’s shore, Detective Cara Kennedy, from Anchorage, takes on the case with personal motivations.

Trapped by a blizzard that seals off the only access point, Cara navigates a community of enigmatic residents in Point Mettier, teaming up with local officer Joe Barkowski as they face unexpected challenges from neighboring gang members.

As she delves deeper, Cara uncovers a tapestry of hidden truths among the town’s inhabitants, testing her resolve to uncover the mysteries shrouding Point Mettier.

Iris Yamashita captivates readers with her thrilling mystery set in a unique Alaskan town. Engaging characters and suspenseful twists make this a compelling read.

Village in the Dark

Iris Yamashita’s mystery thriller ‘Village in the Dark,’ the second installment in the ‘Cara Kennedy’ series, was published by Berkley Books on February 13, 2024. This novel continues to develop the characters and world introduced in the first book, offering readers a further, and this time deeper dive into the mysteries surrounding Cara Kennedy and her investigations.

Detective Cara Kennedy this time unravels dark secrets surrounding her husband and son’s deaths. As disturbing clues surface, Cara’s quest for truth intertwines with Mia Upash’s past in a secluded village, triggering a perilous journey involving officer Joe Barkowski and the town of Point Mettier.

On a chilling February day, Alaska detective Cara faces the grim reality of her loved ones’ deaths, unearthing sinister ties to a series of tragedies. Mia’s connection to Unity village and a secretive past adds layers to the unfolding mysteries, plunging Cara and her allies into a dangerous pursuit that jeopardizes their safety and uncovers hidden dangers lurking within their midst.

Deepening mysteries and intertwining character paths promise a thrilling and suspenseful journey into a world filled with danger and secrets.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Iris Yamashita

Leave a Reply