Book Notification

It Girl (Katy Birchall) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The It Girl Books

The It Girl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Team Awkward (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Tell the Bridesmaid (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The It Girl in Rome (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

This is not the acclaimed “It Girl” series that was written by author Cecily von Ziegesar; that served as the basis for the hit television show “Gossip Girl”. This is the “It Girl” that is penned by author Katy Birchall. The “It Girl” series is from the teen fiction genres. The series started with the release of “The It-Girl: Superstar Geek” which was released in the year 2015. This is also Katy’s debut in fiction writing. Some of the story comes from some things that actually happened to Katy in her life. This series of young adult books have been translated into twelve languages around the world.

Anna Huntley, the star of the series, has a birthday on August fourteenth. She has a canine that she named Dog. She has bad hair, she is a geek, and loves Marvel superheroes. She likes to make lists, which is something that is shown in the first book of the series. Much like the star of the series, Katy herself has some Labradors, who are the loves of her life.

“The It-Girl: Superstar Geek” is the first novel in the “It Girl” series and was released in the year 2015. This novel is made up of different emails and voice mails. It seems every female wants to be a famous It Girl. Anna Huntley has some goals. She has to keep her two wonderful, new, and only friends at school; to do so she must not doing anything socially inept by doing things that a dork and outcast would do. Anna wants to train her Labrador (which is named Dog); probably the most ambitious thing she wants to do. Do not set Deputy Queen Bee’s hair (who is a mean girl) on fire again. Figure out if two and three are something an outcast would do or socially inept (setting the mean girl’s hair on fire and teaching Dog to high five). Give out rice while in Africa. If she gives out rice, then maybe she can also give out chocolate. Anna does like eating chocolate. She will have to figure out how to do so from the cupboard. This is due to the fact that she is hiding with Dog in the cupboard for the rest of time because her dad is engaged to a very famous actress. The paparazzi want to put her face in every magazine. Everyone is going to figure out how socially inept Anna is.

Fans liked the message the novel has about being okay about who you are as a person and the one about friendship. Dog was a character that some readers liked. Katy Birchall does a wonderful job breathing new life into different stories about a girl, who is normal, thrust into a spotlight. The relationships that Anna has really make the novel much better. Fans liked the slapstick comedy, humor, the blended family element, and the friendships. There is enough comedy to keep you laughing the entire time you read the novel. You get to see Anna change throughout the novel and she ends up doing right for one of her friends at the very end of the book.

“The It-Girl: Team Awkward” is the second novel in the “It Girl” series and was released in the year 2016. Since everything Anna does may just be seen by ten million people, she is going to find something that she is good at. She has been made out to be an IT girl by the media and she has not done anything to earn this title. She wants to do something though. Make herself worthy of this title. It seems that everyone has a thing. Like the new girl at school. She has been taking up Connor’s attention with their love of art. Sports day at the school is coming and Anna gets ready. What could possibly go wrong with that? Certainly the fact that she has no athletic abilities should not be a problem.

Fans found that once they started the book, they could not stop reading it. And they finished it in just a couple of hours of reading. It was that good. This is a fun read that allows you to escape the outside world. Readers laughed just about the entire time that they read the book. Anna, the lead of the series, was an interesting and likable character; so much so, that you cannot help but feel sorry for her when she gets in over her head. The series is recommended for readers who enjoyed reading “Geek Girl” and the works of Louise Rennison.

“The It-Girl: Don’t Tell the Bridesmaid” is the third novel in the “It Girl” series and was released in the year 2017. Can you smell that? There is romance in the air. Preparations for what is supposed to be the Wedding of the Century between famous actress Helena Montaine and Anna’s dad are hitting a fever pitch. All Anna wants is to get out wearing the hideous meringue of a bridesmaid dress. Anna, her friends, and her real boyfriend (this last thing needs to be shouted from all the rooftops) are about to head to Rome for a school trip. Nothing could spoil this perfect moment. Assuming, of course, that she does not do something like face plant into the Trevi Fountain.

Fans of the novel found that Anna gets up to her usual stuff and reacts to things the way she has done in the other books. That’s why fans have come to enjoy reading about her. It would not be the same if she suddenly did not get into stupid situations or mess things up. That being said, it is not just a simple rehash of things that have been done in the other books. Anna is a nerdy and real character. She is a pleasure to read about. She will make readers laugh through the entire thing. Fans found that they enjoyed reading about Anna and another boy that was not her boyfriend; finding that they wished these two would wind up together. This is a lighthearted and humorous read. Some felt that these books get better and better each time, as Katy hones her ability to write fiction.

Book Series In Order » Characters » It Girl (Katy Birchall)

Leave a Reply