Book Notification

Ivy & Bean Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ivy & Bean Books

Ivy and Bean (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost That Had to Go (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Break the Fossil Record (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take Care of the Babysitter (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound to be Bad (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doomed to Dance (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
What's the Big Idea? (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
No News Is Good News (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make the Rules (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take the Case (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Big Happy Family (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get to Work! (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ivy & Bean Series
Ivy & Bean is a children’s series by Annie Barrows. The series introduces two girls who start as enemies but, over time, find that they have a lot in common. At the beginning of the series, Ivy and Bean are seven-year-olds with different personalities. Ivy is the quiet type, but her imagination often runs wild, making her come up with all kinds of stories. Bean, on the other hand, is the naughty one. She spends most of her time playing outside whenever she is not playing tricks on her sister. Follow these two girls through their adventures and get to see how much mischief they can get away with.

Ivy and Bean
Ivy and Bean comes first in the Ivy & Bean series. The book introduces two girls, Ivy and Bean, who thought that they would never become friends. Bean’s mother had been urging her daughter to play with Ivy, who lives down the street. However, Bean had been reluctant. Ivy spent her days buried in books while Bean enjoyed playing outside and getting into all kinds of mischief. However, when Bean has to hide fast after playing a trick on her elder sister, Nancy, Ivy comes to the rescue. Ivy provides a hideout and helps Bean develop a plan to torment her sister further after she cools off.

It turns out that Ivy is not dull as Bean previously thought. The reason why she spent hours reading is that she was training to be a witch, and she was ‘even thinking about setting up a portions’ lab in her bedroom. Ivy suggests that Bean should cast a dancing spell on her sister. The two girls will need to collect some ingredients, and they grow closer as they work together. As they scout the neighborhood, searching for worms, they realize that they are not different after all. Their mean tricks will land Bean in trouble, but they will all have a laugh at Nancy’s reactions and become closer than they had anticipated.
This is a cute children’s story characterized by humor, vibrant colors, and an intriguing storyline. The girls’ characters are done so well, and you cannot help but marvel at their creativity. Bean is the wild and restless one, while Ivy has an overactive mind. The girls easily build their worlds and enjoy getting their hands dirty like other children their age. Their silly pranks will land them in trouble but leave you with a smile on your face. The illustrations are well distributed throughout the book and add a lot to the story. You will love interacting with Bean with her wild nature and all the mischief. Ivy is also such a joy with her big dreams and all kinds of imaginations.

Ivy and Bean is a cute story that many children will find intriguing. In the story, you get to meet two seven-year-old girls who are as different as day and night and see how their daily lives look like. At the heart of the story is an important lesson, there is more to friendship than being the same. If you give people a chance, you will realize that they are a better company than you had assumed. Incredibly, a beautiful friendship is born out of these two girls’ interactions. While there is some mischief involved, it is also notable that the girls get appropriate punishment for their actions.

Ivy and Bean and the Ghost That Had to Go
Ivy and Bean and the Ghost That Had to Go comes second in the Ivy &Bean series. Now best friends Ivy and Bean are going to get into more mischief. There is a ghost in the bathroom, and these two young girls have to figure out how to get it out. However, the truth is that there is no ghost. Ivy cannot do a cartwheel yet, so she creates the ghost story as a distraction. What she doesn’t anticipate is that the story would spread throughout the school, causing panic. Some of Ivy and Bean’s friends are even too scared to go to the bathroom.

It is amazing how the girls tell the ghost story. The mark on the floor is said to be the portal through which the ghost enters from the underworld. A mist sometimes occurs right outside the bathroom, and the girls manage to convince their friends that this is the ghost. The fact that the bathroom gets very cold at times makes their story even more believable. When the teacher scolds Ivy for the ghost story, the imaginative girl comes up with another plan. She is going to make some portions and offer gifts that are sure to make the ghost disappear. A good number of the girls in school show up for the event, but the gathering attracts the fifth-grade teacher’s attention. This only spells more trouble for this duo.

This story is as intriguing as the first one. The girls will be getting into more mischief at home and in school. While the girls get in trouble a few times, this story remains entertaining to the end. Ivy and Beans teacher is such a great person. She was kind to her students yet firm with the naughty ones, just like any teacher should do. As Ivy misuses her imaginative mind, Bean will be causing mayhem at home. The naughty girl cuts her sister’s hair, and you cannot help but wonder how far this sibling rivalry will go. Fortunately, the adults are always there to stop the mischief before things get too far.
Ivy and Bean and the Ghost That Had to Go is an exciting addition to this series. Bean and Ivy’s friendship continues to grow, and they have so much fun together. There is a new character, a boy named Leo, who helps make this story more inclusive. Both boys and girls will find the adventures hilarious. Again, the author has succeeded in writing in a clear 7-year-old voice. The words are big enough for the kids to read with ease, and the grammar, flow, and style are age-appropriate.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ivy & Bean

Leave a Reply