Book Notification

J.C. Briggs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charles Dickens & Superintendent Sam Jones Books

The Murder of Patience Brooke (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Hungerford Stairs (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Ghostlight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quickening and the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Midnight In Venice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Redemption Murders (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Magic: A Charles Dickens short story (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Hawke Sapphires (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chinese Puzzle (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summons to Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jaggard Case (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Waxwork Man (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Legacy of Foulstone Manor (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Midwinter Mysteries: A Christmas Crime Anthology(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

About J.C. Briggs

J.C. Briggs was a mystery and suspense author renowned for her captivating storytelling skills. She excelled in creating complex characters and intriguing protagonists that kept readers engaged from beginning to end. Through her expert crafting of narratives, she wove thrilling and entertaining tales that immersed readers in the world she had created. Her ability to build suspense and mystery throughout her stories added an element of intrigue that kept readers eager to uncover the next twist.

Readers found themselves drawn into Briggs’ novels as they followed along with her well-developed characters on their journeys. Her talent for creating fascinating protagonists allowed readers to connect with the story on a deeper level, making the reading experience more immersive and enjoyable. With her knack for crafting compelling narratives, Briggs kept readers on the edge of their seats, eagerly turning pages to unravel the mysteries she had laid out. Her gift for building tension and suspense throughout her stories created a sense of anticipation that kept readers eagerly anticipating the next revelation.

Briggs’ books were filled with engaging and enthralling narratives that were sure to captivate any reader looking for a thrilling mystery to delve into. Through her expert storytelling and character development, she created a world that readers did not want to leave. With each new book, she showcased her talent for crafting compelling stories that kept readers hooked until the very last page.

Fans of mystery and suspense found themselves drawn to Briggs’ work, eager to uncover the secrets and surprises that awaited them within the pages of her novels. As more and more discover her work every day, her following around the world continues to grow.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up, J.C. Briggs developed a keen interest in reading and writing, ultimately leading to her passion for crafting compelling mysteries. Her childhood experiences laid the foundation for her love of storytelling, which would later inspire her to pursue a career as an author. Through her early years, she discovered the power of words and imagination, igniting a lifelong dedication to creating captivating narratives.

Inspiration found J.C. Briggs as she explored different cultures and taught English and Drama in schools across various regions, from Hong Kong to Lancashire. Her experiences living in different places and interacting with diverse communities enriched her storytelling abilities and broadened her perspectives as an author. Over the years, she honed her craft and found her unique voice through a blend of personal encounters, literary influences, and a deep-rooted passion for mystery and suspense fiction.

Settling in a cozy cottage in Cumbria, a picturesque region in North West England, J.C. Briggs continued to nurture her creativity and immerse herself in the world of storytelling. Surrounded by the tranquil beauty of the countryside, she found solace and inspiration to weave intricate plots and develop compelling characters.

Her journey from teacher to acclaimed author reflects a lifetime of dedication to her craft, shaped by a love for literature and a desire to share captivating stories with readers worldwide.

Writing Career

J.C. Briggs has made a mark in the mystery and suspense genre with her notable series, the ‘Charles Dickens Investigations.’ This series, starting in 2014 with ‘The Murder of Patience Brooke,’ continued with gripping titles like ‘Death at Hungerford Stairs’ and ‘Murder by Ghostlight,’ showcasing her talent for crafting intricate plots. With each installment, readers were treated to compelling narratives and engaging mysteries that kept them hooked until the very last page.

In addition to her series, Briggs also penned standalone novels and collections, such as ‘The Legacy of Foulstone Manor’ in 2024 and ‘Midwinter Mysterie,’ with other writers, in 2019. These works further demonstrated her versatility as a writer, delving into different themes and settings while maintaining the suspenseful storytelling that had become her signature.

Briggs’ career as a writer has been characterized by a commitment to delivering captivating stories that appealed to fans of mystery and suspense fiction, solidifying her reputation as a talented and prolific author in the genre.

Murder by Ghostlight

Published by Sapere Books on January 24, 2019, ‘Murder by Ghostlight’ is the third installment in the ‘Charles Dickens & Superintendent Sam Jones’ series, written by J.C. Briggs. This historical mystery novel presents another intriguing case for the duo to unravel, showcasing Briggs’ talent for crafting engaging narratives in the genre.

Set in London in 1850, Charles Dickens finds himself in a precarious situation as he goes from a private investigator to the main suspect in a murder case. While performing in Manchester, a man is shot dead during their play, with Dickens caught holding the gun, leading to his immediate arrest.

With Superintendent Sam Jones by his side, Dickens works to uncover the true killer to clear his name, facing the challenge of convincing the authorities of his innocence and unveiling the real assassin before another tragedy strikes under the eerie glow of the ghostlight.

Immersive and captivating, this story is a historical mystery that keeps readers engaged with a compelling narrative and intriguing characters.

The Mystery of the Hawke Sapphires

Published by Sapere Books on January 26, 2021, ‘The Mystery of the Hawke Sapphires’ is the seventh book in the ‘Charles Dickens & Superintendent Sam Jones’ series, authored by J.C. Briggs. This further historical mystery continues the adventures of the beloved duo as they delve into a new intriguing case.

In London, 1851, Charles Dickens and Superintendent Jones tackle two perplexing cases – a missing heiress and a young man’s murder. Dickens is drawn into uncovering the truth behind Sir Gerald Hawke’s enigmatic request to find the missing heiress, Sapphire, while also investigating the suspicious death of Felix Gresham.

As Dickens delves deeper into the mysteries, he navigates a web of secrets and reluctance to unravel the connections between the baffling disappearances and murders, showcasing his sleuthing skills alongside Superintendent Jones.

Will Dickens untangle the intricate web of intrigue entangling the cases, finding the missing link that ties everything together?

Immersing readers in Victorian London, this effective mystery offers a gripping tale as Charles Dickens and Superintendent Jones unravel another real head-scratcher.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.C. Briggs

Leave a Reply