Book Notification

J. Carson Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Laura Cardinal Books

Darkness on the Edge of Town (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Side of the Moon (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Hour (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cry Wolf (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight 12 (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cyril Landry Books

Publication Order of Maggie O'Neil Books

Roadside Attraction (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vicious Cycle (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The BlueLight Special (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Mojo (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Flight 12 Begins Books

Flight 12 Begins: 1 (By: Allan Leverone) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight 12 (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight 12 Begins: 5 (By: Aaron M. Patterson) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moonlight Breaks Bad (By: Vincent Zandri) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Side Steal (By: Robert Gregory Browne) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Uncommon Assassins(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

J. Carson Black is a well-established author, who specializes in crime fiction. After J. Carson Black read the Shining by Stephen King, she became inspired and thus began to work on her first novel. J. Carson is widely known for the Laura Cardinal book series. Currently, Black resides in Tucson, Arizona, a region, where she was born and raised. In the year 1990, J. Carson Black became a full-time author, with Darkscope being her debut novel. Black penned down the novel, Darkscope using her pseudonym, Margaret Falk. The darkness of Edge was the very first novel that J. Carson Black penned down using her real names in the year 2004.

J. Carson Black Best Books

The Shop

The Shop is the first installment in the Cyril Landry book series. This installment begins with an assassination in Aspen Colorado, where a well-known pop star and actress, Brienne Cross is killed. One Cyril Landry, a member of a black operations unit and a former Seal member, executes the assassination. The Shop is a black operations unit that operates within a private security firm. The government for missions that are outside the law mostly uses the shop. Despite being a professional killer, Landry not only loves his family but he is also devoted to them as well. Apart from the assassination of the celebrity, there is also another storyline that is going on, within a motel that is located on the gulf of Florida. A police chief is found dead. Thus one Jolie Burke is given the case.

The investigation eventually reveals that there were numerous strings of murder cases, that involved the high and mighty. It does not take long before the two meet. The suspense and the tension build with the twists and turns, subplots, corruption, conspiracy, as well as coverups for a complex and intriguing crime thriller. With that said, the author has an exceedingly unique way of developing her characters as well as seemingly connecting all the pieces of the narrative.

Darkness on the Edge of Town

In this installment, the author, J Carson Black introduces the readers to Laura Cardinal, a police detective who works for the Arizona Public Safety Department. Laura’s job involves assisting exceedingly small Arizona communities who may not have the resources of dealing with exceedingly complicated homicide investigations. The book begins as Laura is called to a scene of an exceedingly gruesome murder in Bisbee, a town known as Tucson, which is located close to the Mexican border. A young girl had been brutally killed and then placed as a display in Tucson’s, band shell. Once she completed examining the crime scene, Laura immediately recognized that she was facing one of the worst criminal types; a serial killer who preyed on young children. An earlier clue indicated that the predator might be hunting his prey from a chat room. Once the information was out, everyone who had a child within the town, became concerned because almost all the children in the town had access to computers.

Apart from that, there is also little evidence, and as an investigator from the Public Safety Department, Laura, in turn, finds herself in an exceedingly delicate situation. As an expert, Laura needs to not only control the direction of the investigation, but she also needs to execute it in such a manner that she does not alienate nor antagonize the local law enforcement officials. As the case progresses, this eventually proves to be an exceedingly difficult task, and Laura will eventually find herself at odds with the locals as well as the people within her office. All Laura can do at this point is forge ahead and follow the thread of the investigation, wherever it might take her, overlooking the people that she might antagonize along the way. Before the case comes to an end, Laura will require the physical skills and the wits that she can be able to bring into play against a clever and particularly warped killer. With that said, Darkness on the Edge of Town is an excellent debut novel, which introduces a remarkably appealing protagonist. The settings and the characters are well drawn, and it is safe to say that this book is going to appeal to a large number of crime fiction lovers.

The Dark Side of the Moon

J. Carson Black follows up her debut novel that features Laura Cardinal, the Arizona Detective, with a novel that is just as breath taking as the first novel. This time around, we meet with Laura Cardinal, who from the look of things is still coming to terms with her last brush with danger. Laura is called to a crime scene where a brutal double murder had been committed. An exceedingly young couple had been killed while camping in Arizona wilderness. At first, the crime appears to not only be impersonal but also random as well. However, as the book progresses, it begins to take a much different tone as the investigators continue to dig deeply into the investigation. The trail eventually leads the investigators to a myriad of suspects as well as an underground organization. Each of the suspects had their reasons for ensuring that the couple was dead.

Might this be a case of an obsessive love gone wrong or could it be something that was much more complicated? As Laura continues to search for answers, she is soon going to find herself staring death from a truth that was much closer than she ever thought. Like the second installment, that features the courageous Laura Cardinal. The author, Carson Black has not only added substance but also depth into this exceedingly compelling character, by making this installment more gripping than the first installment. It is in character, Laura Cardinal that the strengths of these novels lie. Fearless, courageous and intimacy shy, Laura is the main reason, which the readers will keep on turning the pages without noticing. The plot, on the other hand, is not only gripping but also creative. The ending, on the other hand, is exceedingly explosive. With that said, the Dark Side of the Moon is a murder mystery with a thriller element. Despite the fact that The Dark Side of the Moon starts slow, it eventually picks up as the story progresses.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J. Carson Black

Leave a Reply