Book Notification

J.E. Rowney Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lessons of a Student Midwife Books

Life Lessons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Lessons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lessons Learned (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The On Call Midwife at Christmas (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starting Out (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Charcoal (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Derelict (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosted (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman in the Woods (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Can't Sleep (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Other People's Lives (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book Swap (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gaslight (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House Sitter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zero Days Since Last Incident (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Passenger (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

five seven five (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desire Lines (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
How the Heart Behaves (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

J.E. Rowney
J. E. Rowney spent several years in the frigid Yorkshire hills, however now lives on the south coast of England. She spent ten years working as a midwife before turning in her gloves to be an author.

She’s an award winning poet, and also likes writing short stories. She won the 2020 Pen to Print Short Story award, and the Dinesh Allirajah Prize for Short Fiction.

When Ms. Rowney’s not busy writing, she enjoys walking by the sea, and reading a wide range of books.

She’d always dreamed of becoming a writer, until she realized that she was, then she began writing. This began when she was commuting from Leeds to London during her previous life as a change management specialist.

One of the best ways she’s found to deal with writer’s block is to move away from what she’s trying to write, and attempt writing something else instead. If she’s in the middle of some novel and find she’s getting “stuck”, she’ll write poetry or a short, or possibly even just write down some notes in her journal. Sometimes the words that we’re looking for aren’t ready to be found. Do something else, and come back to it later on.

“Charcoal” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2019. Anna Macbeth has spent her entire life attempting to escape her past. She left the rural Yorkshire village where she grew up to have a life as a family lawyer in London, however what secrets did she take along with her?

When a familiar voice phones her with some pretty tragic news, Anna knows that running away from this isn’t an option anymore, and that she must return so she can face her demons.

What led her to flee her home, and what could possibly have caused her to come back? This story unfolds a dramatic series of event which demonstrates the consequences of desires.

“Ghosted” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2020. Zoe and Violet are the best of friends, and joined at the hip, until Zoe up and vanishes. At the same time, Violet attempts juggling a new relationship and a demanding job as a midwife, where she meets this mother-to-be that faces unexpected challenges of her own.

Who can Violet possibly turn to in order to help her to figure out what lies behind Zoe’s disappearance? This is a story of friendship and trust, with twists and turns.

“Life Lessons” is the first novel in the “Lessons of a Student Midwife” series and was released in 2020. Violet dreams about becoming a midwife. Only things standing in her way are self doubt, anxiety, and three years of training. Can she overcome all of her obstacles and make her own dreams come true?

Violet wants to be a midwife, however she’s struggled with anxiety throughout her teen years. With Zoe, her best friend by her side, she gets a spot at University and begins training for her dream job. Can she really overcome her fears and find the self confidence to make it through her first year? Is her romance with their housemate going to spell dating disaster?

Readers of this new adult chick lit medical drama can expect an emotional page turner that will take you deep into the life lessons of a student midwife.

“Love Lessons” is the second novel in the “Lessons of a Student Midwife” series and was released in 2021. This will take you deep into the life lessons of a student midwife.

Violet, after overcoming her anxiety to get through her first year of midwifery training, has returned for Year Two. Feeling confident and full of enthusiasm, it seems that nothing at all can stop her, however her happiness doesn’t last for very long. When she’s faced with exams, unfamiliar placements, and self doubt, she finds herself unable to turn to Zoe, her best friend, for support.

It is time for Violet to find the answers to questions that are even more challenging than those that she’ll come up against in her exams. Who is she without her best friend? Could it be time that she got professional support to put an end to her anxiety? Where does she fit into Zoe’s life?

“I Can’t Sleep” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2020. Becky Braithwaite cannot sleep, and hasn’t been able to since June 16, 2018, since it happened. She is traumatized by the events of her past, and exhausted by her insomnia, and believes that a new start is going to help her recover.

Becky leaves home to fulfill her brother’s dreams, and honor the life that he never had, however she quickly finds that escaping from the past is not quite as easy as she first imagined. Could her fatigued mind be playing tricks on her, or is danger truly lurking in the shadows?

This tough to put down psychological thriller novel is sure to keep you turning the pages to learn the truth.

“The Book Swap” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2022. Laura, who’s newly separated, is back home living with her mother. She spends her days escaping from the realities of her new life alone and reading. Up until this new life becomes far more complicated than she could have ever imagined.

Laura, when a novel’s received by this online book club contains a chilling note, must overcome her own fears to help out a stranger. First, she must uncover who it is exactly that needs to be saved, and from what.

“Other People’s Lives” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2022. Is she worried that somebody’s watching her, or is she worried that she thinks somebody’s watching her? Sophie Portman has lost her husband, and she thinks she could be losing her mind.

She seeks the help of Andrew Thacker, a psychiatrist, however while she begins opening up, the truth starts unraveling and nothing is exactly what it seems to be.

This is a gripping psychological thriller that is like “The Silent Patient” meets “Gone Girl”. There is a heart stopping twist that you never see coming.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.E. Rowney

Leave a Reply