Book Notification

J.F. Freedman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kate Blanchard Books

House of Smoke (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Luke Garrison Books

The Disappearance (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Above the Law (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killing in the Valley (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Against the Wind (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Obstacle Course (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Key Witness (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bird's-Eye View (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen Idols (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
In My Dark Dreams (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turn Left at Doheny (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

J.F. Freedman is an award-winning bestselling author of mystery fiction whose works have been published in more than twenty countries across the globe.
For his work, he has gotten accolades from the likes of “Library Journal,” “The New York Times Book Review,” “Booklist,” “Publishers Weekly,” and “Kirkus Reviews.”

He has also been praised by authors such as Robert Parker, Dorothy Allison, Larry Brown, and Stephen King.

In addition to his writing, he is also an award-winning director, producer, and writer of more than twenty television and theatrical movies. He has also written for the likes of “MacGyver” and “The X-Files” in addition to several other series.

Freedman published “Against the Wind” his debut novel in 1991. The success of the novel was the confidence he needed as he went on to pen more than a dozen other titles over the years.

Freedman currently makes his home on the coast of Central California.

Following in the footsteps of many of his contemporaries, J.F. Freedman decided to become a fiction author. He had much success in TV and film but wanted to try something different.

In an “Ask Me Anything” on Reddit, he asserted that making the switch was easy as he had always been a storyteller. He wanted to make a switch since he was sick of the lack of narrative and character development in screenplays.

He wanted to go beyond just writing directions such as “enter,” as he wanted to get into the heads of his characters, which can only be done with a novel.
The novel form also made it possible for him to be very descriptive of physical elements and places such as frightening forests, forbidding offices, and gray skies.

Moreover, Freedman had at some point been a short story writer before he got into writing screenplays. As such, the switch was very easy for Freedman.

John spent much of his childhood in Maryland and went to the University of Pennsylvania, where he got her bachelor’s and master’s degrees.

He has always been quite the voracious reader even as a child. As a kid, he was a huge fan of the good storytelling of Louis Stevenson. Since he was also a huge lover of sports he read a ton of sports-related books.

Still, his favorite works of literature as a child have to be comic books, especially anything with a good storyline and strong characterization. As an adult, he also started reading the biographies of prominent personalities such as Abraham Lincoln and George Washington.

When he is reading for entertainment he reads anything from literary fiction, food books, political books, and all manner of thrillers. Among his favorites include “The Southpaw,” “The Iliad,” “LA Confidential,” and “Crime and Punishment.”

For his work, he has won several awards over the years including a Television Edgar, Writers Guild of America Award, and several nominations for an Emmy Award.

One interesting fact about J.F. Freedman is that when he was starting out as a television producer, he gave then young Steven Spielberg one of his first assignments as a director.

“The Disappearance” by J.F. Freedman is the compelling story of Luke Garrison. He is one of the stars in the office of the District Attorney.
He could not have had a better life as he is admired and respected by his colleagues and has a successful and very beautiful wife.

But then his worst nightmare comes true while he is prosecuting a case. It is not long before he is getting divorced. He also loses his job and is reduced to taking jobs for petty criminals many of whom sell drugs.

He lives with his girlfriend Riva in Santa Barbara, a long way from his previous high flying life.

When Emma the daughter of a high-ranking TV executive is taken from her own bedroom and is found killed, a local newscaster is the first suspect. Luke is sought out by a retired judge who needs him to defend the newscaster.

This would unearth some of the issues from his past that he believed he had long left behind. But he would also get a second chance at re-establishing his career.

The story then takes a dive into the power struggles, lies, secrets, and betrayals as Luke tries to defend his client.
It is a beautiful legal thriller with big reveals and a lot of turns and twists with riveting courtroom scenes and a thrilling investigation.

J.F. Freedman’s novel “Above the Law” is the story of high-profile prosecuting attorney Luke Garrison.

At the start of this story, he is a married man with a son he absolutely adores. He is running a low-profile defense business in Santa Barbara that allows him to maintain a good balance of home life, marriage, and work life.

But then one of his best friends from law school named Nora Ray Sherman comes to visit him. Sherman lives in northern California in the small and very poor Muir County, where he works as a prosecutor.

He entertains Luke with the story of a raid by the DEA that had gone horribly wrong. Despite the fact that the DEA had planned it with military precisions, the shadowy drug chief Reynaldo Juarez had been shot and killed.

The criminal informant that needed to be extracted safely had died in a firefight between the cartel and the DEA.

Having made a very good plan, the DEA believes they had been double-crossed. Luke Garrison believes there is more to it and sets out to investigate what he believes were the murders of key people in the case.

“A Killing in the Valley” by J.F. Freedman is the story of a hard-partying girl Maria Estrada. Estrada’s family has connections with some of the most brutal gangs in California.

On one of her jaunts, she meets a boy with whom she breaks into an old but very beautiful mansion. But by the end of a night that should have been one of her best, the boy has disappeared and Maria was brutally murdered.

It is now up to the criminal lawyer Luke Garrison and private investigator Kate Blanchard to decipher what happened at the old house.

To bring the killer to justice, they will need to find the link between the poverty in which Maria has raised, and the affluence of the place where she lost her life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.F. Freedman

Leave a Reply