Book Notification

J.J. Cook Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Biscuit Bowl Food Truck Mystery Books

Death on Eat Street (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gator Bowl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fry Another Day (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fat Tuesday Fricassee (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gator Bowl is a prequel novella.

Publication Order of Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade Mystery Books

That Old Flame of Mine (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hero's Journey (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Hot Water (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Pepper Hero (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

J J Cook is the pen name used by the national bestselling pair of authors Joyce and Jim Lavene. Together, they have written a number of highly successful novel series in their writing careers. Over the course of their prosperous career they have used a number of pseudonyms for writing their novels. One of the other pen names used by them apart from J J Cook is Ellie Grant. The two authors have also written many novel series under their original name, mainly in collaboration. Most of the novels written by the author pair are based on the mystery genre. It is estimated that they have written and published more than 60 books in their writing careers together. The novels written by Jim and Joyce Lavene are mainly published by several well known publishers like Berkley, Harlequin and the Charter Books publishing house. These publishing houses have also released more than a 100 nonfiction stories written by the writer pair. Many of the country’s regional and national publications have shown keen interest in publishing the novels and articles written by them. As of today, Joyce and Jim live happily in their house situated in the rural North Carolina along with their family and a black cat named Quincy. They also have a tabby named Stan Lee and a rescue dog named Rudi.

Throughout their writing career, Jim and Joyce Lavene have successfully written around 12 novel series divided under different pen names. One of the most popular novel series written by them is the ‘A Biscuit Bowl Food Truck Mystery’ series. It consists of a total of 3 books published between the years 2014 and 2015. The first novel of the series was released under the title ‘Death on Eat Street’ which was published by the Berkley publishing house in the year 2014. The plot of this novel is set in Mobile, Alabama, United States, and revolves around the lives of the main characters Zoe Chase and Ollie. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Zoe Chase is shown as living with the hope of having a restaurant owned by her. But, by the time she is able to do that, Zoe serves meals on wheels and earns some livelihood for herself. Along with that, she also gets involved in several mysteries which she tries to solve and live with her dreams peacefully. She works very hard in order to fulfill her dream of owning a restaurant. While working at a restaurant for several years, Zoe expects that she will get promotion after getting passed on a few occasions previously. When she rejected this time also, she decides to take the big step and begin to fulfill her dream.

Zoe Chase quits from her job and also gives up the fancy digs. With the help of a broker, she is able to purchase an upper diner situated in the shady part of her town in Mobile, Alabama. In order to stay above the water during the time of renovation work of her new hotel, she begins to sell food on the wheels of a used truck on the waterfront and downtown of Mobile, Alabama. At first, she tries to serve some classic dishes from the Southern food, but soon becomes famous for her deep fried biscuit bowl that won over the traditional bread bowl dishes among the tastes of her customers. After experiencing a promising start with her new restaurant, Zoe Chase begins to see her downfall resembling the a fast food truck going down the hill with any brakes. Many opposing activities begin to take place in her new restaurant that seem to make matters worse for Zoe. At first, the cash register is tried to be robbed by someone. This is followed by a threat warning from the owner of a rival food truck for going past him and taking his business over, in the food truck industry. Soon, that owner is found dead in the rolling restaurant of Zoe Chase, due to which she lands in more trouble in her life. She and one of her employees named Ollie find themselves getting fried in their own fryer. Now, they are required to find the real killer and produce him before the police in order to save themselves from getting wrongly accused. It is to be seen now whether they get burned in the fryer of hop out of it in time and begin to lead their lives normally.

The second novel of the series written by J J Cook was published under the title ‘Fry Another Day’. It was released by the Berkley publishing house in the year 2015. The plot of this novel continues to revolve around the life of the main protagonist Zoe Chase, who is shown serving as a chef of a Southern food truck and a part time sleuth, carrying out investigations to serve justice around her moving truck. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Zoe Chase is shown as driving her Biscuit Bowl food truck to Charlotte, North Carolina, along with some of her loyal friends in town. They include a handsome attorney named Miguel and her cat named Creme Brulee. She moves to Charlotte in order to participate in the nationally televised race of food trucks. The contest is said to give a grand prize of 50 thousand dollars to the winner and therefore, it turns into a fierce murder scene. As a part of the contest, the participants are asked to undergo a number of challenges all over the Southeast. The competition moves ahead and before it could even start, the death of a food tracker is witnessed by the participants. When it begins once again, one more dead body is discovered before the start of the first challenge of the competition. This time, the dead food trucker is found to be coming from the hometown of Zoe Chase. After that, the count of dead bodies goes on increasing with each and every challenge of the contest. At point, the police begin to suspect the handsome attorney of Zoe, Miguel for having a role in the multiple deaths of the food truckers. Now, Zoe Chase is needed to race and find the real killer before her attorney Miguel needs to hire an attorney for himself.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.J. Cook

5 Responses to “J.J. Cook”

  1. L Chappell: 2 years ago

    re: Biscuit Bowl Mysteries– is there a fourth book?
    It is cruel to end a series like that!
    Am afraid to start reading any more series by this author(s).

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Unfortunately as of right now there are still only the 3 novels and the prequel novella

      • Deanna Miller: 1 year ago

        So sad to end the series with Creme Butler missing. Thoroughly enjoyed the books in this series but disappointed that they would end this way. Thumbs down to the authors.

  2. Kathy: 2 years ago

    Will there be more Sweetwater books? It’s been some time since I’ve enjoyed a series this much and wish you would write more.

  3. Pam: 3 years ago

    Will there be any more books in the Sweet Pepper Fire Brigade Mystery series. I just loved This series and would hate to see it end


Leave a Reply