Book Notification

J.M. Dalgliesh Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Yorkshire Books

Divided House (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blacklight (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dogs in the Street (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Money (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fear the Past (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sixth Precept (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hidden Norfolk Books

Publication Order of Misty Isle Books

A Long Time Dead (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Man of Storr (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Talisker Dead (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

J.M. Dalgliesh is an English author of crime mystery books famously known for Dark Yorkshire series. He was born in South Coast of England and spent his childhood in Hampshire, United Kingdom. Dalgliesh has worked with the retail sector, power transmission industry, in a bakery and at call centres but the greatest challenge of all being a stay at home father.

J.M Dalgliesh became a published author in 2018 when Divided House the first book in Dark Yorkshire was published. The series features Detective Investigator Nathaniel Caslin and are set in Yorkshire, England, and the plotline takes some of the United Kingdom’s beautiful and rugged landscapes from the North York Moors and the North Sea coastline. The main character, Caslin is a flawed but brilliant fighting his personal demons and also those he is pitted against. Readers who enjoy reading gritty thrillers will find Dark Yorkshire series worth reading.

Having spent most of his time abroad, Jason Dalgliesh has lived and worked in different parts of England as well as Scotland. He currently lives in East Riding with his family- wife and two children.

Divided House

A private reality, the public and at times the dead have plenty to hide. The first book in Dark Yorkshire series introduces us to detective investigator Nathaniel Caslin. His life is a mess, he works the minimum and abuses drugs by the day and drinks to survive his nights and what seemed to be a promising career is in free fall.

Caslin is tasked with investigating the death of an ex-serviceman who died in the police custody and his investigations uncover the disappearance of a young family. No one noticed, and no one seems to care, and in the midst of a bitter winter, a family home hesitantly offers up its dark secrets. Far in the moors, a murder scene of horror demands detective Caslin’s attention. In the search to unravel the truth, is anyone in the winter-stricken Yorkshire whom they claim to be?

Haunted by personal demons of the past, detective Caslin is stretched to his limits. Will this case break him or be the start to redemption?

The first book in Dark Yorkshire series has a strong storyline leading the readers to dark places, and it holds beautiful writing by the author. J.M. Dalgliesh has created characters that the readers can warm to and also root for and others who don’t. The way Dalgliesh has created the scenes is fantastic; the description is clear and vivid. The plot builds up nicely making you want to keep on perusing the pages, and this becomes stronger towards the last pages of the book. From the description of locations in Yorkshire, it’s evident that he’s put the work in researching about places in the book. If you enjoy reading Peter May Books, you’ll appreciate the Dark Yorkshire series.


In the second book in Dark Yorkshire series, two women go missing; one who has lost everything and the other has it all. Detective investigator Nathaniel Caslin is a man in conflicts with his demons, and his career is slowly reviving but his battle with addiction to both alcohol and drugs is still raging, and Nathaniel seems to be losing.

A deserted car and a desperate phone call to the cops, lead detective Caslin into two families where lies and secrets are the way of life. What connection does a recovering drug addict working in the sex trade and an MP granddaughter have with each other?

Personal scandals and past horrors tag with the present as more tension builds. Trusting those closest to him is put into question as detective Nathaniel pursues a deadly enemy. With the clock ticking, lives hang on the balance, and it’s upon detective Caslin to serve justice.

Blacklight is a chilling, dark and complex thriller from one of the best Crime Noir author of the 21st century.

The Dogs in the Street

in the third book in Dark Yorkshire series, we meet DI Caslin a sober and stable man for the first time in years and now can hope for a better future.
When the only connection between two random murders appears to be an old Catholic priest, DI Caslin is once again thrust into a world of dark secrets. Drawing for himself unwanted attention from the authorities, Caslin must find out whether the man he once trusted is now playing by his own rules. With mercenaries circling, Caslin must prepare to face the uncomfortable truth about the people seeking redemption. The Dogs in the Street is a fast-paced, dark, haunting and intense.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.M. Dalgliesh

13 Responses to “J.M. Dalgliesh”

  1. Deirdre Gant: 3 months ago

    Fabulous books totally hooked

  2. Dave Robins: 8 months ago

    Both series are of the highest quality.Beautifully written and full of superb characterisation and very difficult to put down!

  3. Catherine Rutherford: 1 year ago

    Bought the 4, 5, 6 of the Dark Yorkshire series together, for about £9.something So VERY disappointed 😠 thought it was slightly a bargain than buying separate BUT they are short stories 😡 feel like I’ve been ripped off. I buy so many books and do try to get bargains as not a rich person. So VERY disappointed as the other books were proper books 😢

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      Are you sure you bought the right thing? Books 4-6 are all full length novels, 270-300 pages each.

  4. Kate Nelson: 1 year ago

    Love the Dark Yorkshire series. Living in York all my life and living close to Fulford Road police station, means I can visualise the places visited by Nat Caslin. Need more.

  5. Olive Roy: 2 years ago

    I enjoy reading your books.

    in Quebec, Canada

    • Anne Morris: 7 months ago

      I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the whole series Will you return to this series again ? I do hope so🤞🤞

  6. Andrea Franklin: 3 years ago

    I really love your books and wondered if you will be realizing any Nathaniel Caslin books any time soon

  7. Philip Stebbings: 3 years ago

    Love the Norfolk based books. Having been a Norfolk Police Officer for 30 years, many years in CID I do find it enjoying to the numerous characters tilting their heads to one side annoying.

  8. Barbara Clifton: 3 years ago

    Love them… well into dark Yorkshire and desperate for more of both.
    Think I fancy Caslin!!

  9. John Bartlett: 3 years ago

    I like your books and have now read 3 of the Norfolk series, but why so many Americanisms? I guess, I figured, Highway instead of road – particularly in Norfolk! etc. etc. I began to think you were from the USA.

  10. Sonya Harper Moore: 5 years ago

    The Dark Yorkshire series by J M Dalgliesh has a total of 6 books now. This list needs to be updated.

    • Ann Fraiser: 7 months ago

      It is the first book I’ve read by this author & got a surprise as I was born & brought up in York ( now live in scotland). I worked for North Yorkshire police for 22 years & moved from Clifford Street to Fulford Road when the new police station was first opened. I also live in Hope Street for a couple of years. Know the surrounding areas as well so will carry on reading as I have just read first few chapters but enjoying up to now.


Leave a Reply