Book Notification

J.M. Griffin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Deadly Bakery Books

A Crusty Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crouton Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Focaccia Fatality (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jules & Bun Mystery Books

Left Fur Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who's Dead, Doc? (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hop 'Til You Drop (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Linty Dragon Books

Dragon's Touch (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Luna Devere Books

Faerie Cake Dead (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faerie Dust Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sarah McDougall Books

Murder on Spyglass Lane (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cadence Caper (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vinnie Espsoito Books

For Love of Livvy (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Trouble (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Wrong (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Moon Dead (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Season for Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Gone Awry (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deader Than Dead (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tangled to Death (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Billionaire's Double Take (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

J.M. Griffin is an American author of cozy mystery best known for her Vinnie Esposito mystery series. She was born and raised in Maine countryside, and as an author, she’s been inspired by Nancy Drew mysteries.

Besides Esposito mysteries, she has written a mystery series featuring pixies, faeries, tea, cupcakes, and murder. In 2012 JM published an eBook Murder on Spy Glass Lane featuring a psychic artist named Sarah McDougall. The author lives in New England with her husband John and their two crazy cats.

For Love of Livvy

For Love of Livvy is the first book in Vinnie Esposito series by J.M Griffin. The book introduces us to Vinny of Italian descent a teacher teaching criminal investigation in a college next to her home Rhode Island she inherited from her Aunt Livvy.

Her life takes a twisted turn when a package is dropped next to her doorstep; the package is dropped with no delivery man in sight. Her training instincts force her to invite her friend over to make sure that there is no something dangerous in the package and her friend in return calls the bomb squad to collect the package and open it in a secure location.

Vinny later discovers that the parcel contained some precious gemstones. But this only marks the beginning of her lifelong troubles. After finding her house vandalized, she also discovers some additional precious stones in the house. And her good friend working in the state patrol is becoming more concerned about her welfare and so is the man who she has rented a room upstairs.

Then Vinnie gets threatening phone calls with the person on the other end demanding for the return of the stones, but unfortunately, the gems are being held by the cops. The calls also become increasingly threatening and eventually these threats involved other family members as well.
J.M. Griffin series debut novel is a fascinating, fast-moving and hilarious. It’s a good reminder of the good old horror movies where the main character hears some strange noise coming from the apartment above and goes up to investigate rather than fleeing the scene despite the countless attempts made on her life. We all know that going up those stairs likely make the heroine dead.

In the first few chapters, the author goes to greater lengths to make sure that the readers get to understand that Lavinia Esposito is smart. As a teacher in criminal investigation methods, it’s expected for the reader to understand and handle any criminal tricks by herself. Her aunt perished under some strange circumstances, and so she inherited her aunt’s house in Rhode Island. Additionally, we also meet some characters who keep on telling Vinnie to forget about investigating her aunt’s death.

Then there is the hunk who wants to rent her apartment upstairs and she agrees despite having no background information about this man. To make it worse, she doesn’t conduct any background check to make sure that the man can pay the rent or what the man does for a living. This might sound like a stupid move by an educated woman, but it all adds to the suspense of the overall story.

A Crusty Murder

A Crusty Murder is the first book in Deadly Bakery series by J.M Griffin. We are introduced to Melina, a woman who operates The Hole in the Wall Bakery with her aged grandmother in Rhode Island.

When a not so liked landlord is found dead, Melina becomes the prime suspect. Her best friend is also a suspect as well. Melina is trying to keep her business running and still needs to watch over her 70-year-old granny who still views her teen, steer off the ambitions of a young detective who has feelings for her and her baked good but wouldn’t mind sending her behind bars for murder.

The other big thing going through Melina’s life is her affection to Aidan, a man who in the states for some business meeting which decided to take bread baking classes in her bakery. When a second body shows up, and once more Melina becomes the main suspect, and it seems that a person is trying to frame her. Will the detective believe in her innocence? What about other tenants? Could one of the tenants be responsible?

A Crusty Murder is a short style mystery story, a fascinating whodunit focusing on the aromas of the bakery. The story features some eccentric characters and a couple of suspects with solid motives. Additionally, there are some touches of romance blended in this murder mystery. The characterization is beautifully done right from the main character to the supporting character. Melina is the main character; she is an honest and sincere girl trying to stay afloat in such tough economic times. All she wants is to be the best granddaughter, a good businesswoman and a true friend to help clients. She would also like to get involved in some little romance, but doubts about romance plague her.

Dirty Trouble

In the second novel in the series, we meet the criminal justice instructor Vinnie having a very bad day. After escaping from a car accident with some severe injuries, she encounters a former enemy she suspects is trolling her. Additionally, she also finds out that her aging aunt has been arrested and is hanging around with some mobsters.

Suddenly she finds herself head-on with some dirty trouble and its a weird situation especially for someone who is constantly surrounded by law enforcement including the FBI agent Aaron Grant and State Trooper Marcus Richmond.

Now she is faced with sorting out her family reputation and her emotions even when a series of mysterious events is increasingly putting her life in danger. Is this a coincidence or something quite menacing?

In this fascinating story, J.M Griffin blends suspense, mystery, and romance for a savvy and smart style that’s all her own. The characterization from the main to supporting cast is well done and so is the world building.

Book Series In Order » Authors » J.M. Griffin

One Response to “J.M. Griffin”

  1. Jan: 2 years ago

    Love the Jules and Bun series! Will you be writing anymore after the third book?


Leave a Reply