J.P. Beaumont Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of J.P. Beaumont Books

Until Proven Guilty (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Injustice For All (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trial by Fury (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Taking the Fifth (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Improbable Cause (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A More Perfect Union (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dismissed with Prejudice (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Minor in Possession (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Payment In Kind (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Without Due Process (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Failure to Appear (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lying in Wait (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Name Withheld (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Breach Of Duty (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Birds of Prey (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Partner in Crime (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Long Time Gone (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Justice Denied (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fire and Ice (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Betrayal of Trust (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Second Watch (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ring In the Dead (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stand Down (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dance of the Bones (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Still Dead (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Proof of Life (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sins of the Fathers (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Largely known for her horror fiction, American author J.A. Jance is also well-regarded for her J.P. Beaumont series. Taking somewhat of a detour from her usual fare, she still manages to convey a sense of darkness in this mystery set of novels. Jance is known for ability to convey dark themes in an entertaining manner using her arresting style and these books are no exception to the rule in what are some highly intriguing stories featuring the eponymous homicide detective. Set within the city of Seattle, it manages to portray the city well for those who haven’t been their, with its clear visual sense throughout. The dark underbelly of this city is something which Beaumont is only to well aware of in his career as a homicide detective who’s already seen to much. This isn’t to say he isn’t human though, as he still retains a degree of sensitivity and is always willing to do the right things, despite the odds being stacked against him.

Running over a course of twenty-one novels and counting, this series is still going strong to this day with more to be released shortly, along with the Joanna Brady series also continuing. Coming in for the nineteenth novel, which is the fourteenth novel in her series, Jance has successfully combined the series in what is effectively a cross-over. With such a wealth of material still available to her, it’s easy to see why she’s carrying the franchise on and will continue to do so into the foreseeable future.

Until Proven Guilty

First published in 1985 on the 1st of June, this was to be the book that began the entire series as a whole, establishing much of the premise along with the characters that were to follow. Creating the overall tone for the series as well, it manages to build the personality of J.P. Beaumont as the central protagonist, who’s key to all the main proceedings of the books. The city itself is also set-up, building the style and the perspective that Seattle is to be viewed from, creating the tone for much of the underworld contained within.

As tough and resourceful as he is intelligent, J.P. Beaumont also has a sensitive side which sometimes gets the best of him as he always wants to do the right thing. A man of passion, he still manages to get to the bottom of the case being one of the best homicide detectives in Seattle to date, both skilled and respected by his peers. Having seen a lot on the force he has a world-weary attitude, but that doesn’t make the job any less difficult to do, as he’s just as driven to always see the task through to the end, no matter how big the challenge faced. Beaumont is not without testosterone though, as he is a strong and masculine character with the ability to fall in love with others, something which tends to get him into trouble. Coming from an old-school perspective he has a streetwise knowledge that helps him keep his head above water throughout the course of the series. This is something that he’s going to need on the mean streets of Seattle though, as the dark and seedy underbelly that Jance paints a picture of is definitely one to be reckoned with.

Dealing with a cult that’s reared its ugly head, Beaumont must face fanaticism of dangerous proportions that threatens the very safety of those he is sworn to protect. He must also deal with the tragic murder of a five year old girl, a girl young enough to be his own daughter, something which causes him to take a personal interest in the case. The trail then leads him towards those with a fanatical religious obsession, as they will stop at nothing to get what they want, allowing nobody to stand in their way. Will Beaumont be able to stop the killers before it’s too late and they strike again? Can he overcome his feelings of love for a beautiful woman, something which may stand in the way of him solving the case? What will become of those that are innocent until proven guilty?

Injustice For All

Following up the first novel, this is the sequel and the second book in the J.P. Beaumont series, originally being published in 1986, as it continues on directly from the first. With the central protagonist of Beaumont already firmly established it’s able to jump right into the action, getting involved in his next case straightaway. Setting up a new tone as it takes the narrative in a somewhat different direction to what came before, it aims to build upon the ambiance that has already been created.

What is meant to be a quiet vacation for J.P. Beaumont soon turns into a murder investigation, as a beautiful blonde woman is found screaming on the beach with a body at her feet. Combining politics along with passion, Beaumont must get to the bottom of the case if he’s ever to gain some rest, even if it means tracking down a killer who’s growing increasingly obsessive. Will he be able to find them in time before they kill again? Can he survive himself, let alone get some peace and quiet? What will become of the case and will it be injustice for all?

The J.P. Beaumont Series

Whilst this may be somewhat of a departure for a writer largely known for her horror fiction, the J.P. Beaumont series is still highly regarded thanks to its richly crafted central protagonist. Always able to get to the bottom of a case doing whatever it takes, readers admire his resourceful nature and strong-willed personality. He’s also known for his sensitive side as well though, something which shines through in the more hard-boiled world of crime fiction. Combining this series with her Joanna Brady series also shows how Jance is able to fully utilize the cross-appeal of the franchise as well. With its ability to carry over, she has managed to produce a series that has a large amount of enduring potential. This appears to be something that’s set to continue as she shows no signs of stopping the J.P. Beaumont series anytime soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » J.P. Beaumont

Leave a Reply