Book Notification

Jack Fredrickson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dek Elstrom Books

A Safe Place for Dying (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honestly Dearest, You're Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunting Sweetie Rose (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Caller from Chicago (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Confessors' Club (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Graves (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tagged for Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill Her Twice (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Milo Rigg Mystery Books

The Black Cage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Silence the Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Blue Religion(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crimes by Moonlight(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jack Fredrickson is an American author of fiction. His work has appeared in the Chicago Blues and the Burden of the Badge anthology. He resides with his wife Susan west of Chicago and is working on the next novel in the Dek Elstrom series.

The Dek Elstrom series started in 2006 with the release of the debut fictional novel in the series, titled A Safe Place for Dying. This book was received well by audiences and critics and the book ended up being nominated for the Shamus Award in the Best First Novel category.

His standalone novel came out in 2014 and was called Silence the Dead. This thriller will shake you up for sure if you read it! When a mayor in a small town in Illinois opens up a murder investigation that is over 30 years old, he will unwittingly dig up a series of horrible secrets. The case deals with the abduction and murder of Betty Jo where the 17-year-old was found shot in the head. No one was ever charged. Now the Mayor has called for it be reopened, and the skull is not Betty Jo’s. They must get to the bottom of the case and things are complicated, but they get even worse when people start dying.

A Safe Place for Dying is the first book in the Dek Elstrom series. Crystal Waters is a wealthy gated community located in Chicago. People with money live here and are used to having the crime and the grit outside of their doors. But when an extortion letter comes to Crystal Waters that gives no instructions other than demanding that fifty grand be gotten together, it’s a unique situation.

The only thing that’s strange is that the ransom letter is demanding fifty thousand. Isn’t that a little low for people who are so rich they live in a community where the homes are bought and sold for three million dollars or more? With no demands and no threats made and the only amount stated is under a hundred grand, it’s all too easy for the residents to see the letter as a random note from someone with mental health issues or trying to get a quick scare or thrill out of them.

That’s all well and good, but they change their tune when one of the mansions explodes. Now it really seems that the person behind the letter is behind it and the homeowners of the mansions all start to really panic about the situation. They start to figure out that a bomber or someone is targeting their gated community and will ruin everything, so they turn to a private investigator to help them out. Enter the P.I. Dek Elstrom!

Dek is a little too familiar with the lifestyles of the residents that live in Crystal Waters. Dek used to be someone that had a high income and lived with his multimillionaire wife in the gated community. However, that was before everything turned around and his wife basically threw him out. Then they got divorced.

Now he has to live in a crumbling stone house and he has lost pretty much everything except for his ability to make money. Hence why he is taking this case on. While he isn’t thrilled about the gig and doesn’t even think that he is the best choice to get the job done. However, Dek is too broke to afford to turn it down. He needs a client and a case, so when both land in his lap he is not in any position to turn them down; More than that, he sees the chance to possibly connect with his ex, something that he really wants to happen.

When another bomb is detonated, Dek thinks that the person who did it must have some motive for targeting the residents of Crystal Waters. He must be someone that is angry and also needs the money, hence the sending of the letter demanding money. But then Dek realizes that he could be someone that fits that profile too! Already Dek’s first suspect is himself. This isn’t off to a great start.

Dek must use all of his wit and resourcefulness to try and figure out who the guilty party is. This fun murder mystery novel is sure to keep you turning the pages as you watch Dek try to solve the case. Can he find out who did it? Pick up A Safe Place for Dying to find out!

Honestly Dearest, You’re Dead is the second book in the Dek Elstrom series. The Chicago detective is back for another mystery and another case. This time a lawyer calls him with a gig that should be quick and an easy way to get $700. As usual, Dek could use the money.

It seems that Dek was named by a client that passed away to execute her will. He didn’t know her well, and the estate is only valued at a couple of hundred dollars. Still, the lawyer assures him that this happens all the time.

Dek is too broke to turn down the prospect of the seven hundred dollars. He needs to eat, and he needs the heat on his cold stone home to be turned on because it’s February and he is freezing. The P.I. must take on this gig out of need and hopefully be good enough at solving it that he gets a bonus at the end too.

After he takes the gig, Dek heads out. He arrives at a hamlet that is located pretty much in the middle of nowhere. He thinks that he will find an estate, but instead, there is blood. With clues that could link to his past and a murderer out on the loose, Dek must do his best to confront the past and a killer as he strives to be victorious over both and keep anyone else from being killed too.

Want to find out what happens? Then check out Jack Frederickson’s exciting second murder mystery novel in the Dek Elstrom series and discover how the case ends!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jack Fredrickson

Leave a Reply