Book Notification

Jack J.A. Kerley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carson Ryder Books

The Hundredth Man (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death Collectors (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Garden Of Vipers / The Broken Souls (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Brother (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Blood (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Girls Lost (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried Alive (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Last Scream (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Game (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death Box (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memory Killer (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apostle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death File (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe Books

Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe III (By: Sonny Brewer) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anthology series. The author will have written at least one story in this series.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Caf III(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jack J.A. Kerley is a noteworthy American author, who likes to write thriller and mystery books. He is particularly famous for writing the Carson Ryder book series. Before the start of his writing career, author Kerley used to work in the advertising field. He has spent around 20 years in this former profession. Author Kerley prefers to write novels more than advertising because he has to deal with only one deadline in writing as compared to three in advertising. Almost all the novels written by him have been translated into as many as ten foreign languages and published in various countries of the world. As of today, Kerley resides in Newport, Kentucky, United States. He is married and lives with his lovely wife and 2 kids. Author Kerley began his career in the writing field with the release of the book THe Hundreth Man. This book marked the beginning of the Carson Ryder series. The series features Carson Ryder as the chief protagonist. He is seen playing the character of a detective in Mobile, Alabama. Carson Ryder works to solve various mysteries that take place around the city. Ryder is depicted as a young detective and very often, he is seen teaming up with a veteran partner named Harry Nautilius for tracking down the serial killers. Author Kerley has already contributed twelve books in the series and is currently working towards the development of the next installment. Kerley has stated that he likes to research about dysfunctional minds and serial killers instead of eyewear, meat products, and other things, which he used to do in his former profession. When he was studying in high school, the Manson Family was on a rampage.

Kerley was astonished to know how several runaway kids pledged their lives and souls to a 5 ft tall madman, who had the habit of bathing erratically. This led to author Kerley’s fascination with sociopaths, psychopaths, psychotics, and other dangerous and grim folks. Apart from such characters, author Kerley seems to like people who are not harmful, but look just plain odd. Kerley’s house is located near the Ohio River in Newport, where the South and Midwest meet. He has spent a an ample amount of time in the coastal regions of Alabama, which is the inspiration behind the specific settings of his books. Kerley also has a cabin in his name in the eastern mountains of Kentucky. He finds the place quite suitable for writing because of its beautiful surroundings. Kerley has even used the place as a setting in his book called Buried Alive. Author Kerley considers himself lucky to have found a supportive and loving wife in Elaine. It is because of her that he has been able to achieve great heights in his career. Elaine ordered Kerley to quit the advertising field and focus on his writing work. In his children, John and Amanda, Kerley sees two better looking and smart kids. The first three Carson Ryder books were released in the US, but they did not sell many prints there. Therefore, the publishers decided to stop printing them anymore. The major markets where author Kerley’s books sell in huge quantities are Australia and UK. Kerley is grateful to have his books translated in 20 countries. All in all, Kerley is sincerely thankful to all those readers who read & recommend his books, and also to the librarians and bookstore personnel who put his books in the hands of people.

The 12 books of the Carson Ryder series written by Jack J.A. Kerley were released between the years 2004 and 2014. All the books of this series feature Harry Nautilius and Carson Ryder in the lead roles. An initial book of this series is entitled ‘The Death Collectors’. It was released by the Signet publication in the year 2006. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the renowned serial killer and artist Marsden Hexcamp gets killed by a gunshot in the courtroom on the day of his death sentence in 1972. The killer who fired the shot is a mysterious woman wearing a veil. Following his killing, the members of Marsden’s Mansonesue followers’ band either disappear or get imprisoned. A few decades later, a prostitute under suspicion is discovered murdered in a motel room with candlelight arrangement. This appears to be the first instance of the serial horrors that suggest the art of Marsden remains treacherous and alive. The homicide detectives, Ryder and Nautilius, follow the trails of profoundly disturbing and beautiful artwork and descend into the intriguing world of Death Collectors. These are people who spend a huge amount of money to collect the memorabilia of serial killers. The readers find themselves intrigued until the very last page of the book.

Another suspenseful thriller published in the series is called ‘Little Girls Lost’. This book was released in 2010 by the HarperTorch publishers. Author Kerley has set this novel’s plot in Mobile, Alabama. At the beginning of the story, it is depicted that small children are vanishing one after the other in the town of Mobile in Alabama. The latest kid to disappear was taken from her bed. However the police is not able to find any clues about the disappearances. Not even the bodies of the children are found. Carson Ryder ordered to take the case in his hand and investigate the latest kidnapping of LaShelle Shearing. As soon as he begins the investigation, Carson discovers that the case has gotten entangled in murky civic and departmental politics. Carson begins to feel isolated because his partner Harry Nautilius has been attacked viciously and is fighting for life. On the other hand, the rage of the public is increasing to dangerous levels. Ryder comes to know that his bosses have decided to take help from the former detective Conner Sandhill, who is considered legendary because of his uncanny ability to find details and connections that others generally miss. Sandhill and Ryder enter into an uneasy alliance to hunt for the kidnapper and find the missing kids. Soon, the hunt becomes very urgent due to some tragically personal reasons. It appears that the root of the disappearances lies is truly evil, whose source lies very close to home. Neither of Carson Ryder and Conner Sandhill realize this and seem to be heading towards a deadly ending. However, both the detectives are quite experienced to handle situations like this one. Sandhill’s expert advice and Ryder’s young blood prove sufficient enough to bring the kidnapper to his knees and plead guilty before the judicial system of Alabama. However, both of them need to take each step carefully or else they could incur a huge loss, both professionally and personally.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jack J.A. Kerley

Leave a Reply