Book Notification

Jack Lark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Lark Books

The Scarlet Thief (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Maharajah's General (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Assassin (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Warrior (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Legionnaire / The Forgotten Son (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The True Soldier (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rebel Killer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Outlaw (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fugitive (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Commander (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diamond Hunter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jack Lark Short Stories/Novellas

The Jack Lark book series is a wonderful series of historical fiction, military fiction, war, and adventure stories. It is written by a reputed British writer named Paul Fraser Collard. The series consists of 3 novellas and 9 novels published between 2013 and 2020. Paul has set the books in the middle of the 19th century. Every book in this historical fiction series features the adventures of a brutally courageous, ambitious, and roguish imposter from the Victorian era named Lieutenant Arthur Fenris aka Jack Lark. Some of the essential characters mentioned by Paul in the books of this series include Captain Danbury, Jack Lark, John Ballard, Aamira, etc. The stories take place in different cities such as Boston, London, Bombay, and Deep South.

Each novel written by Paul in this series has succeeded in reaching out to a large number of readers worldwide. They have achieved immense success in most of the places of their publication, thereby bringing more success and fame to Paul F. Collard’s career. An excellent book written by author Paul F. Collard in the Jack Lark novel series is entitled ‘The Devil’s Assassin’. It was released by Headline in 2015. This novel is set in Bombay in 1856. Initially, it is depicted that Lieutenant Arthur Fenris alias Jack Lark appears from where he had left in the previous volume and seems directionless, lost, and unable to move on. Soon after, he takes up with a junior officer, whom he despises, but seeks companionship as both of them are fellow directionless souls. Later, Intelligence Officer, Major Ballard discovers Jack. He persuades him into becoming an undercover officer working as a spy for the British Navy.

Major Ballard informs Jack Lark that they are looking to find the traitor within them, who has been giving away military secrets to the Shah of Persia. Later, the situation becomes tense when it is learned that the Persian ruler is moving his army to capture Herat City from the Britishers. While preparations for the War take place, Jack Lark attempts to find the traitor. This book is filled with excellent battle scenes. There is a lot of suspense depicted throughout the fighting sequences. Paul has well-researched and well-written the story. His descriptions of the countryside of India seem quite real.

Another excellent installment of this series is called ‘The Lone Warrior’. It was also released by Headline in 2015. This book’s story also takes place in 1857 in Bombay. It is shown that Jack Lark is honorably discharged from duty at a time when discontent is growing in India. Jack intends to board the first ship that sets sail to England and join his loved ones. But before leaving, he decides to undergo the adventure of assisting a young lady in escaping imprisonment from a gaming house. The woman is Aamira and Jack Lark promises her to escort safety to her home in Delhi. But, as soon as they reach Delhi, there is an explosion of the Indian Mutiny.

As the horrific slaughter begins from both sides and Delhi’s siege takes place, Jack decides that he cannot just stand idle and watch people getting killed. He does not care about the danger as he is a soldier at heart. There are plenty of action sequences depicted in this novel. One scene that stands out, in particular, is the one in which a huge explosion takes place leading the final battle in which Jack insists on leading the assault on the city. Jack Lark’s character appears to be a ruthless and merciless man when the need arises and yet, he carries the soul of a good man. There are certain scenes that have a huge impact on his soul that continue to haunt him in the later years of his life.

Paul F. Collard has described the Mutiny in the three-fourth part of the story and has shown it as merciless to the innocent victims on both sides. Paul seems to have not twisted words in showing the hanging of Indian people without trial by the British troops and the killing of Britishers by the Mutineers. An area of interest of this book is the presence of 2 officers who were known to be historic personalities and their characters taken from conflicting literature written about them. This book also earned the love and support of readers across the world. It received excellent reviews from many noted critics and became widely popular. The success of this book motivated Paul to move on to write more novels based on the life and adventures of Jack Lark.

Paul F. Collard is a noteworthy English novelist, who is famous for his military fiction and historical fiction novels. His stories are set in the Victorian period and feature Jack Lark in the main role. Paul has described Jack as an adventurous and a courageous soldier serving in the British Army. While growing up, Paul went through numerous Commando stories and also watched a lot of war movies. He used to enact the stories while playing outdoors with his friends and portray the roles of soldiers. After growing older, Paul became attracted to the books by Bernard Cornwell. He says that he is a big fan of Cornwell’s books even today. Paul did not intend to become a writer or develop war & military stories.

When he was studying in school, he enrolled himself for a military scholarship. Eventually, he became an officer in the British army. When Paul met his future life partner, he had a change of mind and decided to settle down instead of continuing with his military job. Subsequently, he moved to London and began looking for a suitable job. To his luck, he found one such job and remained stuck to it for over 15 years. It was not before he turned 30 that Paul thought of writing a story. His long train commutes to and from London provided him ample amount of time to work on a story and develop it. Initially, the commutes were used by him to hone his writing skills, and later, he began writing stories that came to his mind. A few years later, Paul began writing on a daily basis and even published some of his books to moderate success. It was the Jack Lark novels that gave him his much-required success and popularity as an author. Today, Paul lives with his lovely wife and three kids in Kent. He keeps himself busy with his writing job and likes to spend his free time in the company of his dear ones.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jack Lark

Leave a Reply