Book Notification

Jack Taggart Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Jack Taggart Mystery Books

Loose Ends (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Above Ground (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel in the Full Moon (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Samurai Code (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Ends (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Birds of a Feather (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corporate Asset (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Benefactor (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art and Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Delicate Matter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Subverting Justice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Element of Risk (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grey Zone (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jack Taggart Mystery is a series of novels written by Don Easton. The series features Jack Taggart working as an undercover member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police based in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada.

The author Don Easton served as a secret police for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police for two decades. Working as an undercover made him experience the world of deception, lies, betrayal and even extreme violence including making contracts /deals on his life.

During his career as an undercover agent, he discovered that people could not always be categorized as black or white. Since there are people who are presumed dangerous but often have good qualities while there are those presumed good but with evil sides and sometimes his cover would be exposed by the people he trusted most.

Easton experiences as undercover mainly exposed him to the soft side of morality to that of justice. Hard choices would sometimes have to be made, and he worked hand in hand with informants who had committed terrible crimes such as murder and yet providing information about people worse than themselves. The lines of right or wrong sometimes became blurred, and most are the times he became the target of the both sides of the law.

Don Easton novels are a reflection of the two-decade career as an undercover, and Jack Taggart is a replica of the author, and both share a similarity in that they existed in a “virtual world.” Jack Taggart Mystery presents novels written from experiences and the where the line of fact and fiction cross in his beautiful writing is only known to him.

The publication of Jack Taggart Mystery series began in 2005 with the release of Loose Ends the first novel in the series, the second book Above Ground was published a year later. The series consists of 9 books, with The Benefactor & Art Murder being the latest published titles of the series.

Loose Ends

The first installment of Jack Taggart Mystery series introduces Jack Taggart an undercover Mountie living in a world where the good and bad guys shift places in just a matter of a heartbeat. Jack is exceptionally good at whatever he does. With the murders of his nephew and niece, he vowed to bring the person responsible to his justice way. His new partner, Danny O’Reilly new to the streets soon discovered that Jack would risk almost everything including his life to hunt down the killer. Digging up every lead and turning every stone, the lines of legality sometimes became blurred making Danny sometimes hesitant but in the end side by side with Jack. Loose End is a tale of corruption, violence, and retribution but also a story respect and honor.

Spectacular, stellar and Jaw dropping intensity are the words that describe Loose Ends. The novel is well written with a vivid description of every detail; the action is well paced to the full throttle. Powerful gritty and realistic writing maintains the interest of the readers to get every detail until the very last page.

The characterization done by the author is just amazing. For instance, Jack Taggart is somehow a rogue undercover agent who is angered by the law system for letting the guilty one roam freely. His superiors thus hand him over a new partner Danny O’Reilly to keep an eye on Jack and report any “weird” behaviors.

However, before he can play the minion role, Danny soon finds himself already wrapped up in jack’s latest mission-tracking down the biker’s who murdered his nephew and niece. Would Danny be able to help Jack find the killer or will he let himself be used as a puppet by the superior?

Above Ground

In the second installment of the award winning Jack Taggart Mysteries, the RCMP Jack has avenged the killing of his nephew and niece. However, the consequences of this revenge still follow him. The deal made with the head of the “Satans Wrath” motorcycle gang has put in a binding position as well as compromised an informant serving in the gang.

In the meanwhile, some other gang members under the leadership of a figure known as “the boss” have plans at hand to exterminate Taggart by destroying the lives of anyone related or close to him.

Moreover, as if the bad guys are not enough problems for Jack Taggart, there are problems within the force where he works. Isaac, the assistant commissioner, is becoming suspicious that Jack may have been involved in the killing of a corrupt prosecutor.

Will Jack survive this time round with his life and his career hanging on the balance? Above the ground is a rough and tough follow-up that will quench the thirst of the readers pulled to the underworld dark streets of Vancouver by Loose Ends.

Angel in Full Moon

In the sequel to Above Ground, Jack Taggart undercover quest takes him from the sunny beaches of Cuba to the ghetto streets of Hanoi. In this novel, his target deals human flesh and also smuggling unsuspecting victims for the sex trade. His partner sometimes questions Jack Taggart secret war for justice until later when he reveals the secret that motivates him and thus exposing the essence of his very soul.

The world of an undercover operative is a world of lies, deception, and treachery; the world where violence starts without warning just like a ticking bomb on a crowded train. It is not a matter of whether the bomb will go off, it is only a question of how close you are to it when it blows off.

In Angel, in the Full Moon, the author exposes the violent, ruthless and the nauseating underbelly of child prostitution, as well as human trafficking. The lead character, Jack uses methods that will shock you as he pursues the leaders of a criminal organization that exploits the desperate, unwitting illegal immigrants.

Jack’s burning hatred for his targets reveals a dark motivation which serves as his driving power beyond the rule of law but somehow defines his personal interpretation of justice.

The third installment has a moral teaching; it is also a reflection of the evil side of the society we live- in other words, its realism is a truism. It is an account of personal experiences from a man who lived in the dark world of undercover, a world that very few cops know let alone an average citizen.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jack Taggart Mystery

Leave a Reply