Book Notification

Jacqueline Davies Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Lemonade War Books

The Lemonade War (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lemonade Crime (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bell Bandit (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Candy Smash (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magic Trap (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bridge Battle (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sydney and Taylor Books

Sydney and Taylor Explore the Whole Wide World (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sydney and Taylor Take a Flying Leap (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sydney and Taylor and the Great Friend Expedition (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where the Ground Meets the Sky (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing but Trouble (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The International House of Dereliction (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Night Is Singing (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House Takes A Vacation (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tricking the Tallyman (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Panda Pants (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bubbles . . . Up! (With: Sonia Sanchez Martinez) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Boy Who Drew Birds (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jacqueline Davies
Jacqueline Davies was born July 25, 1962 in Cleveland, Ohio to Dr. I. John Davies and Ann R. Davis. She has a younger brother, named Tim, and two older sisters, Leslie and Kim. She lived in five states (Ohio, Oregon, Massachusetts, and California) by the time she turned eleven. Moving around this often made her quite the student of human nature, because you must pay close attention when you are always the new kid.

She graduated from Wellesley High School in the year 1980, and attended Brown University, graduating with a Bachelors of Arts degree in Creative Writing in the year 1984. During her time at Brown, she studied with Meredith Steinbach (a novelist), Michael Harper (a poet), and John Hawkes (a novelist).

Jacqueline, after finishing college, lived in France and Greece for two years. When she returned to the Boston area to live, she started a successful career writing corporate marketing pieces on a freelance basis. In the year 1992, she wrote her first kid’s book, a picture book that was about a discontented blowfish, which has remained unsold to this day.3

She has always loved writing poems and stories. She wrote her first book while just in kindergarten. It was titled “The Sad Shape” and was about a circle that wanted legs. This is a book that she has held onto all these years later. She brings it with her on school visits in order to show that all writers have humble beginnings.

Jacqueline has three kids, her husband, and a dog, each of which are terrific. She lives in a tiny town located about twelve miles outside of Boston.

When she isn’t busy with her writing and her kids, she enjoys movies, gardening, reading, swimming, watching the Patriots and the Celtics, knitting, and running. Sometimes, however, she just sits on the front steps and watch all the people going by.

“The Lemonade War” won a 2007 New York Public 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, a Nutmeg Award (Connecticut), a 2009 Rhode Island Children’s Book Award, and a North Carolina Children’s Book Award in 2011. Jacqueline has also won The Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award, the NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People, and the CCBC Choices Award.

Jacqueline’s debut novel, called “Where the Ground Meets the Sky”, was released in the year 2002. Her work is for kids and young adults.

“The Lemonade War” is the first novel in the “Lemonade War” series and was released in the year 2007. For an entire hour, he poured lemonade. The world is a thirsty place, he believed while he almost emptied his fourth pitcher for the day. And he is the Lemonade King, he thought.

Evan Treski, a fourth grader, is people smart. He is good at talking with other people, even grownups. Jessie, his younger sister, is math smart, just not all that good with people. When the siblings’ lemonade stand war starts, there isn’t any telling who is going to win, or even if this fight of theirs is going to ever end.

Brimming with savvy marketing tips for making money at any business, definitions of business terms, diagrams, and even some math problems, this novel explores just how arguments can escalate well beyond anybody’s intent.

“Lemonade Crime” is the second novel in the “Lemonade War” series and was released in the year 2011. Following the laws of the legal system, Jessie and Evan’s fourth grade class comes up with a courtroom on the playground. They put Scott Spencer, an alleged thief, on trial. They put together a legitimate courtroom, with witnesses, a judge, and a jury of their peers. It comes with some surprising consequences.

“The Bell Bandit” is the third novel in the “Lemonade War” series and was released in the year 2012. Everything about this trip to Grandma’s was different.

First because of that fire, Evan, Jessie, and Mrs. Treski drove up to Grandma’s two days after Christmas instead of the day before, missing out on Christmas with Grandma entirely. Second, the fire left a big hole in the kitchen wall large enough to drive your car through. With Grandma in the hospital and not at home, it all felt off. Thirdly, somebody climbed the slow, long slope of Lovell Hill all the way to the top and stole the old iron bell that hung on its heavy wooden cross beam.

Who on earth would steal the New Year’s Bell? How could Evan, Jessie, Grandma, Mrs. Treski, and their neighbors all ring in New Year’s without it?

“The Candy Smash” is the fourth novel in the “Lemonade War” series and was released in the year 2013. With the help of Class 4-0, Evan and Jessie have sought justice in a class trial, waged a lemonade war, and they have even unmasked a bell thief.

In this, Valentine’s Day and a lesson on the distinctive power of poetry crash into each other when somebody leaves mysterious candy hearts for the entire class. Not to worry, Jessie the self-appointed ace reporter, is determined to get the full scoop on class crushes. No matter what the consequences are.

“Nothing But Trouble” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. Odawahaka has always been too small for the big scientific ideas of Maggie. Between her grumpy grandpop, stuck-in-a-rut mother, and the lifetime supply of sludgy sodas in the fridge, it is hard for Maggie to imagine any sort of change.

However, when Lena moves in with her outrageous perspective and creative spirit, middle school starts to take off with a bang. Somebody begins pulling off the sort of pranks that send their rule-loving new principal right into an uproar. Complete with parachuting mice, purple puffs of smoke, and a scavenger hunt that leads to secret passageways. All of a sudden, the same-old election for class president, football games, and embarrassing stories come close to feeling exciting. Maggie, for the very first time in her life, starts to wonder if there could be more to Odawahaka than she ever thought possible.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jacqueline Davies

Leave a Reply