Book Notification

Jacqueline West Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Books of Elsewhere Books

Publication Order of The Collectors Books

The Collectors (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Storm of Wishes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Story Pirates Present Books

Stuck in the Stone Age (By: Geoff Rodkey) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Digging Up Danger (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quest for the Crystal Crown (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Pickpockets and Prophecies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wingate Beach (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tarzanah (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Candle and Pins (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Thou Shalt Not...(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sybil's Garage No. 7(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
School Dazed(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jacqueline West
Jacqueline West is a fiction writer best known for her Books of Elsewhere series. The talented author holds a BM in Voice Performance from the University of Wisconsin. West grew up in Western Wisconsin, where she enjoyed the Twin Cities sight. She agrees that Shakespeare has been an inspiration in her writing primarily in the writing of Dreamers Often Lie book. So far, West has twelve books to her name, and there is a new series in the works.

The Shadows
The Shadows is the first book in the Books of Elsewhere series. The book stars Olive Dunwoody, an eleven-year-old with an odd pair of parents. Olive’s parents are mathematicians, and while this young girl’s math grades are nothing but average, she is brilliant in so many other ways. After years of moving from one school to another because of her parents’ careers, but it seems like the Dunwoody’s are about to set base in an old little town. A crumbling Victorian mansion is vacant after its owner, Ms. McMartin, died in it. Olive’s parents decide to buy the house when they hear about its attractive pricing, and while they think of it as nothing but a huge bargain, Olive finds the house a little odd.

Things turn strange when Olive discovers some old spectacles with magic powers when going through Ms. McMartin’s items. When Olive puts the glasses on, she is able to see through old portraits, and the paintings lining her new home come to life. It is through the spectacles that Olive meets Morton, an undersized boy with a temper bigger than his size. Morton is part of a painting, and while Olive initially dismisses him as just a figure, she soon discovers he is more that she thinks. Olive and Morton form an unusual alliance and embark on an adventure together. The duo will be joined by Horatio, Harvey, and Leopold, three talking cats who know more about the house than everyone else.

It is not all fun for these two. Elsewhere harbors many dark secrets, and soon enough, their adventure will turn more dangerous than they anticipated. Olive will, at a point, be forced to yank Morton from the painting where he is found initially and place him in a less threatening one. Her adventures will also lead her to another picture where she will meet a woman who reveals details about an evil man who put them in different paintings. How will Olive save her house from the dark shadows threatening to put off the lights for good? How does she escape from forces that want to include her in a spooky painting?
The Shadows is a fast-paced story with fun characters, an intriguing storyline, and many unexpected twists and turns. There is a lot of humor here, and the author’s descriptive writing will hold your attention from the first page to the last one. When things get thick, Olivia realizes her mistake, and she is quick to take charge and work to change the situation. You will have to wait until the end to find out if the cats are working to help or hinder Olive’s search for the truth. While a lot is going on in this story, the storyline is simple enough making this an excellent read for the young ones.

Dreamers Often Lie
Dreamers Often Lie tells the story of Jaye and her bizarre dreams. Jaye survives a skiing accident, but she doesn’t escape unhurt. Thanks to the fall, Jaye’s skull is fractured, and with this come a blinding headache and hallucinations that are nothing close to reality. Despite all these hardships, Jaye is determined to perform her role in A Midsummer Night’s Dream role, and to be able to do so; she has to lie to her mom, sister, and the doctors. Jaye says she is fine and doesn’t tell anyone about the Shakespeare hallucinations she is having at home and in school. She almost gets away with the lie, but Romeo shows upright in the middle of her anatomy class.

Jaye is immediately drawn to the new boy, Rob. Her long-lost friend Pierce is troubled by Rob’s presence, and he steps up to protect Jaye. As all this happens, her strange dreams continue, and Jaye has a hard time telling them from reality. Pierce’s intervention marks the beginning of a love triangle that will leave the hottest guys in school competing for Jaye’s attention. Which one of the two boys holds her heart? Away from the romance is Jaye’s family drama, which makes this read pretty much like Romeo and Juliet. Jaye’s family story comes loaded with mystery, and it is fun uncovering them one by one. The issue of family conflict is well highlighted, and it is interesting how the family members handle the differences.

Jaye is likable, and it is funny how the characters in her hallucinations turn up at the most unexpected time. Through Jaye’s dreams, you will get to meet Hamlet and Ophelia, among other interesting characters. Ophelia will appear wet, with dirt and leaves in her hair, while Hamlet’s skull and icy blue eyes will hold your attention right before he disappears into thin air. Rob and Pierce are also quite a joy, and it is fun following them and seeing the little and hilarious things they do to catch and hold Jaye’s attention. What will it take for Jaye to recover and stop seeing things? Do the two boys chasing her even know about the hallucinations?

Dream Often Lie is a fast-paced story with an engaging narrative, intriguing characters, and a consistent pace. The author’s writing is exquisite and sets this book in a dreamy mood from the first page. Through this book, you will meet some of Shakespeare’s characters as it reads like a modern retelling of the story of Romeo and Juliet. If you like contemporary stories with some element of fantasy, this is a perfect choice for you. The book is designed for young adults, but it will appeal to anyone who is young at heart and enjoys an intriguing walk down memory lane.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jacqueline West

Leave a Reply