Book Notification

Jaine Austen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jaine Austen Books

This Pen for Hire (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Writes (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Blonde (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shoes to Die For (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The PMS Murder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Pantyhose (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Bridezilla (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer Cruise (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Trophy Wife (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dangers of Gingerbread Cookies (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pampered to Death (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Neighborhood Witch (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Cupid (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Tiara (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Has Nine Lives (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Bachelorette (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Neighborhood Scrooge (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Gigolo (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Gets a Makeover (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Smoothie (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmare on Elf Street (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dangers of Candy Canes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Buys a One-Way Ticket (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jaine Austen is a hip, jack-of-all-trades writer who spends her days penning steamy personal ads. And there’s no one who requires her expertise more than a geeky fellow called Howard Murdoch. So Jaine manages to use her writing skills to set up the man on a date. Everything goes according to plan, until Howard discovered that his new found flame has been murdered. He is then arrested but Jaine is quite sure that he didn’t murder the woman but the police are convinced that he is guilty. Jaine therefore decides to conduct her own investigations to find out the real killer.

“This Pen for Hire” is the name of the first installment in this series, and the good thing about this story is that is has a very good plot. The direction of the story keeps twisting and turning, which will keep the reader engaged with the book. However, this is not your typical cozy mystery because you will find sex being mentioned a lot, but the readers will love the book. The author has done a good job of coming up with the mystery plot, and this means that many suspects will keep popping up as the story unfolds. This is great because it keeps the reader in suspense until the conclusion when the real killer is unmasked.

Stacy is the name of the woman who has just been killed, and even though she’s beautiful, there are many people who would want to see her dead. There’s Elaine who wanted the corner apartment that Stacy had just moved into, and the building superintendent seemed besotted with her. A married producer who’s also volatile and the girlfriend that Stacy stole from under his nose are other suspects. The story takes a romantic twist when a handsome neighbor called Cameron Bannick starts to generate some interest with Jaine.

The author has also done a tremendous job in investigating the woman’s death. You can almost imagine an investigator going about his business with meticulous precision and finally finding the killer after careful investigative work. The development of the characters was good, except maybe Detective Rea, who as a bit underdeveloped. There is also a possible romance in the air to spice up the story. The list of characters is widely cast, which goes a long way in making the story more interesting. We have residents at a retirement home where Jaine goes to teach memoir and potential suspects that are being investigated.

Perhaps the best thing about This Pen for Hire is the fact that its main character is very life-like. You can actually imagine Jaine sitting in her office penning out love letters for people who are desperate for love. She seems like that next door neighbor who is always making you laugh with her funny jokes. When I read the book, I found is so hilarious that I laughed so much that I ended up with tears. If this is what the author can produce as a first novel, you can imagine what she will deliver with the next book.

Last Writes is another book in the Jaine Austen mystery series, and it will prove to be a hit with people who love sitcoms. While she was writing for a sitcom called “Muffy n Me”, part-time sleuth Jaine Austen gets involved in yet another in mystery after the show’s leading man, a womanizer called Quinn Kirkland is found murdered. Jane then is faces many suspects, which includes an envious co-star, multiple ex-lovers, and even her best friend Kandi.

Once again the author has a done a good job in coming up with the mystery plot. The reader will enjoy the plot, but maybe the author could have presented the whole story in a different manner. For instance, Jaine appears not to know what she is going to say because she keeps changing her mind concerning what she says in the end. In addition, she also has weight issues, and yet she keeps feasting on junk food even when she knows that it’s not good for her. Maybe the author could try to make Jaine a more responsible character that shows genuine concern for her health, which would send a good message to today’s obese generation.

There is also Jaine’s relationship with her parents, which was a subplot that might seem unnecessary and unbelievable to some readers. At the conclusion of the whole story, the reader gains something from this subplot but then the author waters it down in her epilogue. The author also tries to plug her first book bang in the midst of this story, even mentioning that the book is available in bookstores everywhere. This is not necessary because if one does a good job of writing a second book, readers will naturally look for the author’s first book.

Another odd thing in the plot is the fact that Jaine is desperately in need of money but yet she affords to buy expensive treats for her cat. In spite of all these minor issues, the book is actually quite enjoyable to read. The plot is good and the characters have been well developed, especially Wells and Quinn. There are many suspects because many people have the motive for killing the star of the sitcom. The author also introduces a twist in the tale that the reader will not see coming.

The reader will find Jaine to be a likeable character, and perhaps the best moment of the book is the funny emails that her parents send her. She also has a hysterical cat called Prozac, who is big and takes charge. Without giving much away, the conclusion of the story is a bit sad, but the reader will feel that justice has been served. Last Writes is an easy to read book that will keep you turning the pages. This is a fast paced mystery with fun characters and lots of laughs. The humor in the story is what makes it different from other cozy mysteries and it helps to give a feel good factor to the story. If you enjoy reading the first two books in the Jaine Austen mystery series, you can look forward to other books from the same author.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jaine Austen

Leave a Reply