Book Notification

James Asher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of James Asher Books

Those Who Hunt the Night (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traveling with the Dead (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Maidens (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magistrates of Hell (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kindred of Darkness (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkness on his Bones (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pale Guardian (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prisoner of Midnight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The fact that Barbara Hambly handles this fantasy genre so well is what has made her one of the best writers of her time and really cut a niche for herself in the industry. In this series, Barbara brings us to the world of vampires and even though you are a beginner with her work, you won’t actually put the book down from the moment that it is in your hands up to the last minute that you flip open and close the last page. The books are excellent and are handled quite efficiently and Barbara’s effectiveness to create this world of paranormal beings is just on a level of her own.

The first book in this series is called Those Who Hunt The Night and it reveals to us of a world of vampires that have been living in Lndon and the is from the time of Queen Elizbeth I. Their world now, though is in the brink of extinction as someone has been killing them by actually opening their coffins and exposing them to the light of day that burns the to ashes, literally. Because the va,Peres cannot actually withstand the light of day so that they can face their eventual and murderous foe, they employ the services of a human being to aid them in the quest to stop this killer of vampires. Hence the recruitment of Professor James Asher who was a one time spy.

He comes home to find that his wife is in a really weird coma and who else is in the house but Simon Ysidro who is the oldest among the living vampires in London waiting for him. James is forced to find the killer as a result of some spell which has been placed upon his wife by Ysidro and no matter where she goes, he can easily trace and terminate her. So, basically Asher has no choice but to help. A lot of questions arise as a result of this as to whether Asher is capable of this and what happens to any human who learns of the whereabouts of the London vampires and what Willie do once he knows who the killer is? But the remaining fact is that whether Asher succeeds in his mission or fails, there is only ne ultimatum and that is that he has to die. So, does he find the killer? Does he actually survive? What about the vampires, does their existence continue? All these questions are well answered in the book and this is what makes this series one of the best that you will lay your hands on.

If the first book was smelling to go by in terms of how interesting and mind nerving a book can be, then the second will totally take you to a whole new level. The series is composed of 6 novels that are fast paced and always keep you on the edge of your seat and keep you guessing at all times. There isn’t a novel that is quite as good as a novel that keeps you guessing on what is going to happen next. The second book is titled Travelling With The Dead and James Asher is found to be alive again despite his impending doom in the first novel.

For sport as well as their sustenance, vampires have always through the countless centuries of their existence indulged in drinking human blood. Due to their powers, they preyed on who and where they willed without facing any much opposition from the human race. What makes this novel even more entertaining is the fact that here is someone who is recruiting the vampires into a foreign power that is unbeknownst to the world. Dr. James Asher knew that the idea of recruiting vampires was an absurd idea as there is no mortal human being no matter how powerful he is can actually control vampires who in this case are even referred to as the Undead.

Asher, in his years serving as a spy for His Majesty had taught him a lot as far as this trade was concerned. The fact that he also knew secrets about the vampires which was a familiarity that had been won albeit with a fight from the oldest vampire in London by the name Ysidro. Ysidro had agreed to travel across Europe at the behest of one of the spymasters and Asher actually didn’t know why a vampire would risk so much for this, especially a vampire that was as old as Ysidro was. His instincts told him that there was a potentially terrifying factor to this alliance and it was not gong to end well. To know more about what happens and who this spy master is and what business Ysidro has across Europe and what is Asher’s role in all this to try and stop whatever bad thing that might be in the offing, all you have to do is get your book and actually read the whole thing. You wnt regret opening the book and you will love the suspense and the mystery as well as the fantasy that goes into making this book a masterpiece in its own right.

Barbara Hambly really outdid herself with this second novel in the James Asher series and proves to show that fantasy fiction novels especialy on the paranormal sub genre are a good read with right author penning it. Barbara is a master in this craft and you have to give it up to her from the characterization to the plot and eventual continuity of the of the series in such a way that they are easy to understand and also entertain. The series is the sort that once you get started on, you wouldn’t want to put down because of the many elements that went into making this series what it is and that is a masterpiece with each of the six books in the series. Not many writers can pull off what Barbara did with this series and you have to give a really huge thumbs up to her.

Book Series In Order » Characters » James Asher

Leave a Reply