Book Notification

James Brogden Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tourmaline Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Narrows (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hekla's Children (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hollow Tree (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plague Stones (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bone Harvest (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Warhammer Horror Week 2020 Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Alchemy Press Book of Ancient Wonders(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Urban Occult(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer's End(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Festive Treats(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemy Press Book of Horrors(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Accursed(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author James Brogden was born in the year 1969 in Manchester. His debut novel was released in the year 2012, when “The Narrows” was published. James writes dark fantasy and horror.

James is a part-time Australian who grew up in the Cumbrian Borders and Tasmania before he escaped to live in the suburbs and lives in the Midlands with his wife and two daughters, where he teaches English.

Any time he is not writing or attempting to teach kids how to write, he gets out into the mountains anytime he can, hunting for sanding stones and exploring the remnants of Britain’s prehistoric past. The good news is, these stones do not run all that fast. He also owns far more legos than is really necessary.

“The Narrows” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. There are places where the world’s skin is thin. Miracles walk on the streets, here, and nightmares haunt each of the alleyways. Welcome to a place called the Narrows.

Bex belongs to a hidden society of runaways, misfits, and homeless that live in the Narrows, which are the hidden paths that lie behind the darkest of alleyways. For some time now, they have lived invisibly alongside the rest of the people in the city. They have their own dreams and deaths, their own allegiances, and their own wars and loves.

The Narrows are closing, however, and no one knows why, and the things that are hunting them have started chasing them onto daylight streets.

Andy Sumner lives a perfectly normal and conventional life, but a random encounter with a pursued and wounded Bex pulls him right into a world where the laws of time and space are malleable. How much of his life is actually governed by chance? Why is the one able to control the Narrows? What secrets inscribed in the energy meridians on his own flesh by that dark figure now hunting them both?

The hunt to find answers is going to take Bex and Andy way beyond the spheres of reality that either one of them have known. Even to a confrontation with evil that hangs the fate of an infinity of potential worlds.

Fans enjoyed the novel for how captivating it is, and they loved the settings and the characters. Each were equally carefully crafted and the story moves at a fast pace, which makes this one tough to set aside for too long. This is a great journey to go on, and readers were unsure of what to expect from it. James Brogden does a great job of combining the everyday with the surreal and creates a great urban fantasy story.

“Tourmaline” is the first novel in the “Tourmaline” series of novels and was released in the year 2013. The Tourmaline Archipelago is both a place of grotesquerie and wonder that exists on the other side of our dreams. During our sleep, we sail through its seas and walk through the streets of each of its cities like phantoms. At times we can dream too deeply and get trapped, and invade their world with our own nightmares and our fantasies. Then it is the work of Berylin Hooper, who is an agent of the Department for Counter Subornation, to seek out and expel the trapped souls that threaten the reality of her own world as well as the safety of her people.

We are able sometimes to bring them back with us when we wake up. Confused, lost, and possessed of powers that are able to leak through from their home, these exiles are hunted by the mysterious Hegemony that seeks to enslave them. A woman shows up that exists in both of the worlds simultaneously, she has to run for her life from enemies that are going to tear apart the boundaries of existence, then they will plunge both into chaos to possess her abilities.

In a doldrum part of the Archipelago floats an island-sized raft that is inhabited by all of the lost dreamers from our world. It is here that Bobby Jenkins wakes up, having no memories of his former existence and is determined to find his way back home. How can he get back when the woman he loves is refusing to leave, and how is he going to keep her safe from Hegemony and Hooper?

James Brogden turns in another masterful read with this book. It is a gripping fantasy, grounded, with strong elements of horror, tons of dark humor, and some gorgeously realized characters.

“The Realt” is the second novel in the “Tourmaline” series of novels and was released in the year 2015. War has made its way to the Tourmaline Archipelago. The Amity finds that it is threatened by the Elbaite fleet, which is armed with weapons of rather unparalleled destructive power. They were supplied with these weapons from our world, called the Realt, by Hegemony’s shadowy forces.

Running away from all this devastation, Alison Owens, the final survivor of the Stray, takes some refuge in the city of Carden. She starts to discover the scope of her powers as a lucid dreamer in this world on sleep’s other side. At the same time, Bobby Jenkins has to infiltrate Hegemony itself in order to find the secret of how he can get back to Tourmaline as well as the woman he loves.

There are darker forces than just the Hegemony in play. The Brood of Lilvet have already taken hosts, and look to awaken an unspeakable evil that lies neither in Tourmaline, nor in the Realt, rather the dreaming space lying in between.

Brogden’s writing ripples with taut prose and imaginative energy with the horror parts being made lighter with staring-right-into-the-face-of-hell wit while he propels each of his characters toward an entirely unexpected climax. The idea that the world of our dreams is actually a real place chilled some to their very cores. Fans liked how the book explores some different places in Tourmaline in order to show how incredibly vast this world actually is.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Brogden

One Response to “James Brogden”

  1. Bob Wells: 3 years ago

    What happened to the third book in the series the Aions want to read this.


Leave a Reply