Nick Petrie Series

James Chambers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Corpse Fauna Books

The Dead Bear Witness (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tears of Blood (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dead in Their Masses (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Systema Paradoxa Books

All-the-Way House (By:Keith R.A. DeCandido) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Devil in the Green (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Found Footage (By:) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Found Footage (By:) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hell's Well (By:) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sand and Secrets (By:Robert Greenberger) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Resurrection House (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Engines of Sacrifice (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Three Chords of Chaos (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

On the Night Border (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Kolchak: The Forgotten Lore of Edgar Allan Poe (With: ) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

In All Their Glory(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dragon's Lure(2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Best Laid Plans(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A New York State of Fright(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Footprints in the Stars(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Under Twin Suns: Alternate Histories of the Yellow Sign(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kolchak: The Night Stalker 50th Anniversary(2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

James Chambers is an award-winning author that writes in a variety of genres. He has dabbled in everything from horror to fantasy and science fiction to mention but a few. Some of his more notable works include ‘The Forgotten Lore of Edgar Allan’ Poe and ‘Kolchak the Night Stalker’.

James Chambers grew up reading Fairy Tales. He loved delving into stories steeped in myth and legend. A lot of the novellas the author has written have been published in popular anthologies like ‘Bad-Ass Faeries’ and ‘The Dead Walk Again’.

And all those stories vividly manifest the author’s ability to transport readers to forgotten worlds filled with equal parts wonder and horror. James’ writing style has always evoked a sense of the supernatural.

This might explain why the author eventually found his way into comics, creating graphic novels like Leonard Nimoy’s ‘Primortals’.

James Chambers is always helping new writers find their way through the industry. The author has been part of many a beta-reading group. He has had the opportunity to scrutinize the literary efforts of numerous authors just as they were finding their stride in publishing.

And he has found that each writer is unique. As such, James always encourages new writers to endeavor to find their own voice and to stick to that voice. There is no right way of succeeding in publishing, and the only writers that stand out are the ones that carve out their own journey to publishing victory.

Whenever he is asked to advise new authors, the first thing James tells them is to read extensively. James Chambers believes that it takes a reader to write a good book. For that reason, the authors James mentors are pushed to read everything from fiction to nonfiction, poetry, essays and even comic books.

James can emphasize this issue because that is how he got his success. The author read whatever he could get his hands on with the purpose of gaining an understanding of new styles of writing.

James Chambers also found that reading widely gave him the knowledge that he could deploy later on. He was able to study the different genres and understand what made them work and this, in turn, informed his choice of genres.

Besides reading extensively, James endeavors to write on a schedule. The author doesn’t make it a point of writing every day because that doesn’t work for him. Rather, whenever a writing project arises, James creates a writing schedule and he sticks to it.

He has found that, once he gets into the routine, his brain uses the time he isn’t writing to prepare for the coming writing session but solving storytelling problems and laying out the plot ahead of time.

James encourages his writing students to do the same. The author has maintained a presence on the publishing circuit for several years now. He has kept his name relevant because James Chambers is always publishing new novels or contributing to new anthologies or writing short stories for newspapers and magazines.

The author seems to boast an inexhaustible bank of ideas. Many of his fans are only aware of his fantastical stories. But he has become a pretty common face at horror conventions.

And even fans of science fiction can claim him as one of their own. Though, comic book fans might point out that he has been operating in their world for over two decades and, thus, could be best described as a comic book author.

It is this sort of appreciation from so many disparate groups of people that sets James Chambers apart. He isn’t just a horror author or a science fiction writer or a creator of comic books.

Rather, James is simply an author. He has the capacity to produce stories in any field and genre that catch his fancy.

The author has imputed his success to the support he has garnered from the Horror Writers Association over the years. Besides his beta-reading group, James has found that the HWA has done more to push his career forward than any other entity, making it possible for James to organize literary events, fun readings, and various other promotional activities.

+The Engines of Sacrifice

This book brings to the table four novellas filled with nightmarish tales that have been compared to the stories of H.P. Lovecraft.

Investigation 37, the first of these novellas, looks at the life of Lavender May who, during the dawn of the Vietnam War, flees to New York in search of peace only to be confronted with a world filled with witchcraft.

The Ugly birds, the second novella, finds Carmine Darabont fighting to get his ex-fiance to publish the next in the only hit series of a comics magazine that is on the edge of failure; but a dark secret seems hell bent on keeping the newest chapter of ‘The Otherworlders’ from seeing the light of day.

The Hidden Room, the third novella, explores the life of a member of the Nuclear Emergency Search Team who comes under the scrutiny of the Faceless God after confronting a runaway Soviet defector.

The Engines of Sacrifice is the Novella that brings everything to a close by bringing to readers the story of Rowley Cray, an underground author who, in his fight against a totalitarian government, learns that he might have power over the dead.

+Three Chords of Chaos

Gorge was the greatest musician the realm of the Sidhe had ever seen. But because he wouldn’t deny himself the temptation offered by the forbidden music, his magic was taken from him and he was cast into the mortal realm.

There he should have gone mad. But then he discovered Delilah, a mortal woman that brought the magic of music back to him. Decades have passed. Gorge is a secretive sort, lurking in the musical underground of New York City seemingly in fear of the fae.

With his guitar as his only weapon, Gorge is gathering magic, regaining his power. He was certain that he would one day return to his home. But then he encountered a mortal wizard who knew his secrets and had the capacity to use fae weaponry against him.

Gorge is now pushed into a game of survival where only his music can protect him. He must discover his enemy’s source of magic before it is too late.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Chambers

Leave a Reply