Book Notification

James D. Doss Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charlie Moon Books

The Shaman Sings (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shaman Laughs (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shaman's Bones (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shaman's Game (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Night Visitor (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grandmother Spider (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Shell Woman (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Soul (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch's Tongue (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow Man (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stone Butterfly (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Sisters (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snake Dreams (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Widow's Revenge (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dead Man's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coffin Man (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Old Gray Wolf (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

James D. Doss was one of the popular novelists of the mystery and thriller genre from America. He is particularly famous for creating the Native American character, detective Charlie Moon. Author Doss used to work at the Los Alamos Laboratory at the California University prior to the start of his writing career. He started his writing career in the year 1994 with the release of his debut book titled The Shaman Sings. This book also marked the beginning of the Charlie Moon series. Since then, he has written 16 more books as a part of the series. Two books from this series have been named as the best books of their respective years by the Publishers Weekly magazine. Author Doss was born in the year 1939 in Kentucky. His death occurred on May 17, 2012. He achieved a great fame after creating his popular fictional character, the Ute detective and rancher named Charlie Moon. Doss had studied electrical engineering and used to work on biomedical technology and particle accelerators at the laboratory of California University. However, he had started writing novels from a very long time and continued doing so along with his electrical engineering profession.

After his retirement from the National Los Alamos Laboratory, author Doss began writing full time. He used to write his renowned books while residing Taos and Los Alamos, in New Mexico. In between his retirement and death, Doss used to spend most of his time living in a tiny cabin in Taos. Apart from writing mystery books, author Doss used to love traveling a lot. He liked to visit fascinating destinations so as to choose a perfect one for setting his stories. Doss was mostly involved in campaigning in distant locations in order to get an experience of the Anasazi ruin’s impression, the deep canyon, a Sun Dance, or an arid location. Charlie Moon is the title character and chief protagonist in a number of author Doss’s books. He belongs to the Ute tribe of Native America and is a rancher. Charlie Moon is also shown as a police investigator in the tribal regions and resides on the Colorado reservation. In carrying out the investigations, Charlie Moon likes to use his own methods of deduction. He has an aunt named Daisy Perika, who always tries to help in the investigations. Aunt Daisy Perika is described as being a shaman, who possesses supernatural intuition and has prophetic dreams. Right from the start of the series in 1994, author Doss made sure that he published at least one book every year. All the books of the series appear to be quite gripping and complex. They depict crime stories combined with mystery and suspense along with the customs, traditions, and lives of the Native Americans.

The Charlie Moon series written by James D. Doss is comprised of 17 books in total, which were released between the years 1994 and 2012. An initial novel of this series is entitled ‘The Shaman’s Game’. It was published in 1999 by the Avon publication. Author Doss has placed the story in Colorado and has mentioned the central characters as Scott Parris and Charlie Moon. At the start of the story, it is described that the yearly Sun Dance is regarded as the most sacred and solemn of the rituals for the Southern Colorado’s Ute tribe. But, during the recently concluded events in the past, Death has played a spoil sport in the religious ceremonies. It appears very shocking to know that the deceased ones do not show any signs of life ending injuries. So, Charlie Moon is quite reluctant to consider the deaths as murder. However, he knows that the unexplained deaths of the strong and young dancers were not natural. Daisy Perika also has knowledge of the events happening around her. But, her beliefs are totally opposite to that of her nephew. Daisy has a deep trust in the rumors of sorcery which travel in the form of smoke with the wind. She also believes that there are many things around that are not seen through naked eyes or touched by hands. Daisy says that she has received signs and words from the spirits that warn about the presence of a great evil in the midst of the people of the tribe. This hints that many more dead bodies are going to turn in the days to come. Later, a lovely Ute woman returns back to the tribe after completing her college studies. Working for a newspaper agency, she looks to write a story about the one who is stealing the lives of men in her tribe. Her involvement raises the stakes for Charlie Moon in the investigation. He sees that the ones about whom he cares for very much have suddenly come in the harm’s way. Charlie begins to think about Parris’s suggestion to look over the rational to find answers. Charlie is very well aware of the lethal outcomes of bitterness, delusion, and hatred. He looks to explore these failings of the human nature to hunt down the killer before another innocent victim loses his life.

Another mind blowing book published in the series is known as ‘The Night Visitor’. This book was also released by Avon in the year 2000. At the beginning of the book, it is shown that Daisy Perika’s world is full of omens, restless spirits, and shadows. But, in the world of Charlie Moon, evil and good manifest in much more explainable and human ways. In spite of this, the old shaman and her good natured and huge nephew live in the same lonely and hard Colorado country. It is learned that the remains of a prehistoric gargantuan beast has been discovered at a ranch site. This results in the attention of many people, each with individual interests, as the discovery holds a huge scientific importance. Even Charlie Moon seems curious about the discovery of the old bones. He knows that such rare and ancient things have inspired many malevolent dealings in the past, such as lies, murder, and avarice. And only after a mysterious disappearance and a suspicious death will Charlie Moon realize that he has come across the greatest fear of his life. The book’s story was highly appreciated by the critics. Many praising were written in various literary magazines about this book as well as author Doss. The success of this book and all the others in the series led to an immense increase in his popularity as a writer of mystery novels. This gave him a lot of boost. Till the time he was alive, author Doss was regarded as a notable author of the mystery genre. Even today, he is remembered as one of the prominent authors of his time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James D. Doss

Leave a Reply