Book Notification

James D. Prescott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dark Nova Books

The Fifth Kind: Arrival (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fifth Kind: Awakening (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fifth Kind: Ascension (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Extinction Books

Extinction Code (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Countdown (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extinction Crisis (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Genesis Conspiracy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Augmented (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author James D. Prescott loves science and archaeology, and has always enjoyed challenging conventional wisdom. He also has yet to find a myth or theory that he is unable to turn on its head.

He hails from the world of academia, and resettled in the Northeast with his wife and Shermer, who is a cranky stray cat.

His work is from the thriller and science fiction genres, and he writes the “Extinction” series that began publication in the year 2017, when “Extinction Code” was released.

“Extinction Code” is the first novel in the “Extinction” series, which was released in the year 2017. The truth has been hidden for many eons. Until now.

Geophysicist Jack Greer thinks he may have found the meteorite that wiped out the dinosaurs sixty-five million years back. While a few miles off the Yucatan coast, Jack and a group of scientists tow in an aging drilling platform over the crater’s impact. They aim to take a sample of their find. Buried deep under the earth is a shocking discovery that will threaten to wreck everything we believe we know about the origins of mankind.

Dr. Mia Ward, a geneticist, is a world away and gets a mysterious delivery from former mentor and boss Alan Salzburg. Inside, are clues of his dire warning that is hidden within the human genome, one which predicts man’s own extinction.

Alan’s instructions for Mia are quite simple. Above all: don’t trust anybody, and keep the information safe. These words end up being more chilling once Alan turns up dead. Who wrote this message, and what exactly does it all mean? Jack’s new discovery might hold the answers, but will she be able to reach him in time to save mankind from dying off?

This was a stellar book that was both brain food and entertaining. It is always good to sit down with a science fiction book that has some good science in it. This book does a great job of hooking you right from the start, and holding your attention the entire time. Once you pick it up, all you will be concerned with is what is going to happen next.

“Extinction Countdown” is the second novel in the “Extinction” series, which was released in the year 2018. The greatest discovery in mankind’s history might also be its last. Dr. Jack Greer’s stunning discovery beneath the Gulf of Mexico was proof to the world that we were not alone in the universe. Voyager One space probe sends images that show an alien doomsday ship is hurtling toward planet Earth, and mankind looks to be marked for extinction.

The news of the coming ship spreads planet around the globe, signs of an evil plot start to emerge. It is one that threatens to unravel things further, as well as everything that Jack and Dr. Ward have fought so hard for.

This one is just as good as the first, as it has tons of intrigue, suspense, and is science brain food. Prescott has made it easy to fall for the characters here, as they are so well written, and you simply want to see them survive and thrive by the end of it all. There is great imaginary possibilities here with this one, and it will be great to see where things go from here.

Prescott has penned a fast paced and imaginatively premised novel that delivers on its potential. He is able to blend future technology and ancient history in an interesting way. It is an interesting read that is well written and has some well developed characters. People were intrigued in the book from the start, and stayed hooked until the very end. The book is fast paced throughout, never letting up for an instant.

“Extinction Crisis” is the third novel in the “Extinction” series, which was released in the year 2019. The doomsday ship is just days away from impacting Earth, and the end of humanity looks to be all but assured. All corners of the world, the news of the impending destruction leads to looting, all out chaos, and the rule of law’s collapse.

Civilization’s foundations are crumbling around Mia and Jack, and they must race to locate answers to possibly one of the most important questions in history. Why have Ateans eradicated life on planet Earth repeatedly? Is it possible that the key to ending the cycle of extinctions be locked up inside the Salzburg Chromosome?

Figuring out this mystery is going to mean taking a trip deep inside of a perilous alien world and fighting against the same beings that created us.

“The Genesis Conspiracy” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2017. Dr. Martin Anders (an archaeologist) has been working for the past ten years in vain to find evidence of the much fabled continent of Atlantis. Anders gets more than he wanted, once he raises a puzzling artifact from the floor of the ocean. It is a piece of modern tech that dates back thousands of years.

Anders and a tiny team made up of Ex-Special Forces and scientists are going to travel to a far away land that is shrouded in mystery and surrounded by long extinct creatures, all to unlock the origins of it.

They are far from alone, though. There is an ancient order that is close behind. They are determined to keep a secret hidden that man was never meant to find out.

Stakes for mankind could not be made much higher. That which awaits might answer an old question of humanity, or it could lead to its end.

James Prescott has found a niche that suits him well, with the sci-fi dystopian adventure sub-genre. The book is a superb read that will make it tough for you to put down for very long. Prescott does a great job of introducing plot points at the start and explaining them later, to add to the overall picture. He is definitely an author with a strong imagination, and does a great job of creating some interesting characters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James D. Prescott

Leave a Reply