Book Notification

James Hannaham Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

God Says No (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delicious Foods (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Didn't Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Kara Walker: Dust Jackets for the Niggerati (With: Hilton Als,Kara Walker,Christopher Stackhouse) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kara Walker: Go to Hell or Atlanta, Whichever Comes First (With: Kara Walker,Ari Marcopoulos) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pilot Impostor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best Sex Writing 2009(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

About James Hannaham

American author James Hannaham has distinguished himself in the literary landscape with his ability to weave enthralling narratives. The celebrated novel ‘Delicious Foods’ has brought him much acclaim, securing prestigious awards like the PEN/Faulkner and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. Hannaham’s academic background, with roots in Yale and the Michener Center for Writers, has evidently shaped his writing prowess and storytelling skill, as evidenced in his well-received debut, ‘God Says No.’

Hannaham adeptly develops deep, multifaceted characters in his storytelling, embodying them with life and complexity while intertwining influential messages. His focus on character growth allows readers to form connections and gain insights into broader societal issues. This blend of character-driven narratives with meaningful themes enriches not only the reader’s experience, but also underscores the relevance of his fiction in sparking thoughtful dialogue.

Beyond writing, Hannaham contributes to the arts as a performer and visual artist. His work in these areas complements his narrative skills, allowing him to create multidimensional experiences for his audience. His creative endeavors within the Elevator Repair Service and his success in visual arts, evidenced by awards like Best in Show at Biblio Spectaculum, demonstrate his versatility as an artist.

Hannaham also shares his expertise with students as a professor at Pratt Institute. His dedication to arts education, along with each of his novels, exemplifies his ongoing commitment to storytelling and literary excellence. With each new work, he continues to provide readers with stories that are both thought-provoking and entertaining.

Early and Personal Life

James Hannaham, born in The Bronx in 1968, spent his childhood in Yonkers, New York, where his environment played a significant role in shaping his interests in stories and storytelling. With his mother’s career as an investigative journalist and her involvement in critical regional events, like the legal battle to end school segregation in Yonkers, James was exposed to the power of narrative from an early age. The arts were a family affair, with his cousin, Kara Walker, contributing her artistic talents to the cover of his acclaimed novel ‘Delicious Foods.’

Developing a sense of identity and a unique voice, James embraced his personal experiences and heritage as integral aspects of his writing journey. This personal authenticity undoubtedly enriches the stories he tells, making them resonate with a broad audience.

James would later marry Brendan Moroney, who shares a similar background from Yonkers. Their long-term partnership, blossoming since 2004 and solidified in marriage in 2015. As an author, his life informs his craft, allowing readers to connect with his work on a deeply human level.

Writing Career

James Hannaham’s literary journey begun with ‘God Says No’ in 2009 from McSweeney’s, earning recognition as a Lambda Book Award finalist. His narrative skill is evident in short fiction for respected publications such as BOMB and The Literary Review and his journalism in various magazines and sites, notably

His bibliography expanded with the acclaimed ‘Delicious Foods’ in 2015, followed by later works including ‘Pilot Imposter’ and ‘Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta.’ Hannaham has been distinguished with residencies at prominent institutions like Yaddo and The MacDowell Colony, enhancing his craft.

Besides his writing, Hannaham imparts his experience to young writers as a professor in Pratt Institute’s MFA program. His ongoing projects suggest a continuation of his impact on contemporary literature. With plenty more to come on the horizon, he’s a writer who is definitely not stopping any time soon.

God Says No

‘God Says No,’ authored by James Hannaham, made its debut in the literary world on May 25, 2009. The novel was published by McSweeney’s, and marked a significant step in Hannaham’s writing career.

Gary Gray, a devout and happily engaged student from Central Florida Christian College, confronts unexpected feelings in the days leading up to his wedding. ‘God Says No’ recounts his experience as a young black Christian caught between his devotion to his wife and his attraction to men. His distinctive narrative voice expresses the inner conflict he faces between faith and sexuality.

Gary’s journey through religious revivals, a new life in Atlanta, and a ministry dedicated to changing his sexual orientation illustrates the highs and lows of his life’s path.

Through Gary’s poignant voice, one experiences a gripping and deeply human story. This book leaves a lasting impression, inviting reflection and empathy.

Delicious Foods

James Hannaham’s novel ‘Delicious Foods’ was published on March 17, 2015, adding another title to his portfolio of literary works. The book came out under the renowned publishing house Little, Brown.

Darlene, reeling from her husband’s death, finds solace in drugs, leading her to a harrowing job at a farm with a sinister company, impacting her and her son, Eddie. ‘Delicious Foods’ follows their harrowing journey, presenting three distinct perspectives: a bereaved mother, her searching son, and the addiction that looms over their lives. Throughout their ordeal to find each other and escape a life of subjugation, James Hannaham’s versatile prose injects their predicament with both levity and elegance.

The story delves into profound themes of love, liberty, and the strength of the human spirit in the face of adversity.

Its vivid narrative invites deep empathy for each character’s plight, while exploring the resilience of the human spirit. This book is a compelling read that leaves a lasting impact.

Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta

The novel ‘Didn’t Nobody Give a Shit What Happened to Carlotta’ by author James Hannaham was released to the public on August 30, 2022. It was brought out by the Little, Brown and Company publishing house.

After over two decades in a male prison, Carlotta Mercedes, a trans woman, reclaims her freedom on a pivotal Independence Day weekend. Her journey takes her back to a distinctly different Brooklyn than the one she knew, involving a tangle with her past self, fraught encounters with her son, and navigating a host of parole restrictions that threaten her fragile liberty.

The book captures the spirit and complexity of its characters, blending a high-energy narrative with a critical look at the harsh realities faced by individuals within the U.S. penal system. It also provides a thought-provoking look at the challenges within the U.S. justice system as a whole. This novel is certainly a page-turner, rich with emotion and authenticity.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Hannaham

Leave a Reply