Book Notification

James Hume Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aquila Books

Hunting Aquila (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Aquila (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing the Captain (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

James Hume, a British author of thrillers with a twist, was born and brought up in Glasgow, Scotland. He took a degree in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Strathclyde. He’s married with a grown-up family. For over thirty years, he travelled the world as a business advisor to major US and EU corporations. He retired in 2014, and since he’d always enjoyed reading thrillers that unravel a complex puzzle, he took time out to learn the art of novel writing.

He has now published three novels – Hunting Aquila, a WW2 spy thriller – Chasing Aquila, its sequel – and a recent third, Killing the Captain, which takes the same characters on a new adventure. They have been well received.

Brief Descriptions of Books

Hunting Aquila: The first book written by James takes place during World War II. Jonathan Porritt is brought on to find a mole within the ranks. He has to help rescue a female translator called Jane who gets caught up with a spy attempting to flee the UK. Porritt has to save her and crack open the spy ring in a race against time as he attempts to stop the invasion plans from being leaked.

Chasing Aquila: This one takes place following World War 2 and features Sandra Maxwell. She is the Superintendent of the Special Branch and is looking into a death in Glasgow and whether it is linked to the German spy organization Aquila. She discovers it has turned into an entirely new organization that is spreading across Europe and needs to put a stop to it fast.

Killing the Captain: This one also takes place shortly after World War 2 and has a great premise. All it takes is Adam Bryson happening to lip read two men who are having a discussion – a discussion where they are planning out a murder. This sets off a sequence of events featuring Sandra Maxwell, , helped by Chuck Campbell of the USAAF, as she attempts to figure out who the target is, save them and also capture the people behind the planned murder.

These deftly plotted, action-packed thrillers are full of twists and turns. Carefully weaving fact and fiction, they provide powerful and intriguing lessons that still apply in today’s changing world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Hume

Leave a Reply