Book Notification

James Islington Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Hierarchy Books

The Will of the Many (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Licanius Trilogy Books

The Shadow of What Was Lost (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Echo of Things to Come (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Light of All That Falls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author James Islington was born and grew up southern Victoria, Australia. Now, he lives with his wife and daughter in Victoria on the Mornington Peninsula.

The authors that influenced him include: Robert Jordan, Raymond E. Feist, Brandon Sanderson (especially the “Mistborn” series), and Patrick Rothfuss (especially “Name of the Wind”). These last two were the two things that made him inspired enough to write something of his own. More to the point, they were able to rekindle that fire for the ideas that he was having; they got him excited about the genre of science fiction and fantasy enough to try out his own story.

He had always wanted to write a novel at some point, and enjoyed creative writing as a teenager. Throughout most of his twenties, he ran a start up with a friend of his; it was a success and he was able to learn a lot while doing it. That being said, it took up a lot of his time and gave him quite a lot of stress to boot. He had little time to read anything, much less write anything.

Right around the time he turned thirty, he decided to not be so involved in the company. This allowed him the time and head space to write, but still make some money. Due to the fact that he was already working at home and had a schedule set up, disciplining himself was not much of an issue. He just had to get something written each and everyday. At first, it took quite a bit of time and a lot of patience. He also had to do more drafts and editing, after getting some good feedback. Then he was finally able to release his debut novel, “The Shadow of What Was Lost”, which was published in the year 2014. His work is from the epic fantasy genre of fiction.

He wanted to do a story that explored the idea of an epic fantasy bad guy (one that everyone knows is evil). And how he tries to get away from all the bad things he has done after always being on the wrong side of things to begin with. Then he got on to thinking about memories and their ability to shape who a person actually is, and make them able to do things they would not otherwise consider doing.

Then, he thought including something including a prophecy, one that was not so wishy-washy or open to being interpreted. He feels that this is thing that happens in the genre of fantasy that just gets away with the whole thing due to it being “magical”.

“The Shadow of What Was Lost” is the first novel in the “The Licanius Trilogy” and was released in the year 2014. Twenty years have passed since the war ended. The dictator like Augurs (who were thought to almost be gods) were overthrown and destroyed. Their powers failed them in the war, which was quite mysterious. The ones that ruled under them (people with the lesser ability called the Gift) were able to survive by submitting to the Four Tenets that the rebellion put together. The laws are written into any user of the Gift’s skin; it forces them into an absolute obedience.

Davian, who is a student of the Gifted, suffers the consequences of a lost war that was fought before he was born. He and all those around him try to learn to control the Gift, all the while they are basically prisoners. He struggles with his lessons and knows that there is a lot lower that he can fall if he is unable to pass his finals.

He finds, however, that he is capable to use the forbidden power of the Augurs; then he sets in motion a series of events set to change everything. In the north, an enemy (that is both ancient and thought to be long defeated) is starting to stir. In the west, there is a young man who finds his fate is linked with Davian; he wakes up in the forest, no memory of who he is and is covered with blood.

Fans of the novel found themselves loving a lot of characters and the world was well built. The ending was really something, and through reading the entire book, they are now fans of this author’s work. Some cannot wait to get their hands on more in this series. You can see some of the influence here, and it shows promise to where things may go in the future books. Some felt that they could not read the book fast enough, or even put the thing down for very long.

“An Echo of Things to Come” is the second novel in the “The Licanius Trilogy” and was released in the year 2017. After a devastating attack on Ilin Illan, there is amnesty declared for every single Augur. It finally allows them to come out from hiding and oppose the dark forces that are gathering against Andarra. Davian and his new allies are moving quickly north to the Boundary, which is weakening all the time; here there are new horrors in their way that suggest that their amnesty might be much too late.

Meanwhile, in the capital, Wirr has to deal with assassins and an Administration that keeps getting more and more hostile. This is right when he takes on the mantle of Northwarden in controversy. He then finds a mystery that makes everyone question everything that was believed about the rebellion that was led by his father two decades ago. Ahsa starts secretly looking into the Shadows going missing, and wants to find out where they ran off to. And even, the origin of the Vessels that made them as well as find a cure for them.

Caeden has time running out as he tries to fulfill the sinister bargain made with Lyth. All the while, he wrestles with the large burdens from his past. He gets more and more memories back, and finds that the motives for both sides in the war are not as clear as originally thought.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Islington

Leave a Reply