James McGee Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Matthew Hawkwood Books

Ratcatcher (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Resurrectionist (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rapscallion (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rebellion (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blooding (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Reckoning (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Crow's War (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wolf's Lair (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trigger Men (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

James McGee is a British historical fiction and thriller author best known for the “Matthew Hawkwood” series of novels. Nonetheless, before she became an author, she had something of a chaotic career probably because he was an army brat who lived all over the place as a child. When he was a child, he went to school in Northern Ireland, Germany, and Gibraltar but after years of studying with nothing to show for it, he decided he had enough of academia. He then got a job in banking but soon quit when he was required to undergo training on the job that he found too academic. He then got a job with British Airways and while it was boring since it was in Revenue accounts, it provided the chance to travel a lot, which was something he craved. Three years later, he got sick of the job and went on a yearly vacation and never went back as he decided to work for Kent Newspaper Group as a sales rep. Within a year, he was out and had gotten a job at Heathrow based Pan Am working in Crew Operations. By this time, he well and truly had a wanderlust and was traveling all over the world from Australia, Europe, Thailand, the Caribbean, Japan, the United States, and the Middle East often throwing in several exotic destinations.

In between the changing jobs and traveling, James McGee had also developed the writing bug and in 1985 he published his debut novel “Trigger Men.” It was the story of mercenaries working in East Africa that he believed would be his big break into writing that he resigned from Pan Am to become a full-time author. He followed that novel with “Crow’s War” in 1989 and Wolf’s Lair in 1990 but unfortunately, his novels did not find much traction. Waterstones Booksellers signed him on but after several years with nothing to show for it, it was back to the drawing back and maybe full-time employment once again. He went back to work for several companies but he soon became disillusioned with life and sold everything to go back to traveling. He traveled across Australia and the United States hoping to experience what he believed he had missed the first time around though he did very little writing during this time. When he went back to the United Kingdom, he became a store manager for Ottakar’s Bookseller and during his downtime wrote “Ratcatcher” the first of the “Matthew Hawkwood” adventure series. With “Resurrectionist” the second in the series becoming a wild success, he decided to retire from Ottakar’s and become a full-time author. His resignation gave him the dubious distinction of having resigned twice from the same company as Ottakar had by then been bought out by Waterstones. Since resigning, he has been publishing at a decent clip and by 2020 had six titles in the Matthew Hawkwood” series of novels.

While he now works full time, he still finds time to engage in his passion for travel. He has sailed in Indonesia to watch Komodo dragons, explored the ruins of Machu Picchu, and spent a lot of time volunteering on a game reserve in South Africa. He has also been a book reviewer and commentator of books on BBC local radio and several independent radio stations. His travel pics have been used in travel company brochures and he has also taught English as a second language. When he is not writing, he enjoys sailing, photography, golf, hiking, and is also a massive fan of films and Bruce Springsteen. He hopes that his love for film will put him in good standing with Hollywood when he decides to make his Hawkwood stories into film or a TV series.

James McGee’s “Ratcatcher” is the first of the “Matthew Hawkwood” series of adventure novels. The lead is Matthew Hawkwood, a Bow Street Runner and a dangerous, sexy, and fascinating man that hunts down murderers, spies, and thieves in the crime-ridden streets of Victorian-era London. He is the most innovative and resourceful of an elite band of sleuths, though hunting down highwaymen was never a usual occupation for a Bow Street Runner. Though he is an expert investigator, he is surprised when the case is assigned a case involving the mutilation and murder of a naval dispatch rider. From the heart of the British government to the grime of St Giles Rookery, the radiantly lit salons of the upper classes, and the disreputable haunts of cutthroats and thieves, Matthew unremittingly hunts his target. With the case unfolding, they soon discover another body dumped on the banks of the River Thames, and only then do they get a good glimpse at the real agenda of the killer. Hawkwood is the only man standing between British lordship of the seas and a dastardly scheme to end it.

“Resurrectionist” the second novel of the series has Matthew Hawkwood bringing his form of justice to the slums and glamorous stores of Victorian-era London. Death has become a lucrative business for the body snatchers but they made a mistake when they left a mutilated corpse hanging on a tree. This had set Matthew Hawkwood the Bow Street runner on fire and he had gone on a quest to find the men and bring them to justice. The anatomy schools in London have just reopened and they are demanding fresh corpses in huge numbers, which has driven the competition high between the city’s resurrection men. Their rivalry takes a turn for the worse when a grave robber is cruelly killed and his body splayed out on a tree to warn competing gangs. To find the men responsible for the horrible crime and bring them to justice, he has to go into the darkest corners of London, where he will find some of the most gruesome discoveries. But there is no place grimmer than the infamous asylum for the insane appropriately named Bedlam, where another strange murder is reported. Hawkwood goes against his most cunning killer yet as he faces off against an evil genius determined to advance his cause in the name of science, even if it means killing to do so.

James McGee’s “Rapscallion” continues with the story of the ex-soldier Matthew Hawkwood, who is now working undercover hunting down traitors and smugglers as a Bow Street Runner during the Napoleonic Wars. If he gets caught by the French soldiers, he could be taken to the hulks, which is a fate far much worse than being hanged. The hulks are prison ships that were once upon a time man-o’-wars that have made a reputation for having some of the most brutal conditions for a prisoner of war anywhere on the French mainland or the high seas. Escape has so far been impossible and very few people have survived the hellhole. But there are persistent reports of a bizarre smuggling operation that has been running or several months maybe even years and the Royal Navy thinks someone should go investigate. But the two officers sent to do the job go missing and the higher ups turn to Hawkwood to help resolve the mystery. If there is anyone who can get into the dangerous world and be very much at home, Hawkwood is that man.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James McGee

Leave a Reply