Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

James Patrick Hunt Books In Order

Publication Order of Evan Maitland Mystery Books

Maitland (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Maitland Under Siege (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Maitland's Reply (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Get Maitland (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Lieutenant George Hastings Books

The Betrayers (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Goodbye Sister Disco (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Assailant (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silent Places (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bullet Beth (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Dan Bridger Books

Bridger (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Police and Thieves (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Before They Make You Run (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Reinhardt's Mark (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Detective (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Reckoning (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Once Upon a Time in Camelot (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The German (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

James Patrick Hunt is an English author born in 1964.


Hunt writes mystery and thriller novels. The author was born in Surrey, England. While a portion of his early childhood was spent in England, he eventually moved to Oklahoma, the new setting affecting his sensibilities and impacting the sorts of stories he would come to write.

Not many people are aware of the fact that Hunt graduated from Parks College of Saint Louis University with a degree in aerospace engineering in 1986. Looking at Hunt, aerospace engineer isn’t the first thing you would think of.

And the field obviously didn’t appeal to him, seeing as he eventually went to Marquette University Law School, leaving the institute in 1992 with a degree in law.

The author has never really left Oklahoma despite having his roots in England. This is where he has continued to live and still writes from. Best known for the George Hastings novels, James Patrick Hunt could be described as a bit of a late bloomer.

It wasn’t until 2006 when novels like ‘Before They make You Run’ and ‘Maitland Under Siege’ came out that Hunt took to writing with real fervor, giving his many ideas life and introducing Lieutenant George Hastings to readers.

Since then, Hunt has written a number of detective mysteries and thrillers about the character. It is worth noting that James Patrick Hunt is still a practicing lawyer, his efforts as a writer doing little to discourage him from pursuing the law.

+The Betrayers

Two police officers are gunned down at Nine O’clock on a busy suburban street. More than anything, the brutality of the crimes shocks St. Louis. The deaths of Deputy Chris Hummel and Deputy Wade Childers are seemingly senseless, compelling many to question the impetus behind the crime; whether the deputies were targeted by some sinister figure or they merely pulled the wrong driver over.

Lieutenant George Hastings has a hard task ahead of him. As the primary investigator on the case, Hastings will have to look to detective Bobby Cain in unraveling these events. Cain might be inexperienced, but the detective has all the right connections in the right places.

It will take everything Hastings and Cain have to pull the lives of the murdered officers apart. Hummel initially proves to be the most interesting of the two, having spent a year undercover before playing a significant role in the conviction of one of the biggest meth dealers in the area.

However, Hastings soon learns that there is so much more to the case than one drug dealer’s vendetta.

James Patrick Hunt set out to mark his territory as a crime novelist with this book and he more or less succeeds. The book might be a little formulaic but Hunt still delivers a good time for fans of mystery novels.

It is easy to see why some people might have dismissed this book at the start. After all, even with everything that Hunt does, you are unlikely to come across people raving about ‘The Betrayers’ or even talking about.

This is one of those novels that tend to go unnoticed; though, those readers that have eventually stumbled upon it have attested to being pleasantly surprised. James Patrick Hunt knows how to keep things interesting.

For instance, he more or less tells you who the villain of the story is from the very beginning, eliminating any suspense he could have milked out of the process of slowly unraveling his identity to readers.

However, merely knowing the identity of the bad guy of the story doesn’t really tell you anything, and those readers who chose to give the book a chance for a few more chapters will tell you that there are actually so many more surprises waiting within.

In a way, by removing the mystery of the villain at the start, Hunt leaves readers open to exploring far more interesting facets of his book. There are a number of subplots in the book, twisting in and out of one another and making the overall narrative far more interesting than one might expect.

James Patrick Hunt is a lawyer; so it could be argued that he was perfectly placed to give readers a unique perspective of the crime-solving process and the drama that can ensue. Or maybe, Hunt is just that imaginative.

Either way, in reading this book, it is almost impossible to tell that Hunt is an amateur author still struggling to find his footing in the literary arena. Most readers will, at the very least, appreciate Hunt for being such an amazing storyteller.

Those few individuals with unique tastes cannot deny the fact that Hunt does a masterful job of weaving all the components of this book, all the hitmen, corrupt officers and detectives together.

With The Betrayers, James Patrick Hunt definitely proved that he was a first-rate crime fiction author.

+The Silent Place

Anyone who has met Lt. George Hastings knows that he is loyal to every single person under his command, and he will back them to the very end, even when it gets him into trouble.

It comes as no surprise when a few conflicts with the top brass land the Lieutenant and his team a less than enticing assignment that finds them keeping an eye on Senator Alan Preston.

Preston’s plans to take the nation by storm in the upcoming presidential elections hit a speed bump when John Reese escapes Prison. The former CIA Agent was prosecuted by Preston and might be out to settle a score.

Preston doesn’t help his situation by being so cagey with the details of the case, only insisting that Reese is a traitor who should have been executed a long time ago. For Hastings, the situation takes a complicated turn when he discovers that Reese might have good reason to come after Preston.

Hastings, none the less, works to find and stop Reese, all too aware that he isn’t the only one hunting the veteran.

This George Hastings novel puts a lot of political suspense thrillers to shame. James Patrick Hunt succeeds with this book because he makes Reese, the antagonist of the book, just as interesting as Hastings, making the clash between the two all the more epic.

You cannot help but cheer for both men even while struggling with the anxiety of knowing that only one of them will come out on top.


Book Series In Order » Authors » James Patrick Hunt