Book Notification

James Riley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Half Upon a Time Books

Half Upon a Time (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Upon a Time (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon the End (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once Upon Another Time Books

Once Upon Another Time (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tall Tales (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Revenge of Magic Books

The Revenge of Magic (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Dragon (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Future King (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Timeless One (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chosen One (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Story Thieves Books

Story Thieves (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Chapters (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Origins (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick the Plot (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worlds Apart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About James Riley

The American children’s author James Riley is well known for creating engaging and imaginative fiction for younger readers. A bestselling novelist, he really has a way with words that immediately grabs the attention of his audience, holding it there for the duration of the novel. Setting himself apart from other writers within his field, he really pushes the boundaries of the format, bringing his work to life on each and every page. Knowing the reader well, he’s a gifted writer with a lot to say and a lot to offer, both entertaining and compelling in equal measure.

The characters that he creates are well portrayed, essentially coming alive off the page for the reader and really leaving a strong impression. This all helps to bring the books to life, immersing the audience in their rich and expansive worlds that really feel real. Giving his characters a sense of grounding and realism, it really helps to ensure that his books resonate in a personal and wholly authentic manner. There’s a lot at the heart of his books, as they all have an in-depth story that definitely draws the audience in to their world.

Many of his books have a real sense of warmth and wit quite unlike anything else, really making them easy to relate to. A lot of his books use fantasy elements as well, making them rich and imaginative for his young audience, giving them a whole world to explore. Keeping readers continually turning the page too, his books ensure young readers develop a love and passion for reading as well. This is something that he’s going to continue doing for many years to come, as he’s got a lot more planned for publication on the horizon.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1977 on the 9th of May, James Riley grew up in Connecticut, growing up with a strong passion for both reading and writing. This keen interest of his would develop throughout the intervening years, becoming a lot more prominent as time went on. Studying English at university, he would continue to hone his craft, shaping his voice as a writer with something to say.

Attending Georgetown University based in Washington D.C., he would here major in English, going on to graduate. Working as an attorney, a travel writer, and working at Disney, he gained a wealth of experience prior to becoming a writer. Then, in 2014, he would move from Los Angeles in California on into Virginia, where he continues to write to this very day, with a lot more to follow.

Writing Career

Starting his writing career out back in 2010, James Riley would begin his literary career with the novel ‘Half Upon a Time.’ This would be his first children’s fantasy title, and it would also start the ‘Half Upon a Time’ series of novels to follow as well. These books would take characters from famous fairy tales, such as Jack from ‘Jack and the Beanstalk,’ as he meets people from the real-world.

This proved to be a winning formula for James Riley, as he began to make a name for himself, with more series to follow. He went on to produce the series titled ‘Story Thieves,’ which came out in 2015 beginning with ‘Story Thieves’ followed by ‘The Stolen Chapters’ in 2016. Winning awards and nominations for his work, his novels have gone to see film rights acquired for them, as he continues to write to this very day.

Worlds Apart

This would be the fifth book in the long-running ‘Story Thieves’ series of novels, carrying on from the previous books. Aimed at young readers, it features a fantasy story that’s easy to follow, with lots of characters returning, and more world-building. The book itself was brought out in 2018 on the 20th of March, and it was released through the ‘Aladdin’ publishing imprint.

With the fictional and non-fictional worlds tearing apart, Owen and Bethany must find their way back to one another. The villain known only as Nobody has torn them apart breaking the connection, leaving Bethany’s fictional and non-fictional selves separated. At first it doesn’t seem to matter to anyone in the non-fictional world, that is until five years later Owen gets a vision of the future where imagination is needed more than ever. Will they be able to bring the worlds back together, can the fictional world survive without the imagination of the non-fictional feeding it, and what will become of them both as they find themselves worlds apart?

It’s important to read these books in order as they will make little sense otherwise, with their richly defined lore and world. This final story really does deliver though, making the overall series worthwhile, and a must for any fans of the fantasy genre. Giving readers a series to really invest themselves in, it works well on a number of different levels to thrilling effect.

The Chosen One

Originally published in 2021 on the 2nd of March, this would be the fifth book in the ongoing ‘The Revenge of Magic’ series. Following on from the previous books, it continues to world-build, along with developing the characters that came before. Working on multiple levels, it’s a high-fantasy novels with an epic storyline and some grand arcs running throughout.

There’s just one week until Damian will unleash the Old Ones upon the Earth, wreaking havoc and complete chaos. Believing he can defeat them, Damian is set on the idea that he can bring them down, but Fort Fitzgerald has other ideas. Fort thinks the only way to save everything is to destroy magic once and for all, but is now wondering how to manage that. Will he be able to do it in time, should he do it in time, and what will become of the one otherwise known as the chosen one?

Another book from a series that needs to be read in order, this delivers on the promise of the original four books. Ending the journey in a conclusive manner, it really brings the story to a satisfying close, giving the reader what they want. There’s also plenty of twists and turns along the way so as to keep them constantly guessing throughout the overall series as a whole.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Riley

Leave a Reply