James S.A. Corey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Expanse Books

Leviathan Wakes (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Caliban's War (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Abaddon's Gate (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cibola Burn (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nemesis Games (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Babylon's Ashes (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Persepolis Rising (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tiamat's Wrath (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Leviathan Falls (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of The Expanse Short Stories/Novellas

The Butcher of Anderson Station (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gods of Risk (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Churn (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Vital Abyss (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Strange Dogs (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Auberon (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Reading Order Of All Expanse Books:

  1. The Butcher of Anderson Station (Short Story)
  2. Leviathan Wakes
  3. Caliban's War
  4. Gods of Risk (Short Story)
  5. Abaddon's Gate
  6. The Churn (Short Story)
  7. Cibola Burn
  8. Nemesis Games
  9. The Vital Abyss (Short Story)
  10. Babylon's Ashes
  11. Strange Dogs (Short Story)
  12. Persepolis Rising
  13. Auberon (Short Story)
  14. Tiamat's Wrath

Publication Order of Star Wars: Empire and Rebellion Books

Razor's Edge (By:Martha Wells) (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Honor Among Thieves (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Novellas 2015(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

James S A Corey is actually a pseudonym formed from the names of two prolific writers namely Ty Franck and Daniel Abraham. It is the pen name that they use in many collaborative science fiction novels that they have worked on from the year 2011 to date. The first and last names, James and Corey are derived from Abrahams’ and Franck’s’ middle names while the initials S.A. are based on the names of Abraham’s’ daughter. The novels belong to the science fiction type and are set in the future.

Daniel Abraham is an award winning science fiction writer who was born in November 1969. He currently lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Ty Franck hails from Portland, Oregon and is also currently based in New Mexico.

James S A Corey initial foray into the world of science fiction writing was marked by their first novel, Leviathan Wakes, published in the year 2011. It is the first novel in The Expanse series and has received awards. Leviathan Wakes bagged a nomination for the 2012 Hugo Award for Best Novel. During the following year, the science fiction novel won the Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel.

Orbit Books tasked James S A Corey with churning out additional books in the series which has caught the attention of the science fiction community. James S A Corey writes one novel every year, though in between each, they publish short novellas based on The Expanse series. An example of the short written works includes The Butcher of Anderson Station: A Story of The Expanse, which was published in October, 2011 as an e-book.


James S A Corey first book in The Expanse series is Leviathan Wakes which has received awards and nominations. The science fiction novel is set in a technologically advanced future where the solar system has been colonized by the human population. The interstellar space in between has however been left out of the human colonization. There is escalating tension and increasing political temperatures between the United Nations on Earth, Mars and outer planets in the solar system.

James Holed is at the helm of an ice freighter as the executive officer. The crew of the freighter, under his able command, includes Alex Kamal, the pilot and Naomi Nagata, who is second in command. Amos Burton is the resident mechanic on the ice freighter. As the plot thickens, Holden and his crew witness the destruction of their ship by unknown forces. Meanwhile, Julie Mao, an Earther who is missing, is the main subject of a frantic search conducted by police detective Miller. The characters find themselves entangled in unearthing a conspiracy by an evil corporation based on Earth that is bent on weaponising an alien molecule. The alien molecule is subsequently released on Eros Station and this is the genesis of an interplanetary war.

Rocinante, a Martian vessel is commandeered by Holden and his crew who aid Fred Johnson, the leader of the Outer Planet Alliance to subdue the threat. Eros later succumbs to the ravages of the alien protomolecule which moves on to the planet Venus. Its effects on the planet can only be the subject of speculation.

Leviathan Wakes was published in June 15, 2011 by Orbit Books and is available in a print, audio book and e-book version. The cover artistry is done by Daniel Dociu.


The science fiction novel by James S A Corey was published in June 26 2012 and it is the second novel in The Expanse series. It is 595 pages long and is available as an audio book, e-book and a print version.

The novel is set in a solar system that is plagued with conflicts and wars between the planets of Mars, Earth and an Asteroid Belt in the periphery. The Asteroid Belt is comprised of clusters of human colonies that populate different asteroids and they are aptly named Belters.

There are a number of recurring characters in the novel which revolves around a Martian Marine who helplessly watches as her platoon is annihilated on Gangmede. As the plot thickens, a highly placed politician with a lot of clout frantically tries to avert impending disaster by preventing the re-occurrence of a disastrous war between the planets.

As these events unfold, the planet Venus is slowly succumbing to the detrimental effects of an alien protomolecule which is threatening to spread its dangerous tentacles to the rest of the Solar System.

James Holden and the loyal crew of the Rocinante have maintained peace within and around the Outer Planet Alliance. They soon realize that the fate and destiny of humanity lies in their hands when they are tasked with locating a missing child on war torn Gangmede.

Calibans War has received several raves and reviews. gave the science fiction novel a positive overall review, though it says that readers will encounter tiresome dialogue interspersed with “cartoon characterized” bad elements.


James S A Corey wrote Leviathan Wakes which was published in the year 2011 and is currently being adapted for the silver screen as The Expanse series in the year 2015. On April 11, 2014, the American TV network Syfy ordered a Leviathan Wakes based direct to TV science fiction series named The Expanse. Syfy ordered for 10 initial episodes and Alcon Television Group was tasked with the production of the series based on the novel by James S A Corey. Mark Fergus and Hawk Otsby, both Academy Award winning screenwriters of note wrote the script for the initial pilot episode of The Expanse. They will continue offering their services as screenwriters and executive producers for the science fiction series.

The Expanse is a space opera science fiction drama whose first episode premiered on November 23, 2015 on online streaming services and on the American TV network Syfy on December 14, 2015. Its cast includes actors like Chad Coleman and Thomas Jane who plays Detective Josephus Miller. Shohren Aghdashaloo plays Chrisjen Avasarala, the United Nations Deputy Undersecretary of Executive Administration. Each episode is between 42 to 44 minutes long and the science fiction series was filmed at Toronto. Canada. The Expanse is distributed by NBC Universal Television Distributors and Legendary Global TV Distributors.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James S.A. Corey

Leave a Reply