Book Notification

James T. Callum Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beastborne Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Brookmoors Magi Books

Sylvie Asleton and the Shrike's Curse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pyresouls Apocalypse Books

Publication Order of Scale & Sea Books

Sovereign Soul (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shrubley, the Monster Adventurer Books

with K.H. Sohmer
Shrubley, the Monster Adventurer (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Voidknight Ascension Books

with K.H. Sohmer
Voidknight Ascension (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voidknight Ascension 2 (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voidknight Ascension 3 (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

James T. Callum
James T. Callum has loved reading for as long as he can remember. From the time he first read “The Wizard of Earthsea”, he was hooked.

For equally as long he has also been an avid DND player and gamer, along with other tabletop RPGs. Final Fantasys, Chrono Trigger, Illusion of Gaia, and on through the years as graphics and stories get better and better.

He’s been an avid gamer (consoles, tabletop, trading cards, and PC, of course) since he was a kid when the NES was first released with what he still considers his first RPG sort of game, called “River City Ransom”. He still loves the bits out of that game.

Once he learned that there was a genre that existed right at the intersection between his two loves, games and telling stories, he was sold. He’s always wanted to write stories and has so many stories to tell. If LitRPG hadn’t existed, he would have given the typical Sci-Fi and Fantasy a try.

Readers will be able to find hints of inspiration from all kinds of video games and RPGs in his books. From “Warcraft” to “Final Fantasy”, “Anno” to “Age of Empires”, and games like “Bloodborne” and “Dark Souls”. Because who doesn’t love a bit of cosmic horror thrown in for good measure. These games (as well as many others) have inspired him ever since he was a kid, and they are still his muse now that he is much older.

James writes gamelit and litRPG books, which are genres which are a blend of gaming and fantasy. His debut novel, called “Sylvie Asleton and the Shrike’s Curse”, was released in the year 2018.

“Mark of the Founders” is the first novel in the “Beastborne Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2020. The Founders were the first of the Marked, and they used their powers to subjugate the land, build entire kingdoms, and enrich themselves. And they’ll not suffer another to join their ranks.

Lost in a world with stats, levels, and monsters, Hal battles to survive in this unforgiving land and escape from execution from its rulers. Courage and ingenuity aren’t going to be enough. With Marked powers he doesn’t yet comprehend he is easy prey for all the aberrations, goblins, bandits, and foul monsters which plague the realm.

Hal is going to need to abandon every bit of his humanity by embracing the beast inside. To battle monsters, one must risk becoming a monster. If he’s able to survive just long enough to Level Up.

Safety and freedom can’t be achieved on his own. Just by forging bonds with fellow adventurers and monsters alike does Hal and his would-be-kingdom have any chance of surviving this hazardous realm.

“Exiled Lands” is the second novel in the “Beastborne Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2020. A trip through exiled lands in order to build and fight for a Sanctum’s survival. And a Beastborne which has to transcend the boundaries of his monstrous abilities and rise above his own primal nature, or else lose all of it.

To claim his powers as the Founder and secure everybody’s freedom, Hal and his team battle to build a Sanctum where there’s no other living kingdom dares to journey.

The search for some Manaseed to serve as the heart of the Sanctum is going to take Hal and his cohort to strange and distant, and force them to weather some vicious beasts and Manastorms alike.

To survive the trials ahead, Hal crafts weapons that are enchanted with rare loot and sates his own appetite for monster essences. All as he struggles to balance the price of his corrupting and otherworldly powers and securing a foothold in this unforgiving land.

Settlement building isn’t going to be easy with just days to get ready for a siege that they are not even a little ready for. Hal has to challenge his own limits as a Beastborne and juggle the needs of this burgeoning settlement of his. From constructing fortifications to keeping up morale and generating food, there’s not a minute’s amount of rest for Hal if he is to be the first Founder to successfully stake a claim in the Shiverglades.

Can he find the strength in one unlikely ally of the distant stars as he manages the defenses of his settlement, or is the tidal wave of bloodthirsty monsters destroy all of them?

“Mist Wardens” is the third novel in the “Beastborne Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2021. A new home that is close to disaster. A discovery about forbidden powers. And one savage winter fast is coming, Aldim doesn’t suffer the weak.

The end of the battle was meant to bring peace and establish the Bravers’ new home out in the Shiverglades. However all it brought is suffering and pain. With his closest friends lost to another realm, more than half of the settlement’s population injured, and the missing supply chains. Hal doesn’t have a second to rest. He might have won the battle with the Shiverglades, however he has yet to win the war. The Beastborne has got his work cut out for him if he plans on building a Sanctum that’s going to last.

Worse, a rival Founder plots against Hal, with threats to unleash this entity that’s fated to scar the Manaseed and cull the Bravers Guild at last. Fortunately, there is a bunch to turn to that is not preordained. A Reaper-turned-friend, industrious dwarves, and inventive koblins.

Wyrd Strain, and Bonecrafting could defy their fate. And he ain’t the only one that has newfound Class powers that may just give them a fighting chance. The Bravers Guild needs a lot more than just survival. They need their home intact.

However to do the impossible and reach across the divide between Worldshards in order to rescue their lost companions, the Manaseed’s Elysian powers have to be stronger. Could the Bravers Guild Level Up their settlement and their Manaseed through fighting, building, and crafting to conquer this coming storm, or are they going to succumb to a doomed fate after all of it?

Book Series In Order » Authors » James T. Callum

Leave a Reply