Book Notification

Jami Attenberg Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Memoirs Books

I Came All This Way to Meet You (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Instant Love (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kept Man (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Melting Season (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Middlesteins (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saint Mazie (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Grown Up (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
All This Could Be Yours (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Reason to See You Again (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

1000 Words: A Writer's Guide to Staying Creative, Focused, and Productive All Year Round (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jami Attenberg, a female American national, is a woman of letters and doubles up as a blogger. Attenberg, who is in her mid-forties, was born in 1971; her birthplace is Arlington Heights upon Illinois but spent most of her formative years in Buffalo Grove, also situated in Illinois. Attenberg, who confesses her love for dogs and crime fighting efforts, is presently domiciled in both Brooklyn upon New York and New Orleans upon Louisiana, wherein she works in a bookstore.

For her O levels, Jami Attenberg studied at the Buffalo Grove High School. For her undergraduate education, Jami Attenberg enrolled at the Baltimore-based John Hopkins University wherein she pursued writing. Attenberg, whose niche is particularly literary fiction, has had her essays published in many notable publications including the New York Times, the lifestyle-oriented magazine Elle, The Guardian, New York Magazine, Vogue, and The Wall Street Journal among many others.

Jami Attenberg’s bibliography comprises of essays, short stories, and standalone books. Attenberg’s work has been published in many European nations and in the United States. Subsequently, there are many translations of her acclaimed work. Did you know that Attenberg’s work has appeared alongside that of authors such as Canadian writer Laura Calder, American penman Dan Chaon, and famed Japanese scribbler Haruki Murakami?

Jami Attenberg: Formative Years of Writing
While still schooling at Buffalo Grove High School, Jami Attenberg served as the editor of their school newspaper. Attenberg has been a voracious reader and writer, something that is highlighted by clinching either a journalism or English award while still a student. In fact, one of her teachers at the said high school, hailed Attenberg as a cross between American novelist-cum-literary critic Anne Tyler and the late American essayist-cum-playwright Nora Ephron.

Jami Attenberg, who has worked in school libraries, observes that working as a bookseller has considerably shaped her writing skills. For instance, she opines that her stint as a bookseller has since re-established her declining conviction of seeing the book industry as the go-to connection with other members of the society.

Section on Books
On matters writing books, Jami Attenberg debuted in 2006, though the debut book comprised of stories. It was not until a year later when Attenberg penned her very first novel. There are about seven editions of Jami Attenberg’s earliest novel. However, the first edition of the scribbler’s debut novel was initially published in 2007, titled The Kept Man; and this standalone book is shelved under the fiction (especially women’s fiction), contemporary literature, novels, art, and mystery genres.

Jarvis Miller is the featured main character in Jami Attenberg’s 2007 novel named The Kept Man. Female protagonist Jarvis Miller is married to a man, martin Miller, who is an artist by profession. The turning point is when Martin slips from a ladder, hits a hard surface, and suffers from cerebral aneurysm. Consequently, Martin slips into a six-year-long comatose and is put on life support. After grieving for him for long and a lot of wishful thinking, Jarvis decides to re-establish her social life. As such, she befriends three gigolos who convene weekly to open up their personal problems. Coupled with a disheartening discovery of the then marital infidelity of Martin, Jarvis makes hard decisions, including resolving to end the life support, in a book that cemented Jami Attenberg’s writing skills.

Jami Attenberg Awards
Jami Attenberg is a prolific penwoman. As such, she has been nominated for many different prestigious literary awards. The following are the most notable ones. For instance, in 2012, Jami Attenberg was nominated for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, in the Fiction category; Attenberg was nominated courtesy of her 2012 book titled Middlesteins which, in the context of novels, is her third one, chronologically.

In 2013, Jami Attenberg was also nominated for the St. Francis College Literally Prize, thanks to her book Middlesteins. Incidentally, the said award recognizes literary fiction and is aimed at authors whose books are the third, fourth, and fifth in their bibliography, chronologically.

Jami Attenberg Books into Movies
Some of the literary works of Jami Attenberg have since been earmarked for film adaptations. For instance, Attenberg’s book named Middlesteins is presently a film in development. In late 2016, Showtime, the production company that secured the film rights of the book, announced it will adapt it into a 30 minute-long series wherein Attenberg will serve as the producer while Jason Kim will write the screenplay. CBS Television Studios is also participating in the project.

In 2015, Jami Attenberg published a book entitled Saint Mazie. Incidentally, the book is Attenberg’s fifth in her bibliography. The said book has since been optioned for filming and will be adapted into a miniseries. Fable Pictures in conjunction with Palantir Group are conducting the film adaptation, and the starring is Helena Bonham Carter who appears as Mazie Gordon-Phillips.

Best Jami Attenberg Books
The following are the best books authored by Jami Attenberg. The first is the two-time award-nominated book called Middlesteins. Basically, this revolves around a onetime close-knit family that is now in disarray because the husband-cum-father is angling for separating from the mother-cum-wife after a three-decade-long marriage; the reason for their separation is the wife’s life-threatening binge eating disorder.

The second is called Saint Mazie. It recounts the real-life story of a movie theater attendant who traversed New York streets, giving humanitarian aid to the homeless people during the problematic Great Depression. The third is named All Grown Up which was initially published in 2017. It features an unmarried and childless middle-aged seeking a sense of belonging amid social pressure.

Other Books You May Like
Readers who liked the literary works of Jami Attenberg also enjoyed reading the following standalone books. The first one is called Anybody Any Minute, authored by Julie Mars and initially published in 2008. It revolves around protagonist Ellen Kenny who is laid off from her job in virtue of her penchant for truth-telling and being mouthy, prompting her to embark on a soul-searching sojourn.

The second one is called Creamy Bullets, penned by Kevin Sampsell, and originally produced in 2008. It comprises of stories that chronicle the various aspects of everyday life, especially sex. The third one is called All This Heavenly Glory, penned by Elizabeth Crane, and originally published in 2005. It is comprises of many related short stories; protagonist Charlotte Anne Byers’ damnable life is relatable as it reflects lifetime tribulations.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jami Attenberg

Leave a Reply