Book Notification

Jan-Philipp Sendker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Art of Hearing Heartbeats Books

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Well-Tempered Heart (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart Remembers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Rising Dragon Books

Whispering Shadows (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Games / The Language of Solitude (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Far Side of the Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Rebel and the Thief (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Long Path to Wisdom (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jan-Philipp Sendker is a well known novelist and journalist from Germany, who is famous for writing literature & fiction, magical realism, mystery, nonfiction, thriller, and suspense stories. He is particularly famous for writing The Art of Hearing Heartbeats novel series. The first book of this series is an international bestseller. Author Sendker is also popular for his second book series called The Rising Dragon. The first book of this suspense-thriller series is also highly famous and widely successful. Author Sendker was born in the year 1960 in Hamburg, Germany. He developed the interest in writing stories and essays at a very young age. When he was 13 years, he wrote an essay in school about what he wants to do after growing up, that, is write novels. Subsequently, he was able to make his dream come true with hard work and determination. After finishing school, author Sendker did not take admission in a university. He decided to start writing novels immediately. Sendker came up with some very promising ideas and brilliant first chapters of stories, but he could not write more than 20 pages on each occasion. He thought that he needed some inspiration and subsequently traveled to Paris.

While in Paris, author Sendker studied the parisian lifestyle and language. Once again, he could not achieve much success. He returned to Germany and began working as a journalist on freelance basis. After a few years, a popular weekly magazine called Stern hired author Sendker for reporting work. This job helped Sendker to achieve his another dream, which was traveling to different countries of the world and exploring the various cultures and lifestyles. His first foreign trip with the magazine was in the United States. Sendker joined Stern’s New York City office in 1990 and became a US correspondent of the magazine. After working in US for 5 years in NYC, he shifted was asked to move to Hong Kong. He took up the role of Stern’s Asia correspondent. When Sendker realized that he has saved enough money to take a temporary retirement for writing his debut novel, he developed courage and asked for an unpaid leave of 3 years. Author Sendker spent a large part of his leave period in one of upstate New York’s small farmhouses and wrote Art of Hearing Heart-beats. Sendker had very high hopes with this novel, but it could achieve only moderate success. As Sendker didn’t achieve what he had hoped for, he returned to Stern and continued working as a correspondent.

Three years later, Sendker quit his journalist job completely and settled down to work as a full time writer. By this time, he had gained enough confidence to write his second book. He even started another book series called the China Trilogy series, also known as Raising Dragon series. Author Sendker’s books have been translated into as many as 35 languages. With his dedication towards his writing career, he was able to get listed among the bestselling writers in several countries. Author Sendker is quite content with whatever he has achieved in his life and career. He is grateful for his fans for supporting him throughout his career. He hopes they will continue to love and support him with all his future works. Sendker has collaborated with Kevin Wiliarty on many occasions for the translation of his novels. As of today, he resides in Potsdam, Germany along with his loving family and is hopeful of developing another novel series very soon.

The Rising Dragon book series written by author Jan-Philipp Sendker is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 2007 and 2016. Each of the books of this series feature the lead character in the role of Paul Leibovitz. Author Sendker has done the plot’s setting in Hong Kong and China. The debut book of the series is entitled ‘Whispering Shadows’. It was released by the Atria publication in the year 2015, after its first successful release in 2007. The book deals with the gripping story of an expat journalist from America residing in China, who is retired from service and attempts to solve a murder case. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that Paul Leibovitz’s life was once filled with all the happiness. After 30 years of living in Hong Kong, his life and marriage begin to fallout. This tragedy makes Paul live a lonely life on a distant island.

Later, he comes in contact with an American woman named Elizabeth. She seems distressed and is about to collapse when Paul Leibovitz discovers her. Paul helps her recover and ensures that she returns home safely. A day later, Paul learns that Elizabeth’s son has been murdered. He becomes saddened by this news and sets out with a new purpose in life to investigate the case. Paul joins Elizabeth and a close detective friend to find out terrifying facts about the underworld of Shenzhen. The dark secrets discovered in the process make them realize that the blooming country is filled with corruption throughout. And fighting the evil in this foreign country is going to be a very tough job for Paul Leibovitz. He doesn’t worry about the dangers and risk everything to move ahead with the investigation to unravel the truth.

Another exciting novel penned in this series is called ‘At the Other End of Night’. It was published by the Karl Blessing Verlag publication in 2016. This particular book revolves around love’s power, loss’s fear, and humanity’s power. The main characters mentioned include Christine, Paul Leibovitz, and David. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that Christine and Paul go through a nightmare while on their China trip. Their 4 year old son named David gets kidnapped. After some time, David return back somehow, but the abductors do not seem to give easily. They make attempts to kidnap him again. The family thinks that the safest place for them in China is only the American Embassy. But, they worry about how they are going to reach the embassy located in Beijing because all the roads, airports, and stations are monitored. Paul knows that he cannot get his family at the embassy without some help. But, no one seems to be willing to take the risk of giving them shelter. Paul & Christine look for someone they can trust with their lives. This book was well appreciated for its interesting story and exciting set of characters. Readers from many countries enjoyed it very much and responded with rave reviews. Author Sendker was praised for his unique writing skills and determination in bringing up such an exciting story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jan-Philipp Sendker

Leave a Reply