Book Notification

Jane Green Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Straight Talking (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jemima J (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Maybe (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bookends (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Babyville (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Have and to Hold / Spellbound (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Woman (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swapping Lives / Life Swap (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vacation (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chance (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beach House (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dune Road / Girl Friday (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Love Verb / Promises To Keep (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another Piece of My Heart / The Patchwork Marriage (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Pictures (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving Grace (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tempting Fate (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Secrets (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sunshine Sisters (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Friends We Keep (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sister Stardust (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Walk in the Park (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat and Jemima J (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Modern Fairy Tale (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Taste (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Cosmo's Sexiest Stories Ever(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jane Green Warburg, or simply Jane Green as her pen name dictates, is an English author who creates novels that are primarily aimed at women. Having been credited as one of the forerunners of the ‘chick lit’ genre, she is regarded as a pioneer within her field. This is a career that’s set to continue, as she writes novels that are both critically and commercially well-received.

Early and Personal Life

Having attended the University of Wales in Aberystwyth, Jane Green graduated becoming a journalist for the duration of her twenties. Having been born in London on the 31st of May, 1968, she was to go on and create the genre that was to commonly be known as ‘chick lit’. Currently living in Connecticut, she lives with her second husband after having divorced her previous partner.

Living with her six children, her and her husband Ian Warburg also have four cats and two dogs. Still writing to this day, she spends a lot of her free-time engaged in philanthropic duties, including Paul Newman’s camp for kids that have been inflicted with life-threatening diseases; ‘The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp’. She also regularly donates to a number of breast cancer charities, as well as the Bethel Recovery Center. Supporting the Westport Country Playhouse and the Westport Public library, she is also a well established patron for the arts too.

With both commercial and critical success, she has gained a sizable following of her work over the years. Writing for a number of publications still, she also speaks at a number of writer’s conferences too. As she continues to top the bestseller lists regularly, she will continue writing into the foreseeable future.

Writing Career

Starting out in the United Kingdom as a writer for newspapers, she began her literary career in journalism as she wrote about a number of topics, usually centered around opinion pieces. Working for papers such as the ‘Daily Express’ where she wrote features, she found that she had an ever increasing following for her pieces. This soon led to her taking time-out to focus on her own literary career as she begun to work on a novel whilst freelancing. After seven months of writing her first book there was a sudden bidding war between publishers as she soon released her first book titled ‘Straight Talking’ in 1997 to much fanfare.

Heralding the arrival of a new voice in women’s literature, Green was to pave the way for others as she opened up the field for many female writers to follow in her footsteps. Soon she was to garner the title of ‘Queen of Chick Lit’ all thanks to her unique and innovative approach to the form. With her novels regularly hitting the top of the bestseller lists worldwide ever since the beginning, she’s no stranger to commercial success as her popularity continues to grow day-by-day.

Having now written for the ABC News team as well, as she’s previously followed the British royal wedding for them, she manages herself across a number of American daytime television programs, such as ‘Good Morning America’ and ‘The Today Show’. Continuing to write from her home in Westport, she shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as she carries on creating characters of ever increasing complexity.

Jemima J: A Novel About Ugly Ducklings and Swans

The first novel from Jane Green, this was the book that was to originally launch her writing career. Originally published in 1998 on the 1st of January, it set the tone for much that was to come from this ever prolific author. It also helped establish her audience and who she was as a writer of female oriented literature.

Feeling herself to be overweight, Jemima Jones finds that she is treated preciously by those around her, especially her skinny roommates. At work she also finds that Geraldine, a beautiful co-worker of hers, is being paid more yet is far less qualified and skilled as she is. Working at the Kilburn Herald, Jemima soon starts to take solace in food which she discovers to be her one consolation amidst all this. She soon finds that she wants a change in her life as she wants to alter it drastically, especially after meeting Ben, a handsome yet seemingly unobtainable colleague of hers, and she soon decides it’s time she moved on. That’s when she goes online to meet Brad, a hunk from California who she feels she must reinvent herself for as she becomes the woman she feels he wants her to be. It soon transpires that he may have ideals different than what she originally thought. Will she find Brad to be all she hoped he is and how will he find her once they do finally meet? What are his true tastes and how does he really feel about larger women? Where will her travels take her in this novel about Jemima J?

Straight Talking: A Novel

Brought out in 2003, this novel from Jane Green was first published in America and was to be her fifth book. Getting recognition in the States, Green found that she’d proved herself with the success of her previous books, thus leading to her deal in America. As she got the success that was required, she soon found that she was to have transatlantic appeal with the release of this novel.

Featuring the story of Tasha this time, it charts her progress as a producer of a morning show that’s one of Britain’s most popular. Whilst she is single, but still looking, she is dating in the hope of finding the right guy for her. With her three friends they all hope to secure the men in their lives who seem to just drift through without staying in any one place. As they hope to set their sights on the ideal guy, they look to gain a more grounded sense of life and the world around them. Will they find the one for them who can make them settle down once and for all? Can they find who they are and what they want from life? What will become of them as they look to do some straight talking?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jane Green

Leave a Reply