Book Notification

Jane Healey (Beantown Girls) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Saturday Evening Girls Club (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beantown Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Animals at Lockwood Manor (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Stealers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ophelia Girls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodnight From Paris (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Books

Vol 7 (By: Mahsuda Snaith,Claire Griffiths,Tom Vowler) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 10 (By: Emily Brewin) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 9 (By: Kate Brown) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 8 (By: Brent van Staalduinen,J.R. McConvey,Magdalena McGuire) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 2 (By: Inna Gertsberg) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 3 (By: Rachel Howard) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 12 (By: Cameron Stewart) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vol 13 (By: Stephen Narain,Tehila Lieberman,Faiza Hasan) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology: Vol 4(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology: Vol 5(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 6(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Jane Healey

American author Jane Healey is well known for her creative and unique perspective of the historical fiction genre. Paying close attention to detail every step of the way, she really knows and understands what she’s doing when it comes to the format. She’s an innovative writer with a lot to say, and her voice is genuine, authentic, and gets straight-to-the-point in a very direct manner. The stories themselves are also very engaging, allowing her readers to really invest themselves in her stories and worlds.

Speaking regularly on her craft, she would previously work in the high-tech industry prior to turning to writing full-time. This would provide her with a wider sense of perspective, bringing in a broad range of influences into her work, allowing it to become far more diverse. Knowing her audience well, she perfectly understands the rules of the genre, playing with them, and turning them on their head in the process. From this she has carved herself a different approach to the genre, establishing herself a brand and name that is entirely idiosyncratic.

Her characters are also testament to her many skills as a writer, really establishing her as a writer with a close ear for dialogue. Setting herself apart, she pushes the format to its full potential, taking it even further in the process, allowing it to become something different. Each of her protagonists create a long-lasting impression upon the reader, making a considerable impact, and staying with them long after they put the book down. With a lot more to come yet, she really isn’t stopping any time soon either, as her writing career carries on growing from strength-to-strength.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Boston, the author to be Jane Healey was born and raised with a keen passion for all things literature and writing. This would be a pastime of hers over the intervening years, as she would work to nurture it as an interest of hers. Building upon it along with her voice as a writer, she would develop it long into her career as an adult too, before turning to it full-time.

Leaving a career in high-tech, she would go on to become a freelance writer, which would see her move more permanently into her current position. This would fully take hold with the release of her first novel in 2017, as she would then go on to focus primarily on historical fiction. Currently living just outside of Boston, she continues to write full-time living with her family, as there’s more to be released soon.

Writing Career

In 2017 Jane Healey would publish her first novel which was titled ‘The Saturday Evening Girls Club’ and it would be a fictional title set in a period of history. This would also pave the way for more to follow, as she would then go on to publish ‘The Beantown Girls’ in 2019. Her second book would be set in World War Two, which would be much like her third book, ‘The Secret Stealer,’ brought out in 2021.

The Saturday Evening Girls Club

Originally brought out through the ‘Lake Union Publishing’ imprint, this was to be the first book to come from Jane Healey as an author. Not being a part of any overall series as such, it would set her up as an author for the first time with something to say. First released in 2017 on the 25th of April, it would be a fiction story featuring the lives of four young women set in the early nineties.

Looking at friendship and the importance of social bonds, this book is a heart-warming and evocative story. There’s a lot for the reader to engage themselves with here, in this funny and highly compelling story that keeps the reader hooked the whole way through. Not only that, but the characters stay with the reader long after they’ve put the book down, creating a long lasting impression quite unlike any other.

Taking place during the early 1990s, this sees four young immigrant women as they come together whilst living in the North End of Boston. Dreaming of opening her own hat shop, Caprice comes up against her own Sicilian-born parents, while Ada takes college classes in secret, despite what her Russian Jewish wants. Then there’s Maria who’s beautiful and could marry anyone, but doesn’t want to end up like her mother, and finally there’s Thea who wants to assert herself amidst the strict rigmarole of her families Jewish tradition. Will there Saturday social-pottery group together help them find the respite they need? Can they find what they’re looking for? What will become of the Saturday Evening Girls Club?

The Secret Stealers

First published in 2021 on the 1st of April, this would be another stand-alone title with its own self-contained narrative. Published through the ‘Lake Union Publishing’ outlet once more, it would be the third book to be released by Jane Healey as an author. Working as a historical fiction novel set in World War Two, it’s an espionage story with a high-degree of suspense and tension throughout.

Not just a highly entertaining novel filled with suspense, though, it’s also a story about one woman’s struggle in a difficult situation. Fighting for what is right, she has a lot of important issues to contend with, and this book looks at them well. Both the character and the setting it given equal importance, creating a compelling read in the process that fully immerses the audience.

An intelligent and gifted young private school French teacher based in Washington DC, Anna Cavanaugh would be recruited into the Office of Strategic Services. Tasked with becoming a spy in Nazi-occupied France during the Second World War, she’s soon sent abroad to gain critical intelligence working with the French Resistance. This sees her taking a dangerous assignment abroad, as she seeks to help not only her country back home in the war effort, but to also help liberate France too. Will she be able to manage this difficult assignment safely though? Can she find the much needed intelligence? What will become of the secret stealers?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jane Healey (Beantown Girls)

Leave a Reply