Book Notification

Jane Isaac Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Helen Lavery Books

An Unfamiliar Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth Will Out (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deathly Silence (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evil Intent (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadows (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DI Will Jackman Books

Before It's Too Late (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Ashes (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lies Within (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DC Beth Chamberlain Books

The Other Woman (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Better, For Worse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hush Little Baby (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

One Good Lie (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Fatal Secret (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jane Isaac is one of the most promising authors of this generation who shot into the limelight with the DCI Helen Lavery book series. Isaac lives with her husband, her daughter, and Bollo, her dog in the rural region of Northamptonshire, United Kingdom. An Unfamiliar Murder is Jane Isaac’s debut novel, and in this installment, Jane Isaac introduces the readers to her creation, DCI Helen Lavery. During the festivals of Words, An Unfamiliar Murder was nominated in the category Best of the Independent eBook 2013. The second installment in the DCI Helen Lavery was also nominated for another award by in the category Thriller of the Month. In the year 2015, Jane Isaac began working on a new and exciting book series, that features DCI Will Jackman, with Before It’s Too Late being the first installment in the series. Beneath the Ashes is the second installment in the DCI Will Jackman book series and will be released on the 2nd of May 2017.

Jane Isaac Best Books

An Unfamiliar Murder

An Unfamiliar Murder is a brilliantly written mystery novel that introduces the readers to DCI Helen Lavery. This well-crafted mystery novel will keep the readers guessing. Just when the readers think they have an idea of who the culprit was, the narrative takes an unexpected turn. The story is not only believable but also is fast-paced, thereby ensuring that the readers are fully entertained. Author Jane Isaac has a talent for weaving stories that are filled with diverse characters who are different from one another, yet each of them believable, well developed and interesting. The narrative begins with Anna, the heroine, arriving home only to find a dead man in her flat. The strange thing is that she has never seen that man. As the events continue to unfold, the mystery continues to intensify. Anna does not know who to trust because everyone seems suspicious.

Anna becomes the main suspect in the investigations. Thus, it is up to one, DCI Hellen Lavery to look into the mystery, where secrets and family intrigue are at the center of the case. Helen needs to uncover which of these secrets are relevant to her case and which of these secrets should remain hidden. DCI Helen needs to balance her very first murder case with a deputy, who appears to be against everything that she does. Overall, DCI Hellen is a brilliantly written character, whom many of the readers are going to empathize with. The intricacy of the relationship between the cast of characters is fascinating. If you are a reader who loves to read police procedural novels that feature a great cast of characters, then you should read An Unfamiliar Murder.

The Truth Will Out

Just like the first installment, An Unfamiliar Murder, the opening chapters of The Truth Will Out are quite scary. The Truth Will Out begins as Eva witnesses an attack on her friend. Out of fear, Eva has no option but to flee. At this point, Eva has no idea whether her friend is safe and who she should trust. The central character in The Truth Will Out is none other than Hellen, a single mother of two boys who also serves as a police officer. Jane Isaac has managed to create an extremely strong character, Helen. Helen is not only intelligent but also extremely passionate about her work. As it is the case with any realistic characters, DCI Helen has her flaws. The murder investigation has been meticulously executed while the police procedurals have been followed to the latter. There is suspense, drama, action, and mystery throughout the book.

While the Truth Will Out is an intricately planned, it is still a character-driven narrative with DCI Hellen Lavery shuffling between her duties as a single mother and profession as a police detective. While going through the novel, you will notice that author; Jane Isaac is a gifted author who has the ability to pen distinctively flowing novel that is hard to put down.

Before It’s Too Late

In this installment, author Jane Isaac establishes herself as an exceedingly strong and confident crime writer. Isaac is u8ndeniably an author that the reader should look out for. In Before Its Too Late author Jane Isaac introduces the readers to Will Jackman an exceedingly likable workaholic copper. Jackman is given a high profile missing-person case. Before It’s Late has been set is Stratford, a town where young women have been mysteriously disappearing. The local police cannot help but wonder, where their town is under siege from a serial killer. They decide to name the mission Operation Sky. The most recent case involved one Min Li, a Chinese student who was lastly seen leaving a local pub after an altercation with her boyfriend. Could the Chinese Student be the latest victim of Operation Sky?

It does not take long before her parents receive ransom demands. Thus, this case evolves from being homicide to an abduction. The pressure now lies on the local police to find Min Li before anything bad happens to her. In this installment, Jack Willman is now a police inspector. He is given the task of finding the Chinese University student as well as putting her kidnappers behind bars. With that said, Will Jackman is a complex and likable character. He is a man who has been torturing himself over an accident that appeared to change his life completely. One year ago, Will’s wife was injured in an accident. His wife was behind the wheel because Will Jackman was very drunk.

The narrative is told partly via Min Lin’s character as well as Jackman’s character. Author Jane Isaac has portrayed Min Lin so vividly such that the readers will undeniably feel compassion for her and her predicament. Min Li wakes up only to find out that she has been buried in a concrete pit. Her reflections and thoughts throughout the entire ordeal give the readers and well-rounded picture of her persona. She is an exceedingly bright woman who was brought up with strict Chinese parents. She finds herself thousands of kilometers in enjoying the opportunities and freedoms that she had only dreamed of. At this point, she can only wonder whether she is going to enjoy a future of any kind. Her situation is dire while her panic is palpable. Thus, the readers cannot help but wonder how anyone can manage to cope with such a situation.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jane Isaac

Leave a Reply