Book Notification

Jane Johnson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Eidolon Chronicles Books

The Secret Country (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow World (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon's Fire (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Moroccan Books

Crossed Bones / The Tenth Gift (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Salt Road (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sultan's Wife (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Fellowship of the Ring Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of the King Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord of the Rings Complete Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Visual Companion (As:Jude Fisher) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fool's Gold Books

as Jude Fisher
Sorcery Rising (As:Jude Fisher) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Magic (As:Jude Fisher) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose of the World (As:Jude Fisher) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tag, the Cat Books

as Gabriel King

Publication Order of Knot Garden Books

as Gabriel King

Publication Order of Anthologies

Swashbuckling Fantasy(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jane Johnson is an English author of science fiction and fantasy books who has a wealth of experience in the book industry. She has worked as a publisher, bookseller and also as a writer. Jane spent many months during the 80s and 90s when she was responsible for the trilogy of the J RR Tolkien’s movie The Lord of Rings. Currently, she divides her time between Morocco and Cornwall with her Beber pirate. However, she is still working for HarperCollins as a fiction publishing director.

Johnson has written a couple of books for children. She wrote for the films three bestselling visual compassions apart from her other books, and her hit is The Eidolon Chronicles which is a magical fantasy. Many of this author’s books have had translations into many languages and also sold incredibly in over twenty countries. Her travel and adventurous life has seen her explore places like Morocco which has been of great contribution when it comes to her writing.

The Secret Country

The Secret Country comes first in her Eidolon Chronicles Series. It is a magical fantasy book characterized by magical creatures, plenty of action, myths, and magic. The book is about a boy who has contact with magical creatures in the attempt to save them from a character that is against them. Ben happens to have a lot of adventure from the moment that he gets into contact with the cat at the store.

His mother is a princess, but on the other world, she is sick and about to die putting the eidolon at the risk of lousy leadership. Someone on this different world is responsible for sneaking the creatures from there and selling them in this world which endangers the other world by lessening the magic.

He has to move to the other world, but before he does this, he has got to move past dangerous characters among them Mr Dodd’s and his uncle not to mention his creepy cousin together with her cat. Through the new land, Ben has to be careful especially when it comes to his interactions with new creatures in the attempt to halt the problem at hand.

Jane Johnson has simply crafted a remarkable story with an excellent plot, definition of characters and places that compel the reader to have more of this book. The simplicity in which she has created this story makes it possible for one to follow the events involved which also have an incredible taste of action such as that seen in the monster battles. It’s a piece that is worth giving time for the lovers of magical fantasy books.

The Shadow World

The Shadow World is the second book in The Eidolon Chronicle Series. The book is full of adventure and action bringing in a magical world at the same time having a small bit of the real world. Ben is on the mission to expose Mr Dodds who is bringing the magical creatures from their world and selling them to the rich and curious in England. However, the small task turns out to be bigger than he thought.

Ben’s mother and other family members also do cross into this other world with the aim of stopping this treacherous character since this has an effect on them and that’s when things get complicated. The family has a huge task ahead of them, but the biggest of them all is to search each other before they can embark on what took them to that secret country. Ellie, Ben’s sister, walks right into a trap while the others are lost in the dangerous and magical terrain of the eidolon.

The author has laid out the plot interestingly and humorously and of course with much action. As one navigates through the book, they can almost feel themselves go through the terrain, the wars and the magic that is described in the piece. It is a story that has a great setting and becomes more interesting and fun as you move along. She has created a fast, authentic and hugely entertaining story for her readers to ensure that they get to understand and connect events and facts without really having to strain.

Dragon’s Fire

Dragon’s Fire is the third book found in The Eidolon Chronicles Series. This is an incredible story that climaxes the Eidolon crisis. The crisis is at its final round where they manage to subdue the enemy of their country to restore their peace.

The queen goes to Eidolon to fight against the forces that are led by Dodman. On the other world, ben is suspicious of their new neighbour who looks more like a witch, and he is deeply convinced that she has ill motives. The family is in a tight corner since they are at war with some individuals, but the greatest of them all is that from Dodman who will get to the most significant extremes to bring the family down. At one time they are lost in an isolated island until they are saved some friends, silver and the Nautilus.

The hero of the day is Ben’s sister, Alice where she reappears and destroys the Dodman who has been the main reason behind the antagonism. The book has a remarkable conclusion with the reuniting of their family and later the reclamation of their throne. As the book grows to the end, things get more interesting bringing more action into play as each of the characters is determined to win. Jane has a brilliant way of developing a story, and this is seen from the way she places the characters at different times to bring out her themes.

It’s a book that has been written with the utmost professionalism and has created a piece that will draw your attention from the beginning to the end. Through the entire book, Jane has maintained simplicity in her language while still managing to make the reader understand her intended message. It is something that will grab the reader’s attention adding, tension, suspense and a bit of humour all through.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jane Johnson

Leave a Reply