Book Notification

Jane Thornley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Agency of the Ancient Lost & Found Books

The Carpet Cipher (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crown that Lost its Head (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Florentine's Secret (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Artemis Key (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thread of the Unicorn (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow of the Emperor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Zambezi Code (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Templar's Daughter (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Cosmati Chronicles Books

The Cosmati Prophecy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cosmati Connection (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crime by Design Books

Rogue Wave (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warp in the Weave (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beautiful Survivor (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Greater of Two Evils (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plunge (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of None of the Above Books

Publication Order of Time Shadows Books

Consider Me Gone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirit in the Fold (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Frozen Angel (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of the Storm (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Murder Files(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jane Thornley
Jane Thornley is a fiction author who has always loved creating stories. While in elementary school, Thornley enjoyed telling her friends about her flying horse that she flew in silence and kept hidden in the closet. Her friends loved her stories, but the adults had to teach her the difference between fiction and lying. Now, as an adult, Thornley has several works of fiction to her name. Even after working as a professional librarian, English teacher, knitwear designer, and travel host, being an author is the only job she considers her career. Thornley currently lives in Nova Scotia by the river and enjoys traveling to different parts of the world with her husband.

Rogue Wave
Rogue Wave introduces Phoebe McCabe, an unemployed textile artist working to put her life together as she searches for her missing brother. When Phoebe’s godfather requests her to trace Toby’s final steps, she jumps on the opportunity. However, it doesn’t take Phoebe long to discover that her godfather, Max Baker, is not completely honest. Her father is also trying hard to keep a family secret hidden. As Phoebe uncovers all these details, her brother’s secret life starts becoming clearer. She realizes everyone around is not who they seem, so it is hard to trust them. What treasure was Phoebe’s brother hunting for before he disappeared?

Just like a knit sweater, this story has numerous twists and turns. There are also many men here, but none of them is a hero. Phoebe has to rely on her wit to trace her brother. Amid all the confusion, danger, and adventure, Phoebe discovers some secrets that will leave her heartbroken. Fortunately, she doesn’t dwell too much on what is not working for her. She is one determined woman, and you cannot help but cheer her on and hope she will get all the answers she is looking for. Why would people so close to her continue deceiving her when it would be so easy, to tell the truth? Why are they getting her involved now?
One outstanding thing about this book is it is impossible to predict what will happen on the next page. Just when you think you have it all figured out, the author will surprise you with yet another twist. It is fun getting surprised on every page, and this will keep you glued until you have read the entire story. The storyline is also unique, not to mention the detailed descriptions of textiles and knitwork. For readers who have seen Thornley’s knit designs, this book proves that she cannot only do magic with a thread but also her words. The pace picks up right from the first page and doesn’t ease until the end.

Rogue Wave introduces Phoebe, Max, and Noel. You will find these characters in other books by Thornley, so you may consider getting it if you have read any of her work. It is interesting how Phoebe gets caught up in the treasure hunting world, and this marks the start of a new life for her. Later in other books, Phoebe will get a job connected to what she does in this one, and whatever she learns here will be used many times over. Phoebe has a lot on her hands with a murder mystery to solve and family members with secrets to protect. This book is a perfect read for a cold winter night or when you want to curl to a well-knitted, character-driven, and wonderful cozy mystery story.

The Carpet Cipher
The Carpet Cipher is an adventure-filled story that will take you across continents as an art expert hunts for stolen treasures. When a family friend is murdered, Phoebe McCabe is called to unravel the mystery behind the killing. Phoebe is an art and textiles expert working with Interpol. Her work involves tracing art thieves and ensuring that these pieces are returned to their rightful owners. Phoebe is informed that an ancient painting was stolen when the murder happened, so she is sure that if she can find the thieves, the murderers will be found. Immediately Phoebe sees the painting’s picture; she discovers a special illustration. This discovery makes her dig deeper into history, and this only comes with more shocking revelations.

Through the painting, a secret that could shake cultural and religious foundations in two continents are revealed. Phoebe starts on a rollicking chase that takes her around Marrakech and Venice. With the help of friends, the talented historian manages to outwit all the nasty people chasing her. However, some people Phoebe trust ends up disappointing her, and the young woman is left with a broken heart. Follow Phoebe and her friends as they work to defeat the rich and entitled. They will not only have to find the owners of the treasure but ensure that justice is served. Secrets will need to be revealed, and there is a chance that whatever this team uncovers will change history. Will Phoebe manage to catch the killer and recover the painting?

This is an intriguing mystery that will take you an adventure through the dark canals in Venice to Souks in Marrakech. There will be a lot of action, some intrigue, and just the right dose of romance. The book is well-plotted, and the author has done a good job with the narration. Curious to discover the secrets that Phoebe uncovered? How about her heartbreak and how she recovers from it? You will have to read this to the end to enjoy all this and more. Fortunately, the story reads fast, and you can gobble it all in a single sitting.

If you love action-packed, twisty mysteries filled with engaging characters, consider buying The Carpet Cipher. This book not only comes with a unique storyline, but the detailed descriptions and the numerous characters make it stand out. The author also includes a lot of historical details and rich locales to give this book an edge. Even though a lot is going on, the story flows well, and it is easy to follow it to the end. The descriptions of Venice will also make you feel like you are there with Phebe, chasing art thieves and trying to bring a murderer to justice.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jane Thornley

Leave a Reply