Book Notification

Jane Yellowrock Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jane Yellowrock Books

Skinwalker (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Cross (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mercy Blade (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat Tales (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raven Cursed (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Golden Delicious (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Have Stakes, Will Travel (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Rival (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Trade (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Early Years (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jane Yellowrock World Companion (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat o' Nine Tales (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath a Bloody Moon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Arts (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Water (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Soul (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Heir (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood in Her Veins (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow Rites (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Reign (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Queen (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattered Bonds (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
True Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Claws and Fangs (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Heir (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Jane Yellowrock series is also known as Skinwalker, possibly named after the first book in its run and the primary concept behind the story and its protagonist.

Eponymously named, Jane Yellowrock stands as the last of her species, a Cherokee skinwalker; enabled to turn into any creature of her choosing, Jane makes a living out of hunting vampires.

One might describe her life as progressing down a fairly ordinary path for her line of work; that is until she encounters the madam of Katie’s ladies. The oldest vampire in New Orleans, Katherine Fontaneau is a little extraordinary for Jane’s tastes, the ancient being calling the skinwalker into her service and tasking Jane with the objective of hunting a rogue vampire, this then forcing her into a less than pleasant world.

The Jane Yellowrock series first hit the bookshelves in 2009 with Skinwalker, bringing to the literary world Jane, supernatural hunter and alpha female who would encounter many an adventure in the quickly expanding skinwalker universe.

The story of skinwalker is told within the seven books that constitute the Jane Yellowrock series, the most recent of which, Black Arts, was published in January 2014.

Complimenting this primary story however is a vast array of anthologies and short stories, from First sight to Black water, Cajun with Fangs, Haints and many more.

The Skinwalker world

The skinwalker story takes place in New Orleans, Louisiana and is primary inhabited by two types of supernatural creatures, namely: the vampires and skinwalkers.

Jane Yellowrock is the primary protagonist of the story, a black haired vampire hunter of Cherokee descent. Empowered by the blood of her race, Jane has the ability to take the form of any creature, the most notable of which include a devil cat, puma, catamount, screamer and cougar.

As a skinwalker Jane has the ability to resist vampire compulsion. Additional notable characters complimenting Jane’s presence in the series include Brandon and Brian Robere of Clan Arceneau’s house, twins that once fed on vampire blood, acquiring long life and enhanced strength; the so called blood master of New Orleans Leonard Eugene Zacharie Pellisier of the Pellisier clan, the Bruiser George Dumas, Molly Trueblood and many more.

The Author

Faith Hunter is responsible for bringing Jane Yellowrock to life; a native of Louisiana, Faith gained renown from her work on the equally successful series, Rogue Mage, the story chronicling the trials of neomage Thorn St. Croix in a world long devastated by apocalyptic battles between demons and evil, the ultimate fight between seraph and demon calling upon mankind plagues of a terrible nature.

A commendable work of fiction, Hunter continues to utilize her strengths with her follow up work, Skinwalker, putting onto display a skillful ability to weave trials and tales of a supernatural nature.

Faith spent a considerable portion of her young life on the Bayous were she mastered various skills such as fishing, crabbing and survival; she wouldn’t gain her love of fantasy until grade school where she couldn’t get enough of the reading material on offer, eventually determining to make a living out of writing, that is once her interest in the hospital laboratory field waned, a career she revisits once in a while to keep her license active.


Published in 2009 skinwalker is the first novel in the Jane Yellowrock series. It introduces Jane as the last of her kind, a vampire hunter with the ability to shift into the form of any animal at will.

Living her life hunting vampires, a decision to work under the auspices of the oldest vampire in New Orleans, Katherine Fontaneau, to hunt a rogue vampire hunting other vampires opens Jane’s world up to a whole slew of trouble.

Skinwalker balances the elements of the paranormal and romance in chronicling Jane’s attempts to execute her chosen task. Hampered in her mission by men skulking in the shadows and hiding a different agenda, Jane must also contend with complications arising from Beast, a mountain Lion that shares her body and whose relationship with her baffles Jane more than any other mystery of the known world.

The novel boasts of a lush background, crafting a detailed image of New Orleans and its unique environment, the story progressing at a relatively steady pace, never bogged down by the information damps present in many premier novels.

Some complications arise with Jane’s characterization, ranging from gun totting badass to soft girly individual, Faith Hunter never quite determining the sort of image she intends to portray in her primary protagonist. The novel none the less stands above these failings as a decent supernatural story peppered by romantic facets.

Blood Cross

The second novel in the Jane Yellowrock series finds Jane further cementing her relationship with the night by choosing undertake a task for the Vampire Council, whose wishes are for her to use her notable skills to locate a member of the council that has broken ancient laws.

The task proves to be anything but simple. The vampire council boasts several thousands of years of history. With the assistance of her best friend, a witch, Jane must overcome the bitter rivalries arising from long standing feuds and misguided loyalties to uncover the secrets behind the vampire race and the purposes of those that wish her harm.

The second book in the series further elucidates upon the supernatural elements of the skinwalker world, following Jane’s attempts at locating the master vampire responsible for creating new vampires and unleashing them upon an innocent population. Tensions rise regarding Jane’s relationship with Leo Pellisier and the murderous feelings he harbors towards her regarding the events of the first book.

The series expands its cast of natural and supernatural characters, introducing a band of ex soldiers and their leader Derek whose vigilante activities prove useful to Jane’s cause; George the human vampire servant, Rick the undercover cop and many more.

Weaving characters effortlessly to set the stage for the next installment in the Jane Yellowrock series, Blood Cross isn’t without is faults. Even with the increased levels of blood, action and gore, Jane is less badass and more research inclined this time round; this proving to be little more than a bump in the road of another thrilling ride in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jane Yellowrock

One Response to “Jane Yellowrock”

  1. Moral K Myers: 2 years ago

    Love the books


Leave a Reply