Book Notification

Janet W. Ferguson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Coastal Hearts Books

Magnolia Storms (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling for Grace (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of Rivers (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star Rising (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Love of Joy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Healing Skye (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holding On To Hope (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Southern Hearts Books

Leaving Oxford (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going Up South (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tackling the Fields (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blown Together (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Heart"wings" Devotional(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Janet W. Ferguson is American fiction, Christian, and romance writer. She won the 2020 FHL Readers Choice Award and Christy Award, finalist. The author has always been a devoted reader and was a former librarian before later turning into writing contemporary stories filled with faith and realistic characters.
Janet lives in Mississippi with her husband, dog, and cat.

Leaving Oxford
Leaving Oxford is the first novel in the Southern Hearts series. Advertising guru Sara Beth thought escaping home to Oxford, Mississippi, was a good idea until she realized it wasn’t. One year has passed since an accident in Los Angeles turned her world upside down. She is still in hiding in her hometown of Oxford, and she seems to stay there forever.

Sarah has tried to forget her past but suffers from panic attacks and prays for healing each day. Though she has a successful career and is liked by many people, she struggles with her crushing anxiety, and her haven has turned to be a prison for her.

The author has done a superb job portraying her daily struggles and prayers. Her prayers are answered in the form of an arrogant football coach. Jess McCoy is a former college quarterback who has always dreamed of playing professional football, but one wrong hit fades his chances.

He greatly enjoys his job as University offensive coordinator. His plans seem to come to fulfillment before he falls in love with a woman who doesn’t want to leave town. The thought of leaving the town makes Sarah nervous. She is even unwilling to commit herself to a romantic relationship again after her first love passed away. She is lucky to have supportive church family and friends despite all that.

The author’s focus on Sarah’s crippling abilities makes the story unique, and as she learns to believe in God, she finds strength that keeps her moving forward. Sarah Beth is an honest and compelling character, and it’s so adorable reading about her.

The chemistry between Jess and Sarah is so sweet and the slow-burn type. There is good humor, great friendships making the novel more than a simple romance story.

The story plot mainly focuses on the characters and the challenges that life can throw at people. Leaving Oxford is a well-written, uplifting, and faith-filled tale that partially inspires the readers.

Janet discusses some subjects like anxiety disorder and past histories as she draws characters that one can connect with and cheer for as they grow strong spiritually.

The scenes with humor make the story even more fascinating to read. This is a troy on leaving behind sinning and living a life where God is in control. The novel is Christian fiction with much emphasis on the inspirational aspect. It’s the kind of story that leaves the reader inspired at the end of the reading and gives reminders and propels them to take a moment and reflect. As Sarah’s story unfolds page after the other, you will meet the woman she currently is and the one she was in the past as the author takes the readers through the struggles through the grace of God.

The story also talks about her mistakes in the present and the past and how she needs to be in God’s arms to help her make it through. Be sure to be immersed with every character with their story to tell right from the start.

The romance is tender and mature, and Jess is the kind of man who knows that ladies are worth waiting for. Even when he realizes that Sarah feels broken on the inside, he remains patient. The romance develops slowly, and it’s admirable to watch it grow deep throughout the story.

Magnolia Storms
Maggie Marovich has some knowledge of both storms, but she prefers to avoid them. In the past, she lost her parents in a storm and when her lover and best friend refused to give up his dream of piloting ships, the job that led to her father’s death, she left him.

Since she couldn’t save her father from Hurricane Katrina, Maggie has dedicated her life to meteorology so that she can help others when the storms approach. However, she only works three hours inland and doesn’t want to go to Mississippi.

Together with her sister, they refused to leave the coast despite her requests. Now there’s a hurricane heading to Mississippi, and her sister is injured, leaving Maggie with no option but to head to the south into the storm.

Her sister Cammie thinks that she might not be able to walk again, and she feels that God has abandoned her and ignored her prayers. Josh Bergeron regrets not being there for Maggie when her father passed away. And if there is anyone who understands better how it feels to be abandoned, it’s him.

However, there is no point in his life when he has ever regretted becoming a ship pilot. He couldn’t imagine giving up his piloting even for love. He tried to move on and get married and was later blessed with a boy after his wife abandoned him and the child, which affected his career due to parental responsibilities.

A chance has now presented itself to be there for Maggie as she tries taking care of her sister. Maggie has to take care of her aging aunt and ensure her sister’s antique store operates well.

Watching Maggie with his three-year son J.D revives the dreams Josh once had for them, but this time she’ll not only be breaking one but two hearts when she leaves again. Will he be able to convince her to give them one more chance?

Maggie is compassionate, loyal, and resilient, and nothing drives her to self-preservation more than being around Josh Bergeron. Some emotional and romantic tension arose between the two every time there were together. Maggie has no option but to accept Josh’s help, and as they work together, she starts learning what it means to have someone to comfort her through life’s storms.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Janet W. Ferguson

Leave a Reply