Nick Petrie Series

Janni Lee Simner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bones of Faerie Books

Bones of Faerie (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Faerie Winter (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Faerie After (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Phantom Rider Books

Ghost Horse (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Haunted Trail (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghost Vision (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Secret of the Three Treasures (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Thief Eyes (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Drawing the Moon (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Why Is This Night Different? (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chapter Books

Tiernay West, Professional Adventurer (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Unicorn Seasons (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of The Writing Life Books

Finding Your Sense of Place (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Doing What You Love (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Sword of Ice and Other Tales of Valdemar(1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cabinet Des Fées: A Fairy Tale Journal(2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stars of Darkover(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Janni Lee Simner is a young adult, fantasy and science fiction author best known for the “Bones of Faeries” series of novels. The author loves to think that she spent her childhood as a pirate seeking ancient artifacts, hidden tombs and lost cities in Alexandria before she discovered that she loved to write.
But the truth is that she was a cautious kid that would have made a terrible pirate as she was scared of climbing and heights. Still, Simner was never afraid of getting her hands dirty, falls and scrapes and in her childhood years she went on numerous camping trips as a Girl Scout to Mexico and Wyoming.
This was quite extraordinary for a girl that spent much of her childhood in Long Island in New York. As a teen, she moved to St Louis where she attended Washington University before becoming a professor of Parareality.

Although she has been writing all this time, it was not until she moved to Tucson Arizona that she thought she should publish the many stories wanting to be told to the world.

Growing up, Lee Simner was one of those children that would get so lost in her novels that she would not hear when her mother called her for dinner or when people talked to her. Up to today, she can still be found walking around her neighborhood with a book in hand just in case she finds a nice spot from where she can read.

When She was in high school, she started filing notebooks and when she graduated from college she spent the last of her student loan funds to buy Microsoft DOS computers as she wanted to try to become an author.

When she saw that Marion Zimmer Bradley anthology was asking for stories she asked for guidelines and advice. The editor asked her to write just a page a day if she wanted to become an author. She sold her first story to the anthology and this is when she started thinking her dream just may come true.

She was brought back to earth soon after that with a rejection slip and a ton more after that first one which is when she decided to learn how to write. Several critique groups later, she finally published “Ghost Horse,” the first of the “Phantom Rider” series of novels.

Lee Simner had published more than 40 short stories targeted at adults, teens and kids over the years. She has also had some of her works featured in Cricket magazine, Girls’ Life and Welcome to Bordertown and also wrote an episode of Zombie’s Run.

Simner also continues to write non fiction works including everything from promotional PR articles, opinion pieces in newspapers, health and science articles. She is the author of the practical inspirational series “My Writing Life.”

While she still loves to travel and visit places, she does not have the time to do it. By writing stories she gets to visit all the places she no longer can through research. She now makes her home in Tucson Arizona, where she lives with Larry her husband.

“Bones of Faerie” by Janni Lee Simner is a combination of a fantasy and science fiction genre. The story is set in a scary and bleak world that resulted from a war between the fae and humans.

Everything we know has either changed or is gone. The rivers call people in and drown them, the butterflies spontaneously combust and vegetables and trees have turned vicious attacking and killing humans. Liza is hated by the Faery for her silver eyes, clear hair and magic and her fate if she is found is either death or expulsion.

Her father was charged with clearing the town of magic but only three weeks earlier he had to leave the unusual looking Liza then a newborn on a hilltop. Both her mother and father believed she was dead but she had in fact survived and is now back.

She comes back to her father and tells her she is going on a quest to find herself and her mother. Along the way she learns many things about shapeshifters, the villages and the inhabitants that had almost been wiped out by the war, the future, and the reality of the Fae and magic.
It is a scary and incredible work yet at the same time terrifying, dark and magnificent.

Janni Lee Simner’s novel “Faerie Winter” is set after the events of the debut of the series. At the end of the novel, the summoner Liza had managed to transplant a tree from a gray place into her world and this had at first seemed like something good. But over time it proved to be a colossal mistake.
She is now coming to the knowledge of her power and learned that she is stronger than she could have ever imagined and is only growing stronger. Since she is now very strong, she has nothing to fear from her detractors. Liza has also brought her mother back home and now intends to take some time off to recover from her wounds.

But things are not as good as she thought as there is a deep mystery she does not understand and all’s not well with her mother. Since she can now see visions, she has seen glimpses into her mother’s past that have made her uncomfortable. But there is more she has yet to see and her mother stubbornly refuses to flesh out her visions.

Things get very interesting when some strange child comes unexpectedly into town with some strange powers. The child manages to lure Liza away and this time she will have to save more than her friends as the whole world may be in jeopardy.

“Faerie After” by Janni Lee Simner continues to follow the life and times of Liza the magical child. At the opening of the novel, signs of sickness in the forest have been discovered. Where living creatures had once lived are found piles of ash.

Liza goes into investigation mode and learns that the Faerie world has been deteriorating all this time and is slowly turning to dust. The bad news is that the world is inexorably linked to the human world. The solution to the problem may include crossing over into the foreign realm, which is a great risk to her and her loved ones as she may never return.

She may have to sacrifice her life if she is to save both realms. It is an exciting conclusion to the series that provides a thrilling look into a post apocalyptic world infused with magic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Janni Lee Simner

Leave a Reply